We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel if you want to be near the beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good hotel if you want to be near the beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

As many of the other reviewers have commented, the best thing about this hotel is the location. It is right on La Concha beach and it is very easy to get to the Old Town and to walk around and check out the main points of San Sebastian. We were here on our honeymoon and we knew we wanted a room with an ocean view, so hence the reason why we chose this hotel. I think that if you were not interested in an ocean view, you could likely do better at a different hotel. The place is on the older side and it tends to be pretty busy, even during the shoulder season. However, excellent for the view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    924
    174
    41
    26
See reviews for
409
1,476
68
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is an old hotel set on the esplanade at Donostio overlooking the Bay and beach. For that reason you must get a room with a view - otherwise you really will miss the beautiful 180 degree view of the town and Bay. The Hotel is a 10 minute walk from the old Town with its pinxtos bars etc and of course the walk around this part of town is very easy.

Room was quit spacious, lots of light, a decent bathroom with bath/shower, plenty of space for clothes abd bags. Internet connection was good and stable. However, being an old hotel (?early 20th) it is starting to show its age. Also we found small things were either unnoticed (the widget that turned the shower on was missing but a toothbrush easily turned the shower on) or were strangely impractical (the bar fridge doesn't work when the main power to the room is off, so it just isn't cold). We also had to ask for someone to check the fridge as it wasn't working and this took more than a day - not a huge problem but a lack of attention.

It was very comfortable sitting in the room watching the passing parade and reading when the weather turned bad. The hotel doesn't provide any tea/coffee making facility in the room or cutlery so we really missed being totally at home. Breakfast was average - we didn't dine in the hotel. Service was otherwise efficient and pleasant. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for any rooms 107, 207 etc as these are right in the middle of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisandGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night which was amazing. We would rather have stayed more to enjoy the view and the hotel.

The room was nice with a very big bathroom and stunning view of the sea. We payed 220
euros for a sea view room, which was not much for such a beautiful view.

Wi-fi was free, however the connection was not good enough in the room.

We would rather have a coffee machine or kettle in the room, that was not available.

Valet parking was available if you've made a reservation before arrival, which we had no idea about it, so we had to park our car by ourselves in the same public garage next to the hotel.

Lobby was very nicely decorated. The bar/tea room had a very nice sea view, however tables were reserved at the tea time so we could not enjoy it as hotel guests, which we thought as meaningless...

Receptionists were kind and helpful, we got a nice service during check-in and check-out.

If you're planning a visit to San Sebastian, this is the hotel to stay to feel and enjoy the atmosphere and beauty of the city.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room to enjoy the beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccelebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great location, great view, but the staff should improve on the service. Both the front desk and restaurant staff are not very friendly. There is only one computer in the lobby for on-line check-in. There was a lady who was occupying it forever and the front desk staff wouldn't do anything. The staff at the breakfast restaurant took away my coffee while I went to get more food, even though my jacket was still on the back of my chair so I was clearly not finished. Even the cleaning lady swept aside everything I put on the washroom countertop, and I almost couldn't find everything. The shower area is also problematic in that one cannot help but have water overflowing all over the washroom. One would expect a lot more for the price.

Room Tip: ask for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocolateMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The hotel is lovely and the views and location cannot be beat but noise control and customer focus could be improved. The first room we were given was by the elevator. When we requested a different room because of noise concerns the reception staff seemed annoyed. Unfortunately, while we didn't hear elevator traffic we heard every word from the surrounding rooms, including above us. Also, pet peeve - the cleaning staff does not knock before entering. The entered our room three times during our stay without knocking (there was not a secondary lock). I would still highly recommend the hotel but take caution on the above.

Room Tip: The sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ats54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

A mixed bag, so I'm going to divide this into what was great and what was less so!

What was great:

The location. We paid for a sea view room and had a balcony that opened right up (we were on the 2nd floor) so that we could look right out onto the beautiful Concha beach and listen to the sounds of the sea. The view was stunning and that alone would make me stay at this hotel again. It was also only 5 minutes walk to the Old Town, where all the lovely pintxos (tapas) bars are.

The room was comfortable and spacious. There was what looked like a very new bathroom, with a lovely, large walk-in shower.

Good service.

Not so great:

It's one of those places which in its hey day was obviously grand but that grandure is now rather faded. It has that slightly 'worn' feel to it, especially in the communal areas. The reception area especially could do with a complete re-fit. Carpet in the room also looked like it had seen better days. Generally, it has the look and feel of a very old fashioned hotel.

Breakfast was expensive and fairly ordinary. Room service menu was appalling (but that is not a major problem because there are loads of nice places to eat only a stone's throw away).

On Saturday nights, the noise from the promenade below can be loud - or at least it was when we were there.

Overall:

So, to sum up what sells this hotel is its great location and, provided you pay the extra for a sea view room, its lovely views of La Concha beach. San Sebastian is a wonderfully relaxing place and we'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Hotel was as good as expected. Friendly reception and a lovely room. Hotel service was very good and an excellent breakfast on Sunday morning. Hotel has an unrivalled location overlooking the bay and is within easy reach of all sights and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Property: Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing