We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Forget the reviews that diss her fading glory. This is an elegant 1880s hotel that wears her high mileage pretty well. OK, the batteries in the TV remote were fried, the ceiling light flickered, and the maid walked in without knocking, right past a do-not-disturb sign. And yes, the Londres is pricey. But it has a unique location right on an absolutely gorgeous beach that few outside Spain seem aware of. And it has the only umbrella bar on the boardwalk. Reserve a bay-side room if you can, although the backside view is of the newer part of town, and not unpleasant. The newer part is not where you want to explore, however. Exit the hotel to the beach side, turn right, follow the graceful curve of the shore past the small craft mooring, and when you run out of boardwalk turn right through the large arched entry into the old town. That's where all the cafes and shops are, and it's very walkable. The Londres' restaurant is expensive and offers a menu full of stuff only a very rich Spaniard addicted to frog legs would eat. Old town has hamburgers, omelettes, tapas and fantastic ice cream, all very edible and most modestly priced. Parking is E22 a night, accessed by a down-ramp right next to the hotel. Going in and out runs the price even higher, but you won't need the car. You can let the hotel park it for you if you don't mind tipping. Unlike other places in Spain, this is not a late town. They roll up the rugs around 10. Dine early. Then throw open the windows and sleep to the pounding surf.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeUtica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear JoeUtica,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel. We are indeed very blessed with the location on the beautiful La Concha Bay.
I have taken note of your remarks and will personally address them with the staff.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Elena Estomba
Assistant General Manager
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    946
    175
    43
    26
See reviews for
422
1,513
71
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chulmleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I spent 3 nights at this superb location on the seafront of this elegant resort and wished I could have stayed longer.The hotel has an old world charm but modern facilities.The staff spoke excellent English in reply to my not-so-good Spanish but seemed delighted that I had at least tried! Travelling as a single guest I thought I might have been accommodated in a smaller room but in fact my room was palatial and beautifully equiped and furnished .As a person with serious dietary problems I expected some difficulties with the menu in the restaurant . However, nothing was too much trouble for the staff,they went out of their way for me and the food was exceptional and artistically presented - in fact I took a photo of one particular sweet course.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Margaret1708,

We really appreciate it that you took the time to write a wonderful comment about your stay in our hotel. The staff of Hotel de Londres always tries their utmost to make every customer happy. Our hotel is indeed a very historical building but with the latest technology we provide customers with as much comfort as possible. Thank you for the great picture of your dish!
We hope to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Elena Estomba
Assistant General Manager
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaroslavl, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

It is excellent hotel with an excellent arrangement directly in city center on a beach

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank black2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

I am American, and this hotel was comparable to a Hilton, but in a much older building. Very pleased after staying in a budget hostal a few nights prior. Large rooms with sitting area (rare in Europe,) double-sink bathroom, excellent English-speaking staff, excellent location on La Concha Beach and 10-minute walk from Parte Vieja. Breakfast buffet was very expensive (16 Euro each) for nothing more than a self-serve continental style buffet. Very nice bar and salon on lower floor with views of the beach. We booked last minute and got a good deal on rooms at ~120 Euro per night (street view). Highly recommended if you can get a good rate by booking early and during off season, or last minute.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkokoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Bkokoski,

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much. I personally talked with the staff about the breakfast and we reduced the price. The sea view from the bar and salon is indeed amazing.
We hope to see you in our hotel soon so that you can enjoy our renewed breakfast.

Kind regards,

Elena Estomba
Assistant General Manager
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

San Sebastian (Donostia) was paradise. Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra was a perfect location, the rooms were comfortable and roomy, but a bit outdated. Much of the hotel feels quite dated (like your on the Titanic), but there is a real charm to it's age. We had double doors that opened up to the beach. We were on the 4th floor, so it wasn't too noisy, but you definitely felt a part of the action. A short walk from everything in the town, we would sit every evening and watch the sunset with a bottle of wine and some olives before finding some pinxtos. It was a high point of my 2-week trip.

I highly recommend San Sebastian. It is a beautiful beach town with amazing food, and romantic winding streets. The Hotel de Londres, was comfortable, the location was great, and the rooms were clean and big, but kinda old. Overall I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Matthew N,

We really appreciate it that you took the time to write a comment about your stay in our hotel. The building is from the 19th century and we do our best to keep this century’s ambiance in touch.
We hope we can welcome you in our hotel in San Sebastian again soon.

With kind regards,

Elena Estomba
Assistant General Manager
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We sprang for the ocean view room and were very happy with it. The bay is beautiful and there's lots of water activity to watch. The location of the hotel is fabulous with the beach directly in front and the Old Quarter just a short walk away. The room was nice, the beds a little hard, but overall we had no complaints. The service was great including the bartenders taking instructions on how to make a dry martini.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Teri B,

We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay in our hotel so much. I will personally meet up with the staff to tell them your compliments and talk about the Martini. The staff always tries their utmost and it is nice that you noticed that.
We hope to have you in the hotel again soon.

With kind regards,

Elena Estomba
Assistant General Manager
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Wonderful location. We stayed on the beachfront side. Amazing views from our terrace. Great location - within walking distance to everythng. Great service. Hotel is a little dated and needs some maintenance - but overall a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: stay on the beach/ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craiger9929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Craiger9929,

We are blessed with the location of our hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a kind comment. We decided to do a renovation of all guest rooms and public areas to improve the service for our guests. This fall we will start and refurbish the hotel in phases.
We hope to see you again and make you even more pleased when it is renovated.

Kind regards,

Elena Estomba
Assistant General Manager
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Property: Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing