We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low budget good choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Bahia

Hostal Bahia
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Bahia
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Low budget good choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location, rooms are ok, breakfast very simple - coffee, bread, orange juice only. The only actual problem eith this hotel is that it is very noisy. You can hear everyone from early in the morning. Still a good low budget choice. Bring earplugs and we will be fine.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaviaPacheco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    37
    18
    6
See reviews for
24
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

You need to judge this hotel on what it is - a 2 star property. If you are looking for somewhere reasonably cheap (by San Sebastian standards), clean and very close to the beach then Bahia serves its purpose. The staff were ok, not friendly but not rude either although check-in seemed unnecessarily long. Our room was fine, bed, flat screen TV, air con but not much room for storing clothes although we were only there for 1 night so this didn't affect us. Bathroom was small but efficient, there was a bath / shower although the shower is not fit for anyone over 5ft.
The breakfast was a few croissants and some stale bread but they did have very tasty OJ. Wifi is apparently available throughout the hotel but you seem to lose signal when you enter your room.
Overall the hotel is fine. I probably wouldn't go again but I wouldn't mind recommending it to a friend who was looking for something cheap and well located

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantaman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hostal Bahia is located on the 2nd-4th floors of a San Sebastian apartment building. It looks a bit fuddy-duddy/old-fashioned from the outside but the reception area, dining room and bedrooms have all been recently renovated to a high standard and the rooms aren't a bad size for city centre accommodation. It's called a hostal but this isn't really a back-packers place and it's a very decent price for its great location - just one street back from San Sebastian's beautiful La Concha beach, two minutes' walk from great shopping in the city centre and five minutes' walk from the old quarter. Breakfast is basic - croissant and muffin but perfectly nice, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Centre
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights recently, although it was during the 60th Film Festival so prices were high in San Sebastian. Hostal perfectly located beside the sea and old town/centre. Great shopping very nearby. Room were very homely, comfortable bed, nice large window looking onto street. We paid extra for a room with a superior room which came with a bath. Wifi unfortunately didn't work unless you were down at reception. Light breakfast included which was croissant, juice & coffee. Rooms cleaned daily. Overall apart from the price but taking into account the festival, I would recommend & stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed with my wife and 2 kids (3 and 5). Very close to the beach which is one of the reasons we choose this place. 10 to 15 min walk to the Old Town (Parte Vieja). Staff were only ok. Breakfast was quite poor. Tiny glass of orange (egg cup sized), croissant, baby muffin and coffee. No re-fills on the juice! Sheets not changed during our stay of 3 nights but room was tidied and beds were made. Expensive place for a 2 star but San Sebastian is not cheap.

Room Tip: Dont be afraid to stay a little out of town as San Sebastian is a small enough city well served by b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford CT
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I was disappointed in our room, it was very small and outdated. It certainly did not look like the room pictured on trip advisor. It was in the front and we could hear people outside talking late at night. Wifi kept cutting out. Linens very old.
I booked it based on price and location and for that I got what I expected. Price under $100 American dollars and easy to walk to beach and old town - although a little walk.
And does it always rain in San Sebastian?? Even the dogs had rain coats!
Staff very friendly and helpful but the "breakfast" was small and uninspired.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DVCmemberHartfordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

While nothing about this hotel stands out as fabulous or amazing, nothing opposite of that stands out either. It was clean and tidy, or fair age and had everything we needed. It was on the cheaper end of available accommodation when we stayed in town and it served its purpose just fine.

While it is debatably in a decent spot just a short walk back from the beach, it is still quite a distance from the 'Old town'. The 'old town' is THE place to be- Full of bars, cafes, shops, restaurants and so much more. So though this hotel is just fine and would be perfectly fine if you needed to stay in this area, take my advise and head to the old town for some good old fashioned Pintxo eating...

Room Tip: Get one of the ocean side rooms with a balcony... worth the little bit extra to have the extra room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_run_down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#13 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Husa Europa
Hotel Husa Europa
#25 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tryp Orly
Tryp Orly
#20 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#40 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alemana
Hostal Alemana
#23 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hostal La Concha
#42 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Bahia

Property: Hostal Bahia
Address: San Martin 54 bis, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Bahia 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Bahia Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Hostal Bahia San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing