We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tour with a Great Guide”
Review of Basque Tours

Basque Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.63*
and up
Private Pintxos and Wine Tour in San Sebastián
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BASQUETOURS is a specialist incoming company based in San Sebastian that offers you personal assistance to create authentic experiences in the Basque Country(Northern Spain and Southern France), with it's world class attractions, the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, food lovers reference San Sebastian, amazing wineries in La Rioja area, beautiful beaches & cliffs in Biarritz and southern France, spectacular mountains in the Pyrenees… Our aim is to create private and exclusive activities and services; from cultural and gastronomic to active tours. Customized packages based on your preferences and tastes, in order to discover and feel our exceptional region and its treasures, always accompanied by the best assistants, guides and local experts who will make the difference.The most professional and knowledgeable team of native multilingual guides at your service to make your experience unforgettable and unique.
1 review
“Great Tour with a Great Guide”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We wanted to see the Basque countryside at a slow pace, because our 84 year old mother has mobility problems; but refuses to use a wheel chair or other assistive device to get by. After reading the reviews, we decided to take the tour with Jon, although we continued to be somewhat worried as to how things would go. Well, taking the tour with Jon surpassed, by far, our expectations. Jon took us to beautiful places, that you would not see on a regular tour; but also encouraged my mother to dare walk to places that she never would have seen, if he had not been there. He even took the lead to assist her physically on a couple of ocassions, which much love and care, as me and my brother just watched. Jon felt as if he was just another family member. We all felt very comfortable and at ease with him, a very personable guy who loves what he does, obviously loves dealing with people, and loves his country and sharing its beautiful spaces with others. We, in turn, much enjoyed the scenery and places he shared with us, as well as his company.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pablo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basque Tours were a highlight of San Sebastian visit”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We visited San Sebastian in July 2013 for 6 days - our first visit to Spain so wanted to get a good feel for the town, the surrounding country and culture of the region. SS is one of the best destinations we have ever been that offered so much in one small place. Fun environment, pintxos to die for, a welcoming culture with great beaches . Our travel experience to any new destination always benefits from time with a good local guide. We found Basque Tours on the net and our dealings were excellent leading up to and during our visit. Very knowledgeable and proud of their heritage Jon and Antonio are both relaxed, well educated and have excellent English. Our group of 5 adults spent 2 days on tour. First day Basque Country and Coastal tour and the second the Rioja wine region. 2 days on tour with another 4 to soak up SS at our own pace struck the right balance. Both Jon and Andoni were happy to provide suggestions that enhanced rest of our visit. Can't recommend their services more highly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davsal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Under the skin of San Sebastian”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went on the pinxtos tour with Andoni in September. From organising the tour with Jon, to our night out in San Sebastian, the whole experience was very personal. On the tour, we really felt like we found the hidden gems in San Sebastian, found our feet to be confident ordering in the intially slightly overwhelming bars, and had a great night out. He even coped with our vegetarian, finding her some great options, in what is normally quite a meat and fish focused place. Considering all the drink and food we had, and the quality of the experience, I definitely thought it was worth the money. None of the tours out of San Sebastian are particularly cheap, but I would definitely recommend splashing out on this and using Basque tours

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must do!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our tours with Jon were great, from the start he understood exactly what we were after. Navigating Old Town tapas bars in San Sebastián was fun, exciting and enjoyable if it wernt for him showing us how the locals 'do it' we would have been overwhelmed & not experienced the 'best bars and dishes' he took our dietary and taste requirements into consideration & ensured our experience was unforgettable. Jon's expertise and advice didn't end with the tours we did but helped to ensure our entire stay in the region was pleasureable & seamless from restaurant suggestions, bookings and drivers. Thanks Jon and Basque Tours we will definitely be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KirTos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
“What a Basque Vacation”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have been fortunate enough to travel extensively, but having a private guide, the quality of Jon Galdos, was truly a gift. His professionalism, and personal touches made our trip special. Being a native Basque, and having many Basque friends in our region, our Northern Spain trip was quite special. His hotel, restaurant, and touring suggestions, more than exceeded our expectations. I can highly recommend Basque Tours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basque Tours also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Basque Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing