We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B1 & B2 likey ”
Review of Juantxo Taberna

Juantxo Taberna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

Likeys:
+Large portions and very affordable prices
+Perfectly cooked tortilla that was slightly runny and very creamy
+Very fresh baguette that is crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside
+Friendly staff

No likeys:
-Menu is only in Spanish and Basque, but the staff all speak English and you can always use the universal language of smiling and pointing

B1 and I stumbled upon this place after arriving in San Sebastian early in the morning. We were attracted to the plates of freshly made tortilla sandwiches lined up on the counter.

We ended up ordering a tortilla & crab meat, and tortilla & ham with cheese. At only €2.30 each, the portions were huge and paired with a coffee con leche at €1.30, it was the perfect hearty breakfast to fill up our tum tums for sightseeing.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank B1andB2abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juantxotaberna, Gerente at Juantxo Taberna, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2019

Thanks for your reviews and your comments on our Bar. We changed our Menu a month ago, and we are waiting to receive our english and french menus very soon, sorry that we couldn´t give you the best experience.
Anyway thanks for coming and hope to see you again soon!!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 480 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2019

One of the few places open in the old town at 9am which serves beer (or coffees) with fresh potato omelettes either on plates, or with toppings in bocadillos (sandwiches). It’s perfect for travelers who are jetlagged in the morning, loved how fresh all the food was in the early morning! Affordable quick hot breakfasts, would definitely return.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Koumeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juantxo Taberna T, Gerente at Juantxo Taberna, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Thanks for your review. It makes us really happy to read these words. We try to give the best food for the best price and in a friendly and enjoyable environment. We will be waiting for you here.

Thanks Koumeister!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019 via mobile

Juantxo is famous for serving the food very fast and always being tasty. Friendly staff and a vibrant young modern and local atmosphere. Don't spectrum anything fancy but just local bocadillos that will fill you up and give you the energy needed for continuing your day walking around San Sebastian. Also a great place for starting at a Friday night

Date of visit: August 2018
16  Thank basquenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juantxo Taberna T, Gerente at Juantxo Taberna, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Thanks for your review. We love to hear things like that, that confirm us we are going in the right direction. Thanks again and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2019 via mobile

I spent a few days in Donostia and discovered JUANTXO. Their Tortillas and pintxos are amazing. One of the bests I have tried so far. The service was quick and very friendly. They even gave us advice on where to go and what to visit. If you ever visit Donostia don't forget to buy one of their sandwiches and go eat it by the sea !

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Jonjonid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juantxo Taberna T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Juantxo Taberna, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Thanks Jonjonida for your review. We really try to give our best so the clients are satisfied. It makes us happy to read your comment and to see that you enjoyed your stay at our place. Thanks again and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

Nothing fancy - not very touristy - simple and very very good sandwiches on wonderfully fresh bread. We had 4 huge Pinxos with tuna, crab, calamari and tortilla and the best Txakoli in San Sebastian. The bar staff was extremely friendly even though we are not fluent in Spanish at all and barely managed to say "Thank you" in Euskara. We paid under 11€ for that wonderful afternoon snack and returned the next day for a late breakfast.
Very good to settle your hungry stomache before entering the more expensive venues in San Sebastians old town.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paspy7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juantxo Taberna T, Gerente at Juantxo Taberna, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Thanks for your review!!
We are very happy to read your words. We try very hard to give our best for reasonable prices.
Hope to have you back again!! Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juantxo Taberna also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Juantxo Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing