We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is really close to the beach, and therefore is located in an excellent place to discover the old part of San Sebastian or simply walk by the seaside. Although it has been refurbished, there are still some elements which remind you that the hotel is not new (elevators); even facing the beach and by a road, rooms are quiet...except for the noise coming from other rooms, I could hear my neighbour's shower really close.
The personnel was really friendly, there is free wifi and the breakfast buffet was very excellent, one of the best I have recently seen. All this at a reasonable cost, which is always important.
On the con's side: the hotel doesn't have any kind fitness facility (just in case you can't enjoy a run by the beach because of weather) and the parking was really expensive

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible, and facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy_iq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hello Andy_iq:

Another pleasant comment!!!!!.

It is very important to us this gift to our daily effort.

Thank you again! You are our dream come true.

Luis Torrico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 813 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Picked this hotel due to location, reviews and availability. We were very happy with our stay from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. When we arrived the check in desk was a little overwhelmed with a number of demanding groups, but the young man at the desk was never phased and very helpful. Our room was a superior suite at the front of the hotel with great views over the beach and the old town. Room was clean and quiet. Never had a problem with anything. Had the breakfast buffet, great selection and lovely, attentive staff. Finally a big thank-you to the young man on the front desk who would always find us a glass of milk for tea in our room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first level are smoking , all other levels are non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamslowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hello Iamslowee,

I would like to introduce myself. My name is Luis Torrico. I'm am General Manager at Tryp San Sebastián Orly.

What a lovely message!!!!!

We love you so much that there are no words to describe it, just actions to prove it. We look forward to see you again.

Thanks!!!!!!

Luis Torrico
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Staff was friendly, and a great location about a block from the beach, however room had mold and was outdated. They also don't explain not to use the stairs or you will be stuck in a hallway between floors. This happened to my husband and I when we decided to walk outside for a late dinner around 10:30pm. We went down a flight of around 6 floors only to find no doors opened on the ground floor for the lobby nor to the other hotel floors! Finally found a single door that was open to the street- but first we had to figure out how to open a huge complicated gate. It was a bit scary. We later found out that some of floors are condos and that this is done for safety. They should tell their guests not to use the stairs to avoid what happened to us!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view if available. Don't use the stairs! (See above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gina1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hello Gina 1559,

Thanks for your comments, which help us to improve every day.
We are glad that the staff were to your liking. Will let you know my colleges.
As you say it is better to use the elevators to the stairs, as the hotel starts from the 8th floor.
So we have the best views of San Sebastian!.
I regret any inconvenience this may have cause you. We will be more vigilant in reception.
Best regards and hope to see you again here.
Thank you!

Luis Torrico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great central location, a short walk to everywhere. The staff are friendly & helpful. The breakfasts have a great variety of choices.
We had booked a Premium Sea View Room 8 months ago via a travel agent, Totally Spain, and had paid in full 3 months ago. The room advertised and pictured on the internet is a spacious room with 2 double windows facing a fabulous view of the Playa de la Concha. On arrival we asked about the possibility of upgrading to a Junior Suite and were told the hotel was fully booked and that we had a lovely room. What we got was not my idea of a lovely room, we had a very pokey corner room with one window overlooking part of the sea, nothing like the internet advertised "Premium Sea View Room". We could take turns looking at the view and once our bags were in the room it was a very cramped space. This was our last stop in Spain and by this time we had realised that most of the rooms booked by Totally Spain were usually the least impressive hotel room in the price bracket we had paid, even though we had upgraded to better quality rooms and booked and paid months in advance.
On checkout I was asked to pay for my upgrade - that was quickly sorted out as already being paid. But after that I did inform the reception that I thought our room was falsely classified and charged as a Premium Sea View room as it was too cramped and had only limited views and in my opinion therefore falsely advertised. He said it was all that was available at the time of booking. This was rubbish - we booked 8 months prior & paid in full 3 months prior & a number of similar rooms were still available on the internet right up until our stay.
The corner rooms are numbers 01; 06; 09 & 15 - avoid at all costs!!!!
Looking forward to your reply Luis

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hello Holidaybell,
It is a real pleasure to answer your comments and also your customers´comments
We cannot forget we exist because of you. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and service.
We would like to know anything else about the bedroom you stayed, because all our Premium Vista´s room have a beautiful view of the Concha´s beach. We apologize if we made some mistake.
If it happens that you come again, we will offer you one better bedroom and we will serve you as you deserve.
We regret any inconvenience caused and we are here to help you.
All the best,

Luis Torrico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Location is great! Middle of the beach is basically across the street (though other side of buildings), very short walk to old town, the river, and other sites.

They provide beach towels at the front desk, don't worry about sneaking a room towel out. :)

After those positives it goes down hill. Reception was very slow when we checked in and appeared to be when I saw others checking in. Also got short one word answers which were not helping our questions.

Bathroom had what look like mold or mildew above the shower that tried to be cleaned up very half assed.

Vinyl or some other type of flooring covered the rest of the room, which after a couple days there just felt uncomfortable. Yeah, a little picky, but spend a few days in a place at their rates and you'll see.

They also have a known issue with room keys demagnetizing. Had to get ours reprogrammed 3 times in as many days.

All in all, the mold/mildew in the bathroom really was unacceptable, the other issues were minor but worth noting. Location is great!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Abe s,

Thank you for your comments.

Every comment we receive is invaluable for us and I would like to tell you that all the reviews are considered and studyed by our Guest Experience and Operations department.

I bitterly regret the inconveniences we have caused. We wish to let you know that we will be doing everything we can to resolve these matters.
I would very much wish to see you once again in the hotel, and it would give me immense pleasure to welcome you personally.

Regards,

Luis Torrico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is very well located. Our room was well sized, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was especially good and included smoked salmon, which we found at no other hotel that we stayed at during this trip to Spain. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWalls_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello TWalls_11,

My name is Luis Torrico. I'm general manager at Tryp San Sebastian Orly.

These comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work and provide our passionate travelers visiting the city, unforgettable experiences.

Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is across the street from “La Concha” beach and a ten minute walk from the city center, the reason we chose to stay. Although we asked for a room no higher than third floor, the hotel actually starts at the 7th floor, so we ended up on the 10th floor.
We did not have a multi-language desk-size “Welcome guide” in the room with important phone numbers, TV operation or channels or local restaurants. The door key-card holder has some basic information, but it, and a passport-size paper guide given at registration does not have the hotel address and phone number. The text for the document is extremely small.
The room has imitation wood vinyl flooring. Although easy to clean, it does not offer noise insulation. Neighbours walking in shoes above or maids vacuuming resonate in the room.
There are few shelves available for clothing. The closet provided is taken up by one clothing rack and desk drawers are very shallow. If the rack were placed a few inches off center of the cupboard, there would be enough space to add shelves.
The safe provided is large but is below knee level and so hard to operate. It is attached to a movable shelf and not to a wall.
Although there are many Wi-Fi connections in the area, all “Orly-provided” are not secured, yet the front desk gives a log-in and password.
The air conditioner works on some sort of built-in timer which gives an unexpected strange humming sound when it starts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPA_ES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hello JPA_ES,
My name is Luis Torrico and I'm general manager at Tryp San Sebastián Orly.
Thanks for your comments, they help us to improve every day.
No doubt that we will consider!
Thanks and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Niza
Hotel Niza
#10 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,788 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel

Address: Plaza de Zaragoza 4, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $98 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Orly Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Tryp San Sebastián Donostia
Tryp Hotel Orly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing