We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Eventhough it was a modern building in an old city, it was a comfortable spot to stay and walk to the oldest parts of San Sebastian. It was an enjoyable walk by the river past those magnificent old homes and Roman Bridge to get to the shore and then old town. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The only drawback was when you opened the window for fresh air you realized that the location was the central point for cars and buses and noisey. The staff and wifi access were adequate. The breakfast plentiful.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank TravellingB700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Mixed reviews on Trip made this a bit of a lucky dip but could not have been more satisfied with this hotel. Perfect location for the Mark Knopfler concert in the Plaza de Toros Illumbe and an easy stroll to the beach and old town. Very comfortable rooms, quiet effective A/C and big comfy beds -didn't eat here as too many options in town but the breakfast buffet looked amazing. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooked the Bus station but there was no noise or any other issue with these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkshireCandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a driving tour and was impressed by the quality and standard of this hotel. It’s a modern hotel that has been decorated and furnished to be uber contemporary so looked great, the room also was pretty nice and had most of the things that you would expect free wifi, minibar etc (apart from tea and coffee making facilities). Parking is via a public car park that is under the hotel, the hotel parking spaces are clearly marked and the good thing was that they were spacious so could accommodate larger vehicles (I was getting fed up trying to park in really small spaces under hotels). Its about a 15 minute walk to the beaches which was ok but if you have young kids this might be a bit far. We didn’t eat in the hotel but the prices looked prett reasonable and were comparable with the eateries in the town centre. All in all a good hotel and I would have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, part of a 10nt visit to N.West Spain by Brittany Ferries. We had visited San Sebastian before but not for a stopover. We read many reviews of hotels and finally settled on Silken Amara Plaza. After making the booking I telephoned reservations and explained we had not stayed over in San Sebastian before and would appreciate a high room with the best view available. The girl on reservations was very easy to speak with an outstanding knowledge of the English language. She explained there not much to view as they were set at the back of town. After arriving at Bilbao, it was a 90 miles drive to San Sebastian via motorway, the journey was made simple with the use of satnav. The roads are easy to drive on with a reasonable amount of discipline and some incredible tunnels, the tolls were 9euros + a bit. The satnav proved its worth as the road signs are in the Basque language and bear no resemblance to the town names written in Spanish on maps. Our approach to the hotel was easy, as we approached the city we could see the large white building from across a large roundabout with the name on the gable end. There is underground car parking with direct access to the hotel but it is fairly expensive. We were greeted very pleasantly and even though it was not quite 12.00hrs our room was ready. We were very impressed. It was a good sized room with a nice view over the park. 2x3ft. beds with very comfortable mattresses. I commented that we appeared to have a double aspect with another window but drawing back the curtain found it to be a door leading onto a spacious terrace with table chairs and relaxer. The view was over the large roundabout we had crossed on our entry, it was always very busy with multiple traffic lights. The police had a no tolerance to misdemeanour and drivers were quickly pulled over. It made very interesting watching whilst enjoying a drink or two. From the outside of the hotel I could see no signs of other balconies/terraces so enquired at reception to be told there were only two so we felt very, very privileged. The standard of décor in the reception was excellent you felt you were in a grand hotel and everything appeared so clean and new. I asked the hotels age and was surprised when I was told 20 years but it had undergone an intensive refurbishment 4 years ago that explained it. Very tasteful. The breakfast was all you could expect from a 4* hotel buffet, even champagne (cava) and white wine, if it wasn't too early. A walk to the beach was a comfortable 15 minutes but we bought a card of 12 bus tickets for 16euros. It is a very pleasant walk by the river into town. We frequently commented on how clean and litter free the town was. The beach is a large conch shape with fine white sand and safe shallow swimming. There is a promenade and an attractive park with plenty of seating shaded by the ornately pruned trees. There is also the occasional (almost obligatory) musician. For the three days we were there we ate at the same small restaurant we had stumbled across on our first day. A three courses, with plenty of choice, bottle of wine + bread Menu del Dia was 10 euros. I have mislaid the address details but there are plenty to choose from in and around the Calle San Martin area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackhardacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Wish we could find a hotel near the beach with reasonable prices, but this was second best location. Very central, easy to walk to attractions. And bus station very close and easy to use. Wish it had a restaurant for breakfast before early flight, but they did provide free mini pastries as a substitute. Free wifi was a joke. Barely a signal and nearly non-functioning. Was frustrating since we didn't have our cellular service turned on in order to avoid over seas charges. Really needed the wifi as a substitute. On the plus side, bathrooms and rooms were clean and somewhat modern. And air conditioning worked.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hard2Please4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A stay at this hotel should be comfortable. Rooms are large, it is only a short walk to the centre of town (a little further to the beach and old town) and the bus depot next door did not keep us awake.
However; what you will notice about this hotel is it's stingyness and mean spirit.
Wifi barely works in the room and they force you to log in every time you return to the hotel. A real nuisance when you're using a smart phone. If you provide wifi, make it easy for guests to access!
The hairdryer requires you to hold a button for it to stay on. A real annoyance and something you expect from a cheap budget hotel.
The poor service score is due to the fact that we don't ask much from hotel service. No extra towels, kids bedding, etc. All we requested was a double bed and we did this when we made our booking, about four months in advance. We were given a twin room and despite a 6 night stay, the hotel would not change us to a double room.
Our lasting impression of this hotel is of a mean spirit.

Room Tip: You can request a room but my experience is they'll ignore you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is literally at the autobus station, 15 minute walk from the beach, and 20 minute walk from the old town area were all the awesome restaurants are located. We requested a room that was not facing the bus station after reading other reviewers and didn't have any issues with the noise. The staff is really what made our stay memorable for us. From early check in to arranging our laundry service rushed without extra fees...after the insanity we had gone through from Pamplona for San Fermin, we really felt like we were very well taken care of. If you are a coffee addict, you'll love the nespresso machines that are located on every floor. Oh, the breakfast is totally worth the money :)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rae E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3,005 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Amara Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Amara Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Pio XII 7, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $77 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Amara Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silken Amara Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Amara Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing