We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recommended...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night during a short stop over at San Sebastien. The rooms had a very strong bad smell, I personally thought it smelled of cooking but the staff told me it's not possible because the kitchen is on the ground floor and we were high up.

The staff were nice and friendly and told me they will call me back with a solution, which was to upgrade us to a suite higher up. We moved there, the smell was less strong but still present, I think is a problem with the ventilation in the entire hotel, however, the suite we were moved to was adjacent to the elevator, and it was impossible to sleep at night, the elevator was going on and off the entire night, it was difficult to sleep.
The room we were in before also had thin walls, you can hear the neighbors ...etc

the hotel has a good location, a 15 minute walk to town, but there is a major bus station downstairs that is very loud and it is not possible to leave the windows in the room open.

I would not recommend this hotel to friends,and would not return there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
There are newer reviews for Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 963 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Amara Plaza in May. The hotel is clean, modern and close to the river Urumea. Parking is provided in the underground garage for 17 euros/night. Our room was quite, well appointed and furnished nicely. Breakfast was a buffet, with a wide variety of food choices. Staff on the front desk we friendly, helpful and efficient. The location is OK, with an easy 20 minute walk to the old town, beach, shopping, restaurants etc. Overall an enjoyable experience and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent a splendid three nights in a standard room here. It is a fair walk from the old town and seafront but we found this pleasant with areas to explore en route- there are very limited comparable accommodation options closer to the action and a direct bus available.
It is located on a relatively busy roundabout between a bus station and an artery road, but there was only very limited noise and nothin that (as a light sleeper) couldn't be sorted with ear plugs.
The room was very clean and comparatively spacious.
The breakfast buffet was very comprehensive and served over a generous timespan.
We didn't have cause to try the other onsite dining and bar (so much to sample in SS itself), but staff were exceptionally helpful and efficient in sorting both a restaurant reservation and an out of town sideria experience for us.
I did get what I felt was a very good rate by booking in advance, but generally found this a very pleasant base for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peckish_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Booked this hotel to enjoy a restful weekend in beautiful San Sebastian after travelling for a few weeks. Hotel rooms are very well appointed with extremely comfortable beds and a great bathroom. The breakfast buffet is the best we have been offered at any of the many hotels we have stayed in in the past few weeks. The staff have a wonderful attitude to customer service. The big disappointment for us was that there was no climate control operating in the hotel as it had been turned off awaiting the changeover from heating to cooling (and there is no air con). This meant that to have decent cooler air in the room the window needed to be open day and night. The hotel is surrounded by roads and has a bus station on one side. On the 7th floor on the southern side (sunny side all day) it was so hot and traffic noise was so loud all night that I tried to sleep with my noise cancelling earphones on or when I closed the window tried to sleep in an airless overheated room. On the second day we were changed to the 8th floor on the bus station side of the hotel which was not much quieter but because it was a lot cooler we were able to leave the window closed for longer during the night. Be aware that this hotel is at least a 30minute walk to shopping, the old town and the beach or any entertainment which means once you go out it is a bit hard to pop back to the hotel for a rest or to use the facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms on northern side (bus station side) are cooler and relatively quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelbug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel was within walking distance of both the new town (for shopping) and the old town (for tapas and drinking). Very clean, nice and good sized room. Great service, particularly from the bar tender in the piano bar downstairs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in April and thought the hotel was very good. Its located right next to the bus station which we found very handy. We came from Bilbao airport by bus and travelled to the old town daily on the bus too so thought the location was perfect.

The hotel is very clean and staff were very helpful. The hotel also has an excellent piano bar which is perfect for a pre bed drink.

Overall would highly recommend this hotel. The location is handy, its very clean and the staff are very friendly. It was also over a £100 cheaper than Astoria 7 which is across the road. It also has free WIFI throughout.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view or not overlooking the bus station.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just one night and arrived late so didn't get to really road test the place. But I can say the hotel is clean and modern. We parked in the garage for 17 euros (convenient, but a touch expensive). We had a drink in the bar and the atmosphere was good, but the bar tender was a little more interested in talking to his lady friend than serving drinks. Our room was quite and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was the standard buffet fair, nice but nothing special. Staff on the front desk we friendly, helpful and efficient. Ok location - easy to drive to from out of town and about a 1km walk to old town, beach, etc. Overall an enjoyable stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryrie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,572 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,737 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH San Sebastian Donosti
NH San Sebastian Donosti
#10 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Amara Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Amara Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Pio XII 7, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $83 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Amara Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silken Amara Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Amara Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing