We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just one night and arrived late so didn't get to really road test the place. But I can say the hotel is clean and modern. We parked in the garage for 17 euros (convenient, but a touch expensive). We had a drink in the bar and the atmosphere was good, but the bar tender was a little more interested in talking to his lady friend than serving drinks. Our room was quite and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was the standard buffet fair, nice but nothing special. Staff on the front desk we friendly, helpful and efficient. Ok location - easy to drive to from out of town and about a 1km walk to old town, beach, etc. Overall an enjoyable stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryrie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    507
    132
    24
    10
See reviews for
141
472
24
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

You got a sense of professionalism upon check in. Despite the foyer bustling with travelers, the well spoken staff were both helpful and efficient. Our room was very spacious, clean and modern, with a massive bathroom and lots of free toiletries. We both enjoyed the tea & coffee facilities stationed in the corridor and took advantage of the fresh cakes and danishes they had on offer each afternoon.
The hotel is located approximately 1 km from the old town - an easy walk or a short bus ride. There is a bus stop outside the hotel. We thought the breakfasts were fantastic, with a wide selection on offer each morning. Our 3 night stay was very comfortable and we would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLiz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights- travelling with a car we needed a garage. The hotel is on a sort of traffic island by the coach station. Coaches depart from 0700 till 0040. There is a taxi rank there- handy! Free wi fi, clean room, pleasant staff. San Sebastián - eat at Arzak!

Best of all- it didn't cost a lot! So handy for a short stay

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank merseydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Travelled alone for a 5 day break and from the moment I arrived until the moment I left the staff could not have done any more for me. The hotel is in a perfect location and only a 26 or 28 bus to the boulevard for shopping or old town where all the good bars are. Also the stadium for Real Sociedad is only a 10 minute walk away.

Now the bad bits. To be honest, the air con wasn't too great but not needed much for early March. Also the breakfast was great but not really worth the €16 I paid for it on the final day. But these are really small things overall for such a nice hotel and would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room and maybe on the other side from the bus garage as these would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickeyluv74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We travelled as a family with two kids (5 and 2). The hotel is just out from the bus last stop from Bilbao airport so it was extremely convenient with two small kids and lots of luggage. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. We were afraid that the bedroom would be noisy as we were looking over the roundabout, but it was not really a problem. Even though the walk to the beach is quite long, it is a lovely walk with a park with playground very close to the hotel and trees giving shadow almost all the way down to the beach. There are also buses going from almost the door of the hotel to everywhere.
I strongly recommend it, especially if you are coming with the bus from Bilbao airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinahereje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in a suite which had two bathrooms and two balconies this past October. Yes, the bus depot is on the side of the hotel. When you pull up, the hotel looks like an institution. The staff is friendly and efficient BUT they need to clean their clothes ... dirty and very wrinkled. Only one front desk gentleman speaks English. The bartender is the most professional. The main "food" facility is leased out and the food is pretty good but do not expect a quaint tapas environment or a regular "dining" experience. It is more like a cafeteria. The women who work/serve coffee, etc. are quite pleasant and caring. As for the hotel staff .... you need some sharp staff .... currently, the staff lacks in effort and enthusiasm. As for housekeeping ... they clean, however, do not provide towels that one would want to use. Unless you ask for them, your towels would be the equivalent of what you would wash and polish your car with. A nice feature, we received a bottle of wine, water and cookies nightly. And yes, for preparing our suite, no "air" in the room and the coffee maker did not work. These are things that need to be checked. Also, the air conditioning filter was filthy and we had to ASK to have it changed. Room Decor: Very modern, 1980s style -- not inviting. Would I stay here again .... maybe. For the same price, go to the renovated Maria Christina. Yes, the same price, closer to downtown San Sebastian and much more inviting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I5678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a clean, well-kept hotel. I got a quiet corner room facing the plaza and away from where the buses park down below. The room had a sliding door that closed off the entrance way and the bathroom, meaning it felt more like a small studio/apartment. Most rooms are not laid out that way, so I was a bit lucky. The front desk staff is professional and helpful. The hotel has a good-sized lounge area which is well-used by other guests. The bar/restaurant staff is quite friendly and they make an effort to make you feel welcome. The premises are clean and well-kept. You can walk to downtown in 15 to 20 minutes or you can take the #28 bus right in front of the hotel for €1.50 or you can take a cab for about € 6.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bus stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Born_yesterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,529 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,646 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Amara Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Amara Plaza Hotel

Property: Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Pio XII 7, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Amara Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Silken Amara Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Amara Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing