We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite a delight, food is terrible, location ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
American in Bogota
Level Contributor
400 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Suite a delight, food is terrible, location ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

When we booked our trip the Starwood hotel was closed for renovation and pretty much everything near the beach was booked. The Silken was the nicest option I could find and we booked their penthouse suite which was very reasonably priced for what it was. The hotel is along the river and if you're young and able it's only a 15 minute walk to the main sights or a quick cab. If you aren't big on walking a cab or bus will be a better option. My inlaws stayed in a regular room and felt it too small but otherwise ok. The suite has two balconies with nice views and couple of lounge chairs, two full bathrooms both of which are spacious and one bedroom as well as a living room with dining area and a pullout sofa which was perfect for our small children. There is convenient parking in a garage below the hotel. Breakfast was nice enough. Decor inthe suite was quite modern but the rest of the hotel looked a little dated with some attempts to modernize. Room service food was terrible and really expensive considering how bad it was. For anyone traveling withsmall children there is a huge playground about 2-3 blocks away alongside the river which our kids loved. Overall a solid experience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChiquiMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    474
    125
    22
    9
See reviews for
127
444
23
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

First hotel of the holiday after expensive 16.20 euro o/way each ride on Pesa bus service from Bilbao airport to San Sebastian and to the Silken Amara Plaza hotel which is conveniently located right in front of the bus parking lots. Arrived shortly after 12 & allocated room on the 4th floor overlooking the street & river (non bus station side) - No problem with noise at all - superb double glazing & a/c. Room was large, bed was comfy and the decor was tasteful & modern. The curtains were great & totally blackouted at night. Small fridge in room for your water & juice.

Bathroom was a good size,clean and with a large tub & lots & lots of toiletries, overall very impressive. The big surprise was how wonderful the breakfast was, it was a total shock, it was very, very good, great choice of hot & cold items. Lovely pastries & cold cuts, juices & cava & great bread rolls. Well worth the extra few euro which I paid on the rate on the Silken hoteles website. Even the breakfast room itself was quite nice. 2 free computers with printer attached on 1st floor handy for checking your email & news. The local bus 26/28 is just around the corner opposite the Astoria 7 hotel and it will run you into town for 1.45 euro and very frequent, it is only 5 minute bus ride or a 15/20 minute walk, your choice.

San Sebastian has many great dining out opportunities so go & discover for yourself the delights. Did venture over to Hondarribia on the border with France on the local bus from Plaza Gipuzkoa a bargain at only 2 euro e/way, lovely seaside town with a lovely parador & picturesque views, a walled town & a great sandy beach.

Special thanks to Iñaki at the hotel who assisted when our rucksack was stolen, filing a police report & pulling CCTV footage. Always be aware of your possessions. It is such a nuisance when things like this happen as insurance will cover the loss of things but not the loss of sentimental items like pictures on your camera, your address book with contact details & our lovely lamb who was on many travels with us, now gone forever !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Ok, first the positives: Good hotel, attentive staff, clean restaurant with long hours, decent breakfast, nice bathrooms, & bargain price during prime-time tourist season.

Now, the negatives: Bad location, horrible wifi, & weak electricity in your room. As long as you don't mind... walking 25 minutes to the action... reading your email... and charging your laptop & cell phone at the same time... then you'll love the place.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bus station side of the hotel. Lots of rumbling noises & cars honking at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicRoc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Staed 2 nights in may 2012. Had been advised to stay slightly out of town for quietness/easy parking and this hotel provides both. Is about 20 mins walk to old town, but plentiful direct busses make it easy to get in and out at any time. For drivers, car park is large and convenient, and hotel is only minutes off the autoroute (and right by the main long distance coach terminal). This is a modern 4 star business/tour group hotel. All very efficient, clean, quiet rooms, but minimal spanish character - other than the breakfast which was the best we had in 2 weeks in Spain! Highly recommended if you dont want to stay right in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melbournetraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just stayed her for a few nights and would recommend it highly as a good 4 star hotel, nice bar and great food, fabulous breakfast buffet, loads of interesting modern artwork in all the public spaces and loads of very stealable toiletries in the rooms! We got a good rate compared to all the other hotels I'd searched in San Sebastian, it's pretty central, about 10-15 mins flat walk from the beach, port and old town, all of which are must-do's. San Sebastian is amazing and we can't wait to go again, once I've lost all the weight I gained in the tapas bars this trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

this is the second time at this great hotel, yes it is a little walk from the main tourist area but a lovely stroll along the riverside. I thought this time was a little expensive as I was on my own and you have to pay a double price which was a bit of a down side and it was room only but the cafe joined on to the hotel is first class. The staff are very friendly and helpful. will go again as my son and family live there but the price will have to be taken into consideration.

Room Tip: all the rooms seem to have a bit of noise it is a city after all but just close the window and use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herdy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The quality of the hotel was fine - nice, clean, modern rooms, air con, safe, TV etc. Bathroom good quality. The location is about 20-30 mins walk (depending on how fast you walk!) from the old town, which is the main tourist area, so you have to decide whether you favour convenience over quality, as large hotels like this are scarce in the centre. You can get a bus quite easily (check out Dbus online) although the service is infrequent after about 10.30pm. The price of the hotel was good. Wifi is included but not very good signal in rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Amara Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Amara Plaza Hotel

Property: Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Pio XII 7, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Amara Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silken Amara Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Amara Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing