We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in SS and MC!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Recently spent two nights. Arrived by car and was immediately helped, they opened my wife’s side and escorted her to the front of the hotel (comes with in/out privileges). Quick and efficient!
During check-in they needed a few minutes, so they escorted us to the bar for free drinks. Great service in the bar, they came to the table and poured us HUGE drinks. Room was ready so we left after finishing our drinks. Bags were in our room. The room was huge and the bathroom was as big as some hotel rooms I have stayed at! Flat screen TV, room was in great condition…All the toiletries were “luxury brand”. Inside the room… a cider and some sweets that we killed. One thing to note…to turn on any lights you must insert your card near the door and leave it until you leave. Situated ourselves, got a map from the front desk and left for the beaches (a few blocks away). The “pintxos” or “pinchos” bars are two blocks away and there are too many to choose from, so go to all of them! Everyone was friendly at the hotel and bar…always asking how we were doing, etc.

CONSTRUCTION IS GOING ON…but we never heard a peep.
There are only two computers in the lobby for customer use and they were always busy. I posted the entire instant awards menu in that particular thread, but they had an semi-extensive list.

Concierge made dinner reservations for us and had directions to the restaurants waiting for us. Great service and I recommend using them pre-arrival and during your stay. We had some amazing meals but some of the more famous restaurants are closed Sunday, Monday, and Tuesdays!!

Were going back to San Sebastian and staying here! Great hotel!

Happy travels.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2009

We traveled to San Sebastian in our rent-a-car from France (staying at Chateau & Relais hotels) and had a wonderful visit staying five nights at the Maria Cristina which is a member of the SPG Luxury Collection of hotels. We used the location as our center point to visit primarily the 'old town' which is literally a 3 minute walk from the hotel, enjoy all the food bar/restaurants in that area plus the well known Arzak restaurant, day trips to the Guggenheim in Balboa, St. Jean de Luz, and Hondarribia.

About the hotel. Location. Perfect. Staff: friendly, helpful, always ready to assist: Perfect. Room service and laundry services: Perfect+. On site restaurant, Saigon, was a welcomed change and Perfect after four days and nights of local cuisine. Excellent service. As in most cities, parking is a premium and one has to pay an expected extra for it (20 euros/day), but the front door staff was efficient and courteous. Our car was always waiting for us within 5/10 minutes of our request. Score: Perfect.

Our room was a Deluxe Room, very large (400+ sq. ft) feeling very spacious compared to rooms in France, really a junior suite with windows and small balcony overlooking the river on the fourth floor. Perfect. Highly recommended in warm/hot weather as it is facing more Easterly. Was the decor slightly dated: yes, but everything was of high quality and very clean. The king bed was super comfortable for us (both with bad backs), so it was supportive without being stiff or too soft. The room was very quiet with insulated windows and the street below is not a real thoroughfare The bathroom was over sized, well equipped, huge mirror, robes and slippers, with separate shower/bathtub and toilet room, double sinks and all surfaces in marble. Very user friendly for a couple.

In conclusion, there would be no question of even looking for a different hotel on a return visit to San Sebastian. Only negative I could think of, and reason for "Close to Perfection" headliner was the internet connection in room (wi-fi) was an expensive daily fee and there were 2 computers for free in lobby, but frequently occupied. Overall, was a good value and one of our best experiences for a large city hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexofsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

If you want only 1 room for 2 adults and 2 small kids, just call the hotel and they will accomodate you. I got a deluxe room and paid additional for a small twin bed sized cot on a nightly basis. Wont find this anywhere on line. Rooms are huge, although the furniture is a bit worn and dated for a 5 star hotel. The fabric was stained and torn on the 2 sitting chairs in our room. The bed was bigger than a king size and very comfortable with high quality linens and pillows. Bathrooms were extra spacious with good amenities. Nightly turn down service failed to show up one night. The ladies at the front desk are wonderful and courteous. Check in and check out is speedy and trouble free. If you have a car, dont bother parking it yourself in the city lot just under the Hotel. Pay the extra 8 euros and let the hotel valet take care of everything for you, its worth it. Walking distance from everything you will want to see in San Sebastian. Hotel restaurant (Asian fusion Thai or something similar) , although high quality, is overly expensive compared to many high end Spanish Basque style restaurants just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarcelonaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Only stayed at the hotel for one night. Was upgraded to the Picasso suite as a SPG Platinum member. Very nice. This included a massive sitting room along with the large bedroom and bathroom. Nice rooms but some telltale signs of age. In total we had 3 balconies; one with a direct view onto the square. Hotel was near the la Concha Bay and underground parking was simple to use. Lots of nearby shopping and the pedestrian only areas are nice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed three nights at the lovely Maria Cristina. From the moment we checked in it was top notch service, especially the two brunette ladies at the front desk.

The room was very lovely. There was an old fireplace and chandellier that made you feel you were in a different decade. The bathrom was a little dated. The marble was beautiful but the fixtures could of used replacement. The tub/shower set up was ideal with 2 active showers to use but the tub was in too far along the wall that it made it hard to go in and out. One of the power shower heads was not functioning, we discovered on the last day.

I found the room to be somewhat clean. The linens were crisp. The carpet was dated though. We found a couple of bits of dog food under a table, which made me want to wear my slippers, to know a dog was walking around in the room before me. The large windows are doors that open to a balcony, if your lucky to have one. There is a large construction project going on outside the hotel now so the noise started around 8am every morning. Just an FYI!

The free internet at the business center in the lobby was fantastic. There were 2 computers on the internet that were available for all day guest use..for free! It was a great way to avoid paying in the room, while checking emails.

The location of the hotel is great. We walked all around the city, the beaches and eateries are a 1-5 minute walk.

I would recommend this hotel. It is San Sebastian's premier hotel. I would love to go back someday. The city of San Sebastian is one of the prettiest places I've ever been to! Go during beach weather to enjoy the shore!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostonjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

One of the old style grand hotels. Needs a good refurbishment. Large rooms and bathrooms. Patience is required if you require hot water - 6-8 minutes! Staff try hard but I would rate this no more than 4*

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Stayed four four nights in August/September, and would return in a heartbeat.

The room was spacious and beautifully appointed; the bed was without question the most comfortable we have ever slept upon in a hotel, and the bathroom was simply lavish. A bath with a separated shower area with marble seating, a long commode with his/hers sinks and ample marble counter space, soft clean towels and a separate toilet/bidet room. Two very large built-in portmanteux in a small hallway. The bedroom was supplied with faux - Empire furniture: bed, end tables, desk, bar, round table, four chairs, chandelier and a marble fireplace. Flatscreen TV with BBC and CNN available. Prompt room service, great lobby with a grand Belle Epoche flair, friendly and attentive staff, two computers with internet access in the lobby, lovely bar area, excellent breakfast spread that would please any palate, what was not to like?

The Maria Cristina is expensive, and so is the breakfast, but that is as it should be. If price is an object, this is probably not your hotel. My wife and I felt the splurge on this hotel was more than offset by the amazing values elsewhere in town; food and wine prices are downright cheap everywhere you go, and are of the highest quality. San Sebastian is truly a gastronomic Mecca, and the low prices will ensure you get plenty of chances to savor Basque food culture across the spectrum, from tiny pintxos taverns to superb white cloth restaurants (where a three-course meal is likely to cost 30 Euro) to some of the best Michelin-starred restaurants in the world.

If I ever get the chance to go back to San Sebastian, I wouldn't stay anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,874 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,592 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
842 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,795 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $257 - $906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing