We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at the Maria Cristina.
Splendid location in beautiful San Sebastián. Service was good, friendly staff. Pura at reception was a very helpful lady. Room was very nice...but on the last 2 days of our stay, there was a very bad, funky smell as you walked into the hotel...
Overall, this is a very good hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iyabo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Iyabo O,

Thank you for your very constructive and positive feedback. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay despite of the small minuses mentioned. Your comments are of the utmost importance, as they provide the necessary information that allows us to address situations and maintain or improve the quality of services for which we are recognised. Regarding the service, I have brought your comments to the attention of Pura. She is grateful to you on the given praise.

Thanking you again for the time taken and your contribution in making our hotel even better.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,

Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    199
    49
    21
    11
See reviews for
219
855
41
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel rightfully gets consistent rave reviews. It is grand, tasteful, impeccably appointed. Here you will find gilded mirrors and trims, glittering chandeliers, soothing colour schemes. The staff is wonderful, the location is outstanding. It is on the Rio Urumea next to the beautiful Theatre Victoria Eugenia. You will enjoy a luxurious stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorettaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear LorettaConnecticut,

How rewarding it's to read such nice comments, we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the hotel's decoration, our gilded mirrors and trims and the glittering chandeliers so well described in your comments. Thank you for your time and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Maria Cristina in the future.


Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed there for a couple of nights and it was really nice experience. The hotel was renovated a few years ago and the rooms are newly redecorated, so are the lobby and bar areas. Staff is very courteous and will go out of their way. Breakfast is nice too.

However, I would not advise you to go to Cafe Saigon, which is this hotel's main restuarant, food there is not delicious at all.

It is also a little bit disappointing that the hotel does not have a swimming pool, but the weather was not great, so we did not miss the pool that much.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Apple S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Apple S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice comments. We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated our breakfast, Dry Bar and the service provided to you by our associates.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our first visit to San Sebastian and we are so glad that we had chosen the Maria Cristina for our stay. This hotel is classically elegant but the rooms have been beautifully renovated and have spacious, well appointed bathrooms. The service was excellent, at the front desk, concierge desk and the bar. The bartender was the real deal, mixing amazing cocktails with a flourish . It was a fun experience having drinks there and though expensive, I highly recommend it. The vietnamese restaurant on property had amazing food and great service as well. It was a nice break from Spanish food and we ate there twice. The hotel is ideally situated on the riverfront and within a few blocks of the old town. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Our room #332 was very comfortable but unfortunately faced an extremely ugly, stained government bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariamalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mariamalia,

We would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received. It’s rewarding to read your mention to the Bar DRY, the amazing cocktails and the bartenders. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed 5 nights at this beautiful hotel. We stayed in a suite, the grand suite, that had a living room and a separate bedroom. It was a lot of space and was very comfortable. I think my only complaint was because the suite can have two separate bedrooms, set up roommate style, we could hear the children next door when they were yelling and screaming. This hotel was close to the beach and all of the amazing pintxo bars :) I would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aoneeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Aoneeka,

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our grand suite and our great staff. It is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Thank you for your time and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in this grand hotel. The rooms were large and beautifully appointed. After three nights, a noisy group moved into the room next to us and the hotel seamlessly gave us an upgrade to a rooftop suite which was magnificent. The staff were always helpful. In particular, a receptionist, Ane Perosanz, went out of her way to assist my wife who had left her iPad at Lisbon airport, by contacting Lisbon and helping us to retrieve the lost item. The location of the hotel is excellent, a short walk from both the main beaches. The staff helped us to find the 3 hour walk to Victor Hugo's cottage. We were offered a special breakfast package of 25 Euros per head but chose to eat breakfast at one of the many cafés nearby which served tasty and inexpensive breakfasts, often spending only 10-15 Euros for two. We loved San Sebastián and Hotel Maria Cristina was a great base from which to explore. This hotel is expensive but I would recommend staying here as the service and rooms are 5 star.

Room Tip: Our suite on the 5th floor was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWhistler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear TheWhistler15,

It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. We were very glad to know how much important our team’s attitude was to having met your expectations and that they were able to offer you such an excellent image of our hotel’s name. We have brought your comments specially to the attention of Ane Perosanz. She is grateful to you on the given praise.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write. Looking forward to welcoming you at the Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Exceptional hotel. Fairly newly remodeled. Great old world feel on the exterior and plush, (a bit more) modern feel inside. Large and very comfortable rooms. Beautiful lobby and great lobby bar (a bit too hot). Great and very generous breakfast buffet. Very attentive staff. Proximal walking distance to lots of nightlife and activity. We stayed in the Junior Suite with terrace and were extremely pleased. Gorgeous views. This is a truly luxurious stay in a very special city. Enjoy! Would return over and over again...

Room Tip: Junior suite with terrace has breathtaking views and generous space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Derek J,

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice comments. We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated the attention and service provided to you by our associates. It is indeed rewarding to read that we fulfilled your expectation and that we've created good memories for you to bring back home.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.


Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#5 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#3 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#11 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Property: Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing