We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Simple the best in San Seb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simple the best in San Seb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were initially booked in another property but decided to change that at the last minute and so glad that we did! I especially appreciate the lady at the Concierge desk.. so sorry that I forgot her name! She was super helpful!! The hotel is the best we stayed at during our road trip in Northern Spain over Christmas and would not hesitate to stay here again when we return to San Seb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniaYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear ToniaYVR,

We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated the attention and service provided to you by our associates. It is indeed rewarding to read that we fulfilled your expectation and that we've created good memories for you to bring back home.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    199
    49
    21
    11
See reviews for
219
856
41
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We were thrilled with our choice of this hotel. The service was outstanding and the room was beyond our expectations. Our king size bed was 2.5m wide and the marbled bathroom was superbly appointed with a separate WC. There was a chaise lounge to relax on during the day and plenty of space to unwind. The amenities provided were excellent and the gym was well equipped. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to all the wonderful pintox bars. The breakfast buffet catered for all tastes and dietary requirements. Our car was parked nearby by a valet and returned to us promptly when we departed. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we look forward to returning in the near future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights on this amazing hotel and we were very pleased with the excellent service, great location, impeccable decoration and maintenance of the property. When I go back to San Sebastián I will be pleased to go back.

Only warning: parking is REALLY expensive.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at this hotel with some Starwood points and were very pleased with our choice. It is a grand old hotel, updated to modern standards. The room was beautiful and spacious (much larger than the usual European hotel room). The hotel is so conveniently located that we walked everywhere for two days and,eft our car parked in the garage (a bit pricey, but most hotel garages are).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 days in family at the hotel.
First of all, we had 4 rooms, 2 junior suites and 2 deluxes, and the book were made together, but the rooms were in different floor all of they!!!
After talk in the reception, they changed the 2 deluxes rooms to rooms beside the junior suite so we had 2 rooms on the 2rh floor and 2 rooms in the 4th floor - we had a 85yrs woman in one delux room by herself, what made the changes necessary.
Apart of that, they were very nice the whole time and all the experience was awesome!!!
The rooms are very big and clean, and the bedrooms were just huge!!
The breakfast was one of the best that I had ever seen - they had even caviar!!!!!
The only thing that let us disappointed was that the spa doesn't work anymore and now they just have a fitness center.
The bars at the reception are great and the teas are just unbelievable delicious!!!!6

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zezinho N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Don't bother with the afternoon tea. For almost €20 they had no idea what teas they had, did not seem to know if it came with food or not and let the first pot of tea sit so long it was cold and bitter. We did not even bother waiting for food after the 20 minutes of confusion and simply cancled the order.

Helpful?
5 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Colin W,

Thank you for having taken the time to write your comments about your stay at our hotel. We were sorry to learn of your concerns regarding the afternoon tea. We want to apologize that our service let you down on this occasion. Please be assured, the issues raised have been addressed and appropriate action taken to prevent any guest being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to write. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again and we are confident that your next stay will be pleasurable in every respect.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ios
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Five stars in all categories with personalized service and attention to detail. HMC is like San Sebastian: beautiful, welcoming with great quality and value for money. I look forward to visiting HMC again in the future and i totally recommend it with or without children

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vassopetridou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#3 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#11 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Property: Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing