We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in September, the hotel is beautiful, we really liked the decor of the rooms because they where classic and stylish without looking old fashioned or run-down. The bathroom and amenities where amazing! Breakfast was delicious, very complete. Location is great since it is a five minute walk to the center part of the town where the Bars are. San Sebastian is a very pleasant city with amazing restaurants to go to (it does not have to be only the fancy ones!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Bibiana L.,

We are glad to read that our refurbishment met your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay in San Sebastian Looking forward to be again elected as your residence in San Sebastian should you wish to visit our wonderful city.

Best regards,

Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,329
    215
    53
    22
    14
See reviews for
252
954
42
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived just after the film festival--luckily. Huge room and bath with river view and French balcony. Great location for shopping and hop on and off bus stop. Quick walk to old town. Perfectly restored Grand Dame hotel with terrific concierge service. Best place in town.

Room Tip: High floor and river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mary Ann B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice comments. We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated our huge room and bath and the service provided to you by our associates, especially The Concierge. I have brought your comments to the attention of the Team. They are grateful to you on the given praise.

Thank you again and best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Its true, this is a very good hotel with very reasonable prices with breakfast included for our suites. Breakfast is very good. San Sebastian is a great city. Rooms are large and comfortable. Staff unfailingly helpful. Checking/out process simple. They also have a nice little bar which is fun to go to after a night of pintxos wanderings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAZPERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear RAZPERSON,

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice comments. We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated our suites, breakfast, the DRY bar and the service provided to you by our associates.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,

Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here in late July because we had seen pictures of this beautiful hotel, so it gave us a reason to add San Sebastian on to our Biarritz leg. It also served as a good base for us as we tried the local Tapas cuisine and travelled to the La Rioja region for wine tasting. The hotel was stunning! The front desk was friendly and efficient and the dining room, where breakfast was served, was elegant with high ornate ceilings and a beautiful outside terrace (not to mention a great buffet). The concierge managed to book us an excellent Rioja wine tour the day we checked in, even after the downtown San Sebastian tourist office had told us that nothing but an apple cider tour was available. The renovated taste is impeccable and even the basic rooms are comfortable and elegant. We stayed in an adjoining courtyard corner room which combines with a sitting room to make for a 77m2 2-bdrm Royal Suite, which is definitely worth splurging for if the kids are with you. The Bellboy commented that the Rolling Stones had stayed at the hotel even though their concerts were 60 miles away in Bilbao and I perfectly understand why. Given that only a year has passed since renovations were completed, the hotel was in pristine condition and I only ask that management make the added effort to keep this architectural icon that way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RROW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear ROWW,

How rewarding it's to read such nice comments, we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received since the moment you arrived to our property. Making you feel welcome is amongst our highest priorities.

Thank you for your time and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Among the best hotels we have stayed. There was a stressful mess at check-in (not even the hotel's fault) and they upgraded our room and included breakfast at no additional cost. The breakfast was extensive and very good, and the staff is very attentive and helpful. The room was beautifully furnished, the bed very comfortable. A shower and soaking tub. We ordered room service one night, and everything was great, really all that you would expect from a five star hotel! The location is very central, an easy walk (less than 10 minutes) to La Concha, shopping, and bars/pinxtos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear AC D,

We were very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the Hotel and the service you received. We take note on your comments regarding the pricing of our hotel and we would like to advise you that our rates are very competitive with the same category hotels of the area.

Once again, thank you for your time and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to San Sebastián specifically to attend dinner at Akelare... which by the way was a MAJOR disappointment and complete waste of time and money!

Unfortunately we arrived in town at the beginning of the annual San Sebastián film festival with screaming fans camped outside the hotel waiting for Spanish "celebrities". Absolute chaos!

As SPG members we were upgraded to a lovely suite overlooking the river... Which was very nice despite the constant noise from the street.

The hotel is beautiful, although very expensive.

Breakfast was excellent, though we do agree with previous comments about poor service... I would go as far to say a complete lack of service, particularly for English speaking guests.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NikolaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear NicolaGuy,

Thank you for having taken the time to write your comments about your stay at our hotel. We were sorry to learn of your concerns regarding the service attentiveness at breakfast and we want to apologize that our service let you down on this occasion. Regarding the screaming fans you mention, we know how frustrating and disappointing it can be when you have a few minutes to relax and your expectations are not met. We try to do all our best to resolve those situations promptly when occurs. Please be assured, the issues raised have been addressed and appropriate action taken to prevent any guest being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

On a more positive note, we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your lovely suite overlooking the river. We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
663 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at many wonderful hotels in our lifetime and this must be one of the one's we truly have enjoyed. We were traveling through Spain (we have been to Spain multiple times but had not been to San Sebastian) and decided to experience both San Sebastian and the Hotel Maria Cristina during our anniversary and we were not disappointed.

From the moment you gaze at this grande dame and its beautifully preserved facade you know you are entering a palatial-like residence yet as you walk into the hotel reception you see the juxtaposition of modern and classic elegance with large beautiful paintings adorning the large spacious public spaces and modern yet classic sleek marble throughout.

We were greeted by the friendly reception and although we are Platinum SPG we could not get an initial upgrade (as close proximity to San Sebastian Film Festival perhaps) however the staff offered us a nice suite (rm 103) the following day with Urumea River view.

However the really pleasure of San Sebastian is the pintxos culture that is ubiquitous! and the staff gave us a pre-printed list of recommended places with their "specialty" which definitely was our highlight (our favs were Atari and A Fuego Nuevo which were a gastronomic dream)

Pros:
-Central location in La Parte Vieja with beautiful suites overlooking river, close to nearby beaches (La Zurriola a surfer beach and La Concha a more family beach, and Ondarreta).
-Exquisite classical yet modern and sleek public spaces
-Amazing modern rooms with spacious and beautifully appointed chic rooms and amazing marble beautiful bathrooms (apparently hotel did recent refurb and has high end Vilroy and Bosch amenities).
-Wonderful bar in hotel where their mixologists provide you with great drinks
-Friendly helpful staff
-Wonderful breakfast
-Apparently has gym although we never used it

Cons:
None really

Everything was just amazing and wonderful for our anniversary and would definitely return to San Sebastian and would HIGHLY recommend with no reservations!

Room Tip: Get River View Suite Go to Atari and A Fuego Nuevo for pinxtos
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Ledezmacjl,

How rewarding it's to read such nice comments, we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the city, the hotel and the service you received. Making you feel welcome is amongst our highest priorities. Furthermore, it is a pleasure to note that you have chosen the Maria Cristina for your Anniversary.

We are grateful for your support, and would like to thank you, especially for sharing your recommendation of our amazing historic property with the rest of the traveller’s community.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,

Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,697 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
776 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,609 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Property: Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing