We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in all sense of the word”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in all sense of the word”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Hotel is beautifully situated, with nice scenery in most of the rooms.The staff are exceedingly polite and very helpful. They all speak English at the desk and are there for you at all times. The breakfast is extraordinary with perfect service and most waiters speak English.
My husband and I are constant travelers and we have been to several good and first class hotels, but this surpasses them all by far. the Hostess at the desk took us all the way up to our rooms and ushered us in to our bedroom. Perfectly clean, spacious with a large LCD TV. Excellent wifi reception. As to the bathroom, it is large and spacious with a tub and a large shower, with an inner toilet and bidet, with a door separating it from the rest of the bathroom..

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that over look the ocean on the upper floors; but all rooms have a good view and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    210
    50
    22
    13
See reviews for
239
921
42
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Really nice looking hotel is a great location central to all things San Sebastian. You can easily walk to everything you need to get to from this hotel. Service was very good although we arrived in the middle of a labor strike so they were a little short-handed. However, they still did a great job. Very friendly and helped out with excellent dinner recommendations. Room was excellent as well. Very clean, spacious and a great view of the canal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
809 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Everyone did a fabulous job overseeing every aspect of our stay. We were very impressed with all the personal touches. You have a great group of people. Of particular note were the front desk and concierge personnel. Ane, Gloria, and Joanna were all extremely helpful.

Our suite was on the top floor and had a wonderful terrace overlooking the river. It was very well appointed and extremely comfortable. We were very please and would have wished to stay much longer.

A ten minute walk to the beach and a five minute walk to old town put the hotel in a perfect place. While it does not have the beach view, the river view and especially the service make it the best choice in town.

We had a great albeit, short stay and look forward to our return. Hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a terrace facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
346 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and had requested two rooms overlooking the water. The view was worth it.
The rooms and bathrooms were huge, beautifully decorated, clean and with a lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was abundant and we also ordered extra, pancakes for the kids.
The concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable, helping out with things to do, places to visit, tapas bars to grab a bite. All in all a wonderful weekend, with the only regret being the amount of money spent for a sleep in a hotel. But worth it!

Room Tip: Choose a room with water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alkimadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

When friends ask what I liked best of San Sebastian I tell the the Hotel Maria Cristina where we stayed. Everything about this hotel is top class- the beautiful historical building- the beautiful grand rooms- the huge bathrooms. We stayed in a riverview room. The massive bathroom consisted of a bath, a separate shower and a separate toilet. The staff were professional, friendly and polite. The concierge service was very helpful with a wealth of information on where to go and the best places to eat. Pre dinner drinks at the hotel bar were served with a small platter of nibbles. Dinner at the Tse-Yang restaurant consisted of good cantonese cuisine. The hotel is located in the new town across the road from the river and walking distance to everywhere. It is a 5 minute stroll to the old town. Thank you to the staff at the Maria Cristina for making our stay a truly memorable experience

Room Tip: Choose a river view room - the view from the small balcony is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFTMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This stay far exceeded our expectations. The rooms are more beautiful than the pictures. We had such a lovely stay here, the staff were friendly (a rare find in Spain!) the bar was excellent and the bed was so comfortable.
Enjoyed coffee and drinking some pre dinner cocktails at the hotel, mostly because it was so quiet and the Salons were so peaceful.
Worth every cent!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a lovely hotel! From the moment we arrived, we were enchanted with this beautiful property! Our room was very large by European standards and had a lovely view of the square next door. The hotel was in excellent condition an the staff friendly and helpful. The location could not have been better. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone visiting San Sebastian!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drandmrsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Property: Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing