We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Nearby Hotels
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra(San Sebastian - Donostia)
$197
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
NH San Sebastian Donosti(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Villa Soro(San Sebastian - Donostia)
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Costa Vasca(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
$164
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
$111
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Astoria 7(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
$219
$145
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Niza(San Sebastian - Donostia)
$175
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Parma Hotel(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel(San Sebastian - Donostia)(Great Value!)
$149
$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Monte Igueldo(San Sebastian - Donostia)
$156
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,915)
Filter reviews
1,915 results
Traveler rating
1,573
236
60
28
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,573
236
60
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdry barbeautiful hotelconcierge staffupgraded to a suiteriver viewcooking schoolold townbasque regionbeautiful roomtapasbreakfast buffetpintxos barslobby barrooms are largefilm festivalold world charmthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
999 - 1,004 of 1,915 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel, stylish and sumptuous in decor. The hotel was renovated last year and is in impeccable condition. Our room was fabulous and had a view of the square in front of the hotel and glimpses of the surfers beach. The hotel staff were lovely but not that forthcoming with information. We were looking for things to do and felt that we had to ask about places rather than suggestions being made. I would HIGHLY recommend visiting La Perla spa, it is an amazing experience. It is a spa in the true sense. You move around hydro-therapy pools and different areas of relaxation, really fabulous. The walk up the hill to the statue of Christ is also a must. The hotel bar staff left a little to desired in terms of service. The Chinese restaurant in the hotel was also NOT somewhere I would recommend eating but why would you when you have a amazing array of Pinxos bars on your doorstep? Overall the Maria Cristina is a very lovely hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maprik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Maprik,

We are glad to read that our refurbishment met your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay in San Sebastian, in general and especially, your experience at the La Perla Spa.
Your comments regarding the informations will be adressed within our front desk team. We are constantly upgrading our concierge department to make sure to fulfill all the expecations of our visitors. Regarding your experience at the Dry bar, we have triggered a serie of actions to make sure our level of service remains constantly at the best in term of efficiency and drinks products.

Whishing to host you soon again in our renovated iconic property.

Best regards,

Michel Nader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Echoing other reviewers...just a high quality hotel. Excellent staff, comfortable rooms, perfect location. If you don't mind the price, there appears to be no downside. Three nights in early May beat the crowds and this hotel was an excellent finish to our two weeks in northern Spain. Highest reccomendation.

Room Tip: Probably noisier in front next to the river, but aaahhhh, the view!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philo128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Philo128,

How rewarding to read that our hotel was the highlight of your trip in Spain mentioning that we “beat the crowd”.
Thank you for your recommendations to the reviewers and looking forward to host you soon in San Sebastian,

Best regards

Michel Nader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I just stayed at the Maria Cristina for 3 nights and really loved the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and spoke English very well. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. Only issue was the shower, which for my boyfriend who is quite tall, was flooding the floor a bit as the door barely covers anything. We told the front desk staff who had housekeeping bring these enormous towels up to help with the issue. All in all great experience and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a beautiful place to relax on vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karay831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Karay831,

Thank you for your very constructive and positive feedback. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We are doing the necessary touches up in the bathroom of the room where you stayed to make sure the small leaks you have experienced while showering would disappear.

Thanking you again for you the time taken and your contribution in making our hotel even better.
Best regards,

Michel Nader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here as part of a large group on-tour as part of a Car rally and was really impressed by the level of service, quality of the rooms and general ambiance of this hotel. Our final night’s group dinner turned out to be excellent as was the stay in general.

I was particularly impressed by being given a free upgrade to a suite as it was my wife’s birthday. A very generous touch from the management and I will be returning for sure with friends.

All in all a magnificent hotel of truly excellent standard and in a great position for exploring the main city and old town tapas bars. I would truly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great rooms overlooking the square to the front also offer sea and river views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BatmanMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Batmanmarlborough,

It is a pleasure to note that you have chosen the Maria Cristina as a stop during your last rallye and that our property services, especially your last day’s dinner, met your expectations.
Small details such as the upgrade for your wife's birthday is one of the touches that really makes us looking forward to excellence in our day to day life.
How rewarding to read that your stay with us made your overall road trip more pleasant.
Looking forward to host you and your group members again one day at the Maria Cristina,

Best regards,

Michel Nader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband, I and two other couples stayed here for two nights in mid April 2013 and we were blown away by the beauty of this hotel. Everything about this hotel shouts quality. We arrived in the beautiful reception area to check in to the standard rooms we had booked. We were greeted by exceptionally polite and smiling receptionists who checked us in quickly and efficiently and also upgraded us to suites! I didn't check out our friends rooms so I can only speak for ours but I have to say I was almost jumping up and down (ok I really was jumping up and down) for joy at the sight.
We entered the suite and walked down a long corridor into our sitting room which was immaculate and also had a complimentary bottle of wine and nibbles waiting for us with a welcome card! This room had its own balcony which looked out onto the sea. It was beautifully furnished with elegant sofa, soft furnishings, a TV and there was also a desk with essentials if you were there to work.
You passed through the sitting room into the bedroom. Another amazing room with balcony, huge bed, crisp white linen another TV, ample wardrobe space with the most amazing huge white fluffy robes inside.
The bathroom again was exceptional, his and hers sinks, large powerful shower cubical, bath and toilet and bidet. There were masses of towels and every conceivable toiletry you could think of. It really was an amazing suite.
We had breakfast in the hotel on two days. The first day the hotel was obviously quieter and we got exceptional service on the second day it was very busy and the staff seemed flustered but this didn't detract from our overall experience. The breakfast was good with a good selection of breakfasts foods which would appeal to a wide variety of tastes.
Probably one of the greatest experiences at the hotel was the "Dry Bar" where the bartenders treated us like royalty. They made the most amazing cocktails that looked and tasted out of this world. The passion and attention to detail with which the bartenders made all the drinks, not just the cocktails, was a pleasure in itself.With each drink we were provided with nibbles of nuts, crisps and the most delicious olives. We also drank, teas and coffees in this bar, which were fabulous and these were served with two little chocolate (I think hazelnuts but I could be wrong) in a cute tin. It hard to express how wonderful all of these small details were and how each of them just added up to make our stay at the Maria Cristina probably one of the most enjoyable I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Verbow,

Allow me first to thank you in detailing your impressions about our property. We are glad to hear you praising our facilities and services. It is quite rewarding to see the recognition in our strive to exceed the expectations with the little details and mainly with the consistency in service. It is true that we put a special effort into keeping the highest standards in the processes of cocktail making that positioned us by now as the cocktail place to be in San Sebastian.
Thank you again for having choosen the Maria Cristina as your residence whilst staying in San Sebastian and we do thank you again for your very positive feedback.

Best regards,

Michel Nader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews