We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pension Heaven”
Review of Pension Ondarra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Ondarra
Certificate of Excellence
Goring by Sea
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pension Heaven”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Never stayed in a Pension before so was not expecting too much. Finding this Pension was difficult. The driving was Ok but the entrance is not easily found. We were put off going up the stairs to find it as it is on the first floor. There are only 5 rooms, and we had pre-booked a balcony so we had room 101. Wonderful room, reasonable size with a great balcony and large bathroom. It was spotlessly clean and modern in all areas. Free tea, coffee and water all day in reception area was an unbelievable bonus and was the only location out of 9 hotels in Spain that gave this facility. Excellent location close to beaches and city centre. Rasa the receptionist could not have been more helpful, and also the owner. Our only disappointment was car parking which when we booked we had private parking. On arrival this was no longer available but the Pension had arranged public underground parking for a reduced fee. The car park was a fair distance away when carrying luggage etc. We would recommend this Pension to anyone.

Room Tip: When booking ask for Room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raybmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    55
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
127
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My fiance and I had a great experience at Pension Ondarra. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very bright, clean and modern. We arrived in San Sebastian very late on a train from Madrid and the desk staff was happy to stay late until we have arrived. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

As other reviews have said; clean, simple, modern and fantastic value for money. The water and coffee machines in the reception are a brilliant idea. We accidentally left a personal item in our room and checked out of the hotel, and they posted it to us in the UK. Now that's service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bacononthebeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We loved our stay in Pension Ondarra! Our room (101) was bright, modern and spacious, and had a lovely little balcony overlooking the street. The bathroom was huge, and with a fantastic shower. Location is great, in the Gros district, close to several amazing pinxto bars, and lots of shops. The surfers beach is a 5-minute walk away, and the old town is less than 10 minutes away. Staff were really friendly and helpful, providing a really handy guide to pinxto bars and restaurants in San Sebastian. They were also extremely helpful when my boyfriend hurt his back, giving us directions to the local hospital, and even volunteering to help translate over the phone if we had any language difficulties! The free coffee and water was also a nice bonus! We will definitely be back to visit wonderful San Sebastian, and we will definitely stay in Pension Ondarra when we do!

Room Tip: Room 101 is the biggest room of the five, and it's one of the few that has a balcony, so definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa2hig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We only stayed here for one night but could easily stayed longer. The rooms are very modern and we stayed in room 101 which was very spacious. The rooms are very tastefully fitted with modern furnishings. Staff and location were great and the coffee machine a big plus!

Room Tip: 101 is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighT668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

An extremely clean and tidy room, with everything that you could need. The staff were veryhelpful with their recommendations. For the price of the room I couldn't have asked for anything more! There was even free use of the computer, so you don't have to worry about bringing a laptop, and the coffee machine was an added bonus. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever, will definitely be returning in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very well thought out modern accommodation. Great shower. Very clean and tidy room, the proprietors were incredibly friendly and helpful. I would love to go back and would highly recommend this Pension.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrizul Congress Hotel
Arrizul Congress Hotel
#14 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,667 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#4 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Ondarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Ondarra

Property: Pension Ondarra
Address: Secundino Esnaola, 5-1, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Ondarra 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMMER RATES OPEN AT OUR WEBSITE!! This modern, minimalist guest house is situated in San Sebastian's Gros neighbourhood. Playa Zurriola Beach and the Kursaal Congress Centre are just 5 minutes' walk away. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Pension Ondarra's smart, air-conditioned rooms are bright and predominantly white. They feature parquet flooring, heating and soundproof walls, and are equipped with a small work desk and a flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a balcony with city views. The stylish bathrooms have a shower. The centre of San Sebastian and Playa de la Concha Beach are only 10 minutes' walk from Ondarra hotel. San Sebastian railway station is less than 10 minutes' walk away, and the bus station is 2 km away. Pension Ondarra can provide a discount for a public parking available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Pension Ondarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing