We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, but needs air conditioning!”
Review of Pension Ondarra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Ondarra
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, but needs air conditioning!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Good location, a few blocks from the beach and a short walk from the old town. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, with small but stylish bathrooms. There are many very good cafés close to the pensión where you can have breakfast. Bottles of water and fresh coffee are available free of charge. Helpful staff.

On the downside, the rooms don't have air-conditioning, and are very hot at night. In addition, there was some noise from the street and from neighbouring rooms (the shower in the room next door was particularly noisy), so we didn't sleep too well. The rooms have TVs but the reception is very poor, with frequent pixellation and loss of signal, making them unwatchable.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the street, so expect some noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soypensionondarra, Owner at Pension Ondarra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks to reviews like yours, have helped us to find the weaknesses of Pension Ondarra and we reacted. We have installed air conditioning in all rooms and lobby, and we have a new TV antenna that ensures perfect reception of both Spanish channels and some international.

We deeply thank you to help us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    57
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
128
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

You will not be disappointed if you stay here. I had no idea what to expect but this hotel far surpassed my expectations for a 2 star hotel. The location is perfect as you are less than 5 minutes from the beach, 5-10 from the old town, and right next to some amazing pintxo bars. There is a lot going on in this area, however it is much quieter at night when you want to sleep. Ondarra is clean and everything is brand new. There is good closet space, a nice bathroom/shower, desk, etc. The owner is particularly nice and friendly. He even helped me park my car in the garage... (It had been a while since I drove a manual and I was a little nervous about the garage). He gladly helped and made me feel very comfortable. The free water and espresso machine are an added bonus, plus the free wi-fi! Do yourself a favor and book a room here! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I am travelling alone, so I got the single room.. read that it was small.. But was pleasant surprised as it was not that small for me... I stayed 6 night and like it a lot..

The Nespresso machine in the reception arial was great touch together with the water.
The free use of computer... and of course the owner Andony ( not sure about the spelling ) that was most helpful .
The place was spotless ,, for me a great location, away from the old town, but walkable to most of the city. Some complain about there was street noise.. but you are in a city.. so there will be noise, but not a lot in my mind. I do not sleep with air-con anyway , so did not miss it . Just an open window.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Galapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very contemporary in decor with light wood floors, white walls and dark brown and grey accents. It was spotlessly clean throughout. Our room was quite small (we could only open one suitcase at a time), but not unexpected in Europe. However, the closet had tons of hangars as well as a bunch of shelves, so it was easy to stash things away so you weren't tripping on them all the time. The bathroom was very modern and had places to put toiletries; the towels and bed linens were quite nice. It was in a great location across the bridge from the Old Town and shopping area, and close to the beach and the train station as well. A computer terminal in the lobby was free as were bottled water and coffee - a very nice touch. No breakfast, but there are a number of places within a block, so it wasn't a problem. The front desk guy (whose name I've forgotten) was quite friendly and helpful. He even had a list of what to order at each of their recommended restaurants! The only problem was finding it. It's on the first floor (up one flight from ground level) in a building on a street with offices, shops and apartments. We didn't see a sign and had a heck of a time finding it when we arrived. The lack of A/C was fine for us since we were there in mid-April, but it would definitely be a deal-breaker in the warmer months. But in the cooler months, we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItchyFeetBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice place, clean, great service by the personnel, trendy and extremely well located. Downside is that there's no airco and the street is very noisy. Good price/quality. No breakfast but there are at least 3 places within 50 meters.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sreinyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

If Ikea and Apple teamed up to make a small hotel in an urban beach town this it what they would create. Nice, clean, simple, short walk to everything, and more affordable than most places we checked.

I would only suggest they add air conditioning. It was rather cool when we were there and the rooms were fine but any warmer and I would have been uncomfortable.

Parking garages are close but expensive in San Sebastian so factor that in. There is a very close place to do laundry across the road. Recycle bins are close by as well.

Wifi was free.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place was very clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is quite convenient. Near the train station, and pretty much walkable to most parts of town. The room, though small (about 10'x12') was adequate. While my wife did not like the small room, I did not consider it a problem. What was a HUGE problem, however, was the noise. There is no air conditioning, so if you closed the sliding door to the balcony, the room got incredibly hot and stuffy in almost no time at all. However, if you opened the door, the street below was incredibly noisy. This place is across from a plaza with a bar, and there are people, screaming and shouting in the streets, some with noisemakers, until 3 am. After 3 am, the street remains a busy street, with cars and trucks going by every 30 seconds or so. What this all meant is that it was almost impossible to sleep here, whether you had the door open or closed.

It is the noise and lack of a/c that made this an incredibly uncomfortable place for me. Unbearable, in fact, and I won't be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soypensionondarra, Owner at Pension Ondarra, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
First I ask my deepest apologies for your uncomfortable stay. Pension Ondarra opened its doors on August 13, 2011, and considering that the average temperature of San Sebastian is 15.6 º C, we thougt that using double windows and thermal insulation, air conditioning would not be necessary, but we were wrong.

That´s why we´ve been closed instaling air conditioning in every room and lobby, so that from this momment, the high temperature is not going to be a problem.

We'd love to meet you some other time, and erase bad memories.

Andoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.7 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrizul Congress Hotel
Arrizul Congress Hotel
#18 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,782 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#3 of 79 in San Sebastian - Donostia
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Ondarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Ondarra

Property: Pension Ondarra
Address: Secundino Esnaola, 5-1, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Ondarra 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMMER RATES OPEN AT OUR WEBSITE!! This modern, minimalist guest house is situated in San Sebastian's Gros neighbourhood. Playa Zurriola Beach and the Kursaal Congress Centre are just 5 minutes' walk away. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Pension Ondarra's smart, air-conditioned rooms are bright and predominantly white. They feature parquet flooring, heating and soundproof walls, and are equipped with a small work desk and a flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a balcony with city views. The stylish bathrooms have a shower. The centre of San Sebastian and Playa de la Concha Beach are only 10 minutes' walk from Ondarra hotel. San Sebastian railway station is less than 10 minutes' walk away, and the bus station is 2 km away. Pension Ondarra can provide a discount for a public parking available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pension Ondarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing