We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This boutique was very good, our room was clean and comfortable, breakfast at 1 euro was ample and fresh, set us up for the day. The hotel location is good about 10 minute walk to either beach and the old town. no shortage of bars near by, thank fully none near enough to disturb our sleep. We found the staff pleasant and helpful, when we asked direction to the old town on the first night not only did they give them but the girl on the reception gave us a card for the owners bar for free drinks and tapas which were also very good. we stayed 2 nights good hotel, great weekend, great town, enjoyed

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 108 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

Brilliant Central location.
Each room individually designed and decorated to a high standard.
Easy access to all that Bilbao has to offer, bars and restaurants all around the area.

2 minutes to the river and market.

If you are staying in Bilbao you must check this out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilann44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed in this small hotel for just one night. It was a bit of a last minute decision to go to San Sebastián but we thought this hotel seemed fine. The rooms were ok, I've seen a lot better but they did the job. The main problem was the rude girl working at reception. She was pretty cold and unfriendly from the start, I know this is a low cost hotel but I would definitely expect far better service. We were told that we needed to check out at 12 noon on the day of our departure. However, at 1030 that morning I received 3 phone calls from the hotel reception which I didn't answer. A few minutes later, the girl from reception walks in to our room without knocking. When I asked her about it she said she needed to clean the room!!! No apology, nothing. I asked for the hotel complaints book, she handed me a blank piece of paper which she said she would put in to the safe for the boss (yeah right!!) I would highly advise avoiding this hotel, don't waste your money-go elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeriFoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

this hotel is based in gros san sebastian , fairly central near the beach and the old town, reception only open until 10 pm..breakfast for one euro.. good value,rooms very clean on a second floor of a multi-story building, parking is at a public garage cost of 11e a night,no bar in hotel plenty outside but would stay again ,

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

More like a "cheap-sleep" motel on an American Interstate highway, and despite its pretentious name, the Gran Bahia Bernardo delivers on its value proposition. Its on a second floor of a multi-story building, parking is at a public garage, and there is no lounge area. TV lacks an English language channel. The staff is polite but perfunctory which fits this somewhat sterile Spartan atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChappySumRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went to San Sebastian for a week at the end of August to surf and eat pinxtos. Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo was the closest accommodations I could find to Zurriola beach. Because we were there a week after Semana Grande, it was completely booked but did not feel crowded at all since there are only 9 rooms. It was about a 5 minute walk to the surf beach and about 10-15 minute walk to the old town where all the pinxtos bars are. The location was totally convenient for our needs. We were in room 107 and didnt have any issues with noise.

Pros: close to surf beach, 10 mins from old town, free water in the common area, beach towels available to borrow, comfortable beds and spacious rooms (surprising for Spain), helpful staff that spoke impecable english, free wifi

Cons: breakfast was small (toast, croissant and yogurt), reception was closed at night--not really an issue except if you are arriving late or leaving early

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annellelazatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

pretty basic but very comfortable beds, and clean rooms. situated about 10 minutes walk from the old part of the city. the staff were adequate but not overly friendly, which was a shame, but overall, a good base if you arent expecting to spend much time in the actual hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Okako Hotel
Okako Hotel
#27 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Ondarra
Pension Ondarra
#14 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Bahia Bernardo
Gran Bahia Bernardo
#25 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#2 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Altair
Pension Altair
#11 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koba Hostel
Koba Hostel
#14 of 88 in San Sebastian - Donostia
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo

Address: Trueba, 1, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $92 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing