We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, friendly and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious, friendly and well located”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had trouble booking a room in San Sebastian on days surrounding a public holiday, so ended up here more by accident than design. To our delight our room was large and pleasant, breakfast more than adequate and the staff very welcoming and helpful. Everything worked well - including the reliable WiFi. The location was perfect, just far enough out of the thick of things to be a bit of an oasis, but only a short walk from the old town, bars, restaurants, the station etc. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We observed that there are also excellent facilities for disabled travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
54
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This was the only hotel I was slightly disappointed with in our Spanish holiday. I had a different expectation I suppose, but overall, the hotel was ok. The positives, wonderfully helpful staff with good english. A 5 minute walk from the Pintxos bars and 2 minutes from the surfy beach. The hotel was clean, breakfast was basic but a welcome relief due to the amount of calories you will consume whilst in SS.
The downsides - the beds are very hard and the noise from the traffic is very loud as its on the mainroad in and our of town. I resorted to using my iPod earphones to plug my ears to block out the sound.
Overall, it is expensive, but considering San Sebastian has massive rents and even the best hotels are not in absolute prime locations, it did the job. Woudl like to give it 3 1/2 stars

Room Tip: Take ear plugs! I think there were 2-3 rooms on the side street - ask for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_DocMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Excellent location, English speaking staff, (which was nice to finally have in spain) cute breakfast, small rooms but clean, a bit over priced but only expect that when it's peak tourist season & only booking the day before. Have recommended to others since check out

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danistyles85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I am taking a year off to travel around the world and therefore stay in many hotels. This is the first one I've bothered to review in the three months I've been on the road but I really wanted to make sure that more people chose the Hotel Gran Bahai Bernardo for their stays in San Sebastian. The hotel was lovely, clean, modern. Free wi-fi with flawless connection and as much free bottled water as you'd like, good breakfast, nice bathroom. It's across the bridge from the Old Town, about a 10 minute walk. I enjoyed the peacefulness of this location and the nice walk along the ocean to get to the Old Town.

More than anything, the people are what make the Gran Bahia Bernardo so delightful. They couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Restaurant recommendations, reservations, and coupons for free tapas (pinxchos) in town. I would go back here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreindinFarPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in May and it was so delightful. The staff has to be the friendliest and most accommodating in Donostia. It is located in the zone named Gros and within easy walking distance of the Parte Vieja where all the good pintxos are. Gros is clean, residential and a short walk to the Playa Zurriola, the surfing beach.

The hotel itself was clean, soundproofed, had free water, and very pleasant. The bathroom was a little small but had a great shower and a bidet. The rooms were pleasant, modern, and had a nice view from a small balcony. Breakfast was yummy and included in our reservation. I think what we liked most about this hotel is that it had all the amenities of a larger hotel but it was intimate with only about 8 rooms.

I don't think we can say enough good about the staff. They arranged for us to check out and leave our luggage in a secure place while we went to the beach and then provided a place for us to change after coming back. They went out of their way to help us. San Sebastian is not the place to find budget hotels but I feel we paid for the value we got. We will DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelsavy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
Gran Bahia Bernardo
Gran Bahia Bernardo
#25 of 79 in San Sebastian - Donostia
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Balerdi
Pension Balerdi
#9 of 79 in San Sebastian - Donostia
76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#3 of 79 in San Sebastian - Donostia
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Okako Hotel
Okako Hotel
#23 of 79 in San Sebastian - Donostia
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pension AB Domini
Pension AB Domini
#34 of 79 in San Sebastian - Donostia
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Joakina
Pension Joakina
#1 of 79 in San Sebastian - Donostia
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo

Property: Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo
Address: Trueba, 1, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing