We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp and smelly!”
Review of Pension Atxiki

Pension Atxiki
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Atxiki
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Rooms on ground floor but feel like basement. Smells damp and bed linen is also damp. When woke my slippers which were on floor during night were wet. Seriously unless you want to be two mins walk from beach and don't mind staying in what is a damp smelly room go for it!
It's clean but really I wouldn't say habitable esp if you suffer asthma or bronchitis!
No owner on site you need to text to ask anything.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_999000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

GOOD THINGS: The hotel is not so far from the city center: it takes 15 minutes to get to the old city and just 1 to the beach. We parked easily around (with fee from monday to saturday morning) The lady at the desk was kind.
BAD THINGS: The room was small and little bit dump. The remote for the tv didn't work, the password for the wifi was incomprehensible so u couldn't use it; the bed was little bit uncomfortable and there was lots of rumors.

Anyway we spent just 66 euros for a night (that in San Sebastian is very cheap), so I wasn't expecting more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I'm afraid our experience of this hotel was very similar to our overall experience of San Sebastián... Overpriced and disappointing. When we arrived we were met by a lovely lady who couldn't be more helpful. As we had dogs with us, who had been stuck in the car for hours, we went straight out after dropping off our bags. When we returned to the room we discovered there was no toilet roll in the ensuite, no note of the wifi code in the room and the small heater had made very little difference to the chill in the room. There was no one at the reception desk so I tried ringing the hotel phone number ....three times...no reply. After searching cupboards in the hallway I finally found a loo roll and tried asking another guest for the wifi code but still no luck. As a result I didn't manage to send an important email. In the morning my husband had a cold shower, but that wasn't really the hotel's fault, their boiler had broken overnight and they did give us a 10 euro discount off the price for that. I'm afraid we just felt that all in all it was not a great experience which could have been easily rectified if there was an easy way to get hold of hotel staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottandlindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here about 3 night. Its about 100m from the beach, close to good restaurants and everything you need. Great and friendly staff that are as helpful as could be. I would stay here again no problem. Good Value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isurf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Found the hotel ok but parking is a nightmare - narrow streets, cars packed. Suggest the underground car parks (nearest one only 5 mins walk) - expensive but easier. No air conditioning which was a problem in August. Unfortunately, booked when the music festival was on - so leaving the window open not a great solution. Owners very friendly and helpful - even providing coffee etc for breakfast. Great location - literally a few minutes walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthYorkshireChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The pension was very nice. The owner is very helpful. It is in the less touristy part of the city -- which has it's pluses
And minuses. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mittensam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Hotel staff very welcoming, and the rooms were spotless.
nice little terrace outside which was ideal for a few beers before and after a night out.
perfect location - just down the steps to the beach - but also in a quiet street, so no noise and safe.
although i only spent about 2 hours asleep in the hotel - San Sebastian has great nightlife! - i would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our party had the 1st 3 rooms as you enter, and all were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,913 reviews
2.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pension San Juan
Pension San Juan
#65 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Record
Hotel Record
#13 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Atxiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Atxiki

Address: C/ Zemoria 13, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $45 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Atxiki is situated in the area of Gros next to the beach of La zurriola, none as the surfers beach. The centre and the old part are 10 minutes walk. all types of shops, restaurants, bars, supermarkets etc, are nearby. It´s a very sportive area, there´s bike rentals, surfers shops and sports shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Atxiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing