We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets the basic needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension San Ignacio
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Meets the basic needs”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at Pension San Ignacio centro 2 for two nights in July. It was a convenient location away from all the noise and crowds of the old town, but still within a comfortable walking distance (7min to old town, about 10-15 min to beach). The owner who met us there after our arrival was friendly and gave us some info on the main sights. We had Room 1 which had the window opening onto the street. There was no air-con, but a small fan provided and with windows open it was just comfortable enough in the middle of summer. The street is fairly quiet, but if people talk outside your window it will be clearly audible. The room is very spacious and the bathroom is equipped for disabled people, so fairly spacious. There is a bar fridge, and basic facilities. Bed was comfortable. You can have breakfast at a café affiliated with the pension, which was 3.5 euro for a coffee, some bread and butter, but we bought our own food from a nearby supermarket.

Overall pretty good location with basic but comfortable room. The only thing was that the reception/lounge area was right outside our door and the room was not well sound proofed. But at night we heard very little noise from other guests. Overall San Sebastian feels safe and has a fantastic atmosphere, especially in the old town where the options for food is endless!

Room Tip: Rooms away from street would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunl0ver789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Only 5-6 minutes walk from train station, 5-6 minutes walk to the edge of old town. Basic, but clean, and plenty space. Dealt with 2 different staff members, both of them top drawer - friendly and helpful. No breakfast available, but couple of places nearby where you can get a cheap continental breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I liked this place. Nice location for the old town and beach. Room tidied every day but as is usual in a pension towels and sheets not necessarily changed every day but this is ok. I don't change my sheets every day at home either. Upgraded to a larger room which became free during our stay. The staff were helpful and pleasant. It felt safe. They offered to look after our bags as we weren't leaving until late on the last day. We took advantage of the breakfast offer which was basic but sufficient and tasty - 3 euro 50 for a juice, a coffee and a croissant or toast with jam and marmelade. Overall, this worked out to be a good choice for us.

Room Tip: There are few rooms, a couple are smaller, others at the back are larger. I guess it is luck of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBwasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a large, comfortable room. The two large windows opened onto an air shaft, for good ventilation and privacy. Reception was friendly and my inquiry emails were answered promptly. Just a short walk to the Old Town, with it's medieval streets and delicious tapas (called pintxos here in Basque country). Breakfast is available at a nearby cafe. San Sebastian is as lovely as everyone says! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmsdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This pension had just what we were looking for: clean, renovated hotel rooms, nice modern bathrooms, great location and knowledgeable English speaking staff, all for a good price. We were very happy to find a room here when other pensions in the same price range are much more basic. We were very pleased with this pension and hope we get to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Really nice pension. We got a lot of help from the very friendly host. He helped us to find free parking space up on the nearby hill and arranged with a electric kettle for our babys food. The room was quite dirty and the cleaning ladys hair was everywhere in the room. Comfy beds a plus, no air-condition a big minus, only a loud table fan. Would not recommend this during the warmest season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockafett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed there for one night in September 2011.
It is a very nice and quiet pension.
It is located 5/10 minutes walk from the city center.
We had a fantastic and very large room, everything was clean and new.
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Private parking space was available close to the pension for a fee.
Quite expensive for a pension.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcogi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pension Del Mar
#40 of 77 in San Sebastian - Donostia
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Okako Hotel
Okako Hotel
#27 of 77 in San Sebastian - Donostia
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension Joakina
Pension Joakina
#2 of 77 in San Sebastian - Donostia
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Donosti Surf Hostel
Donosti Surf Hostel
#60 of 87 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pension San Ignacio Centro
Pension San Ignacio Centro
#37 of 77 in San Sebastian - Donostia
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfing Etxea
Surfing Etxea
#14 of 87 in San Sebastian - Donostia
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension San Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension San Ignacio

Property: Pension San Ignacio
Address: Calle Iztueta 5, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension San Ignacio 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension San Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing