We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the one look no further”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Aia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Aia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is the one look no further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights September and can't praise this pension enough, it appears like everybody else in the reviews, it is in a fantastic quiet part of town yet only minutes walk to everything, the rooms are well insulated and soundproofed, they are very clean with good bedding. The pensions secret weapon is the owner "Paola" and his lovely wife, nothing was a problem, they run a very very good hotel and deserve the great reviews, one thing that isn't mentioned is that there is a great kitchen with breakfast cerial, coffee, tea supplied, also microwave, fridge. We fully recommend this pension

Room Tip: All rooms we saw looked great but next time we would ask for a twin room as the double beds are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
130
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here in October/ November 2012 for a month so I really got to know the place. It's in a great location - very close to the surfing beach and easy walking distance to the old town and the other beach. Paulo was as extremely friendly and welcoming as everyone says.
I stayed in 3 different rooms during my stay. The first was quite small and had a window opening onto an enclosed internal area which was okay but I then moved to one of the rooms at the back with a large private balcony which was much better. I was lucky that it was low season so there was a bit more choice of rooms. A good self-service continental breakfast was available and wifi throughout. It felt more like a large serviced apartment than a hotel but that was what I was after so it was perfect for me.
There are some nice little restaurants in the neighbourhood if you don't want to venture out too far, a good bakery and various shops. It felt like a real neighbourhood with locals going about their daily lives which seems to include eating really well and enjoying bright sunshine right into November. A very nice place to stay in a very nice place to be.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank biffchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our second trip to San Sebastian and we sought out Pension Aia as soon as we knew we'd be going back. Unfortunately they didn't have availability for the whole time we wanted to stay, but Paulo (fantastically helpful owner) was able to recommend somewhere nice nearby, though it wasn't as good as Pension Aia. Pension Aia is a great friendly place, lovely rooms (try for the ones at the front with windows out onto the streets for a great buzz, especially on Thursday - Pintxos Pote!), and fantastic location. Gros is really fun, right next to the beach and just a short walk away from the Old Town. Great place, great people, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and felt the pension was very good value for money - in a great position only a few minutes from the surf beach and about a 10 minute walk to the old town. Very clean and good amenities. Nice comfy bed. No a/c which might be an issue for some in the height of summer. Overall, very happy with our choice and would definitely return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank M2theWag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nice clean pension next to the surf beach. Helpful staff and great neighbourhood cafes, shops and bars make this a great place to stay. Only 10 minute walk into parte viaja with its many pintxos bars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The owner of this Pension- Paulo- made us feel incredibly welcome; not only on our arrival, but through-out our entire stay. He was quite possibly one of the nicest people we had met over our 2 month trip! He welcomed us, sat us down in the communal kitchen (which is clean, inviting and well maintained), and marked on a map the best areas to eat, drink, swim, sightsee...everything! He provided us with his number for after-hours emergency use and was happy to have a chat anytime or answer any questions we had. The Pension is small itself- there are not many rooms, however it has been recently renovated and is quite modern in its design and appeal. The beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms are clean. The Pension is located across the road from some amazing cafes and restaurants and is about a 3 minute walk to the beach! Fantastic staff, fantastic facilities and fantastic location- a MUST!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a really good hostel. I'd definitely recommend it. Paulo remembered our names, sat down with us for 20 minutes and explained the town to us, the facilities were awesome, there were free nibbles in the kitchen in which we met some really nice people that we ended going out with. Paulo even woke up at 4.30am and called us to tell us that our taxi was approaching. He couldn't do enough for you. The place is just over the road from the beach and is right in the middle of where all the good bars are. Definitely the place to stay in Sam sebastian!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shenders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Aia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aia

Property: Pension Aia
Address: Zabaleta 40 | 1st Floor, 20002 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 2 minute walk to Zurriola surf beach and Kursal conference centre. The town center with its many shops and the Old Town with its many bars and bustling night life are just a five minute walk away. The perfect place to stay and enjoy the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Aia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing