We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, great hostel.”
Review of Pension Aia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Aia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wonderfully clean and well decorated hostel. Met by Paulo who was so friendly and helped us with anything we needed. Very well equipped kitchen/dining area and breakfast foods, tea, coffee, jam etc provided. Our room ( the purple one, room 10 I think) was overlooking the main street with a small balcony but it was quiet with double glazing and shutters. Easily adjusted radiators to suit the climate outside and very good en-suite.
Perfect location, 5 mins walk to one beach and 10 mins to the old town. Made the stay in a lovely city complete.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southpacific53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Pension Aia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 232 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

When we looked at accomodation in San Sebastian we struggled to find anything with the wow factor, so we decided to go for a more budget option! Pension Aia is brilliant - it's is great value, rooms, small but nicely done, we had a terrace which was huge and so nice to have a cold beer on. The owner is so helpful and friendly and takes you through all the good places to go and good places to eat. It is clear that the business and high standards are very important to the owner.

I was a little nervous as we had to use a shared bathroom - but it was exceptionally clean, and there are plenty of facilities so we never had to wait.

The location is near to the surf beach - a bit of a walk to the main tourist beach - but as we preferred the surf beach - more relaxed, less touristy, great views - this worked for us.

This is a brilliant little place, we would stay here again! Give the big hotels a miss and stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 365dayholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

In a nutshell: friendly, very clean, good location, good value. We recommend the place.

We stayed one night off season in January, I don't know how full the place was (there are a dozen rooms) but when it's busy, I should think it could get noisy as well as hot.
I don't know if this is the case for all rooms but we had a shower and small sink in the room, and there are shared toilets. There is a kitchen for common use, it's nice to be able to make yourself a cup of tea whenever you like.

Parking in the area is tricky and parking police is everywhere. Ask the pension for parking tips.

Special note for people traveling on budget with a child: the room next to ours (7?) had a funky bunk bed (double bed + single bed) which looked practical as well as fun.

Room Tip: Ask for details when booking (balcony, shared or private shower...)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great clean hostel with very friendly and helpful owner. He gave us great recommendation and took the time to show us around and make sure we had all we needed. Rooms are small but clean and well presented and we had a nice en suite though the shared bathrooms were always spotless too. Good location allows you to walk to old town and see some of the town on the way. We loved our weekend there, recommend checking out as many pinxos bars as poss and the gin and tonics. Amazing. If you want a good review then I recommend reading a blog on a site called the boy who ate the world all his recommendations are spot on.
We will return!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moles8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The staff were always helpful and friendly. This continue during our six nights stay. The hotel is about five minute walk to Metro (direct rail link to airport should you wish to that that way - but the hotel staff booked a cab for us for...)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Micheal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Could not believe our room was only €45. Its modern, private shower, balcony with a view and double glass, warm, flat screen tv with cables. The pension was recently renovated and resembled more like a self service apartment than a pension. The kitchen is well stocked and there was a good wifi connection. 2 minutes walk to the Surf beach, 10 to old town, 15 to train station. Best sleep we had. Highly recommended. Ask for Room 10 or 11 (for balcony).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melbourniantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Extremely welcoming staff, and very helpful. Clean, new, recently built or renovated. It is close from the downtown in a great city. It makes you feel at home. We will be back for sure in this fantastic place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intendente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,737 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,835 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,572 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#3 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Aia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aia

Address: Zabaleta 40 | 1st Floor, 20002 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $46 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 2 minute walk to Zurriola surf beach and Kursal conference centre. The town center with its many shops and the Old Town with its many bars and bustling night life are just a five minute walk away. The perfect place to stay and enjoy the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing