We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG!!! You must go!!”
Review of La Vina

La Vina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“OMG!!! You must go!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I are HUGE fans of Yelp and that's how we found this place. We stayed in San Sebastian 6 nights and had a lunch, dinner or dessert at La Vina everyday but one. Simply put, we LOVED it! The cheesecake will make you speechless. Somedays we savored it and other days we couldn't get it in fast enough. Sooo good!! The pinxto's are also delicious and we now know why people say some of the best food in the world comes from Basque. The pinxtos are very flavorful and well complimented with the local wine or Txakoli. We discovered anchovies are actually quite tastey, not the shrivelled, salty, fishy things we get in the States. Try their award winning pinxto, primer titulo and you'll see what I'm talking about. Over our 6-day visit we managed to try half the things on their various menues and I'm sure we ate a whole cheesecake each over the week. The service was second to none and those folks really work their tails off. Hope to go back someday even if it's just for the cheescake.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerrieF98199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    331
    85
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly and fantastic cheesecake”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The cheese cake here is sublime, especially with a glass of PX sherry.
Portions are huge so one between two is still a piece each and they readily check with you rather than just giving you the two portions you've asked for.
Stopped by a second day as had to have the cheesecake again. This time we also tried other pintxo which were good, but it's the cheese cake and the super smiley and friendly staff which make the place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucky_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The cheesecake here is "out of this world!"”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Our group of 8 from the U.S. made La Vina our last stop of the night on our final pinxtos tour. I consider myself a pretty good judge of cheesecake and this was by far the best I have ever had! Jon Galgos from Basque Tours (we used his professional guide services earlier in our stay) had given me a list of several restaurants with the "speciality" of each. We are forever grateful for this recommendation. If you go to San Sebastián do not miss this delicacy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kwilly1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
410 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“delicious cheesecake”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

La Viña was appropriately the last stop of our outing with San Sebastian Pintxos Tours. Known for their exceptional cheesecake, La Viña certainly delivered. Flavorful with a slightly caramelized exterior from the baking, but with a lighter, mousse-like interior. We washed that down with some Patxaran (a Basque liqueur made from sloe berries -- endrinas in Spanish) and Pedro Ximénez and called it a night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sazeracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most tasty and fluffy cheesecake ever tasted!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place not only has a fantastic atmosphere but it's specialty cheesecake is so delicious, you will go back for more (we did!)

The bar staff are cheerful and efficient and many people come and go while you eat your food.

A memorable place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kym-and-Dan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vina also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to La Vina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing