We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Mimo San Sebastian tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Mimo San Sebastian
from $145.20
More Info
from $69.70
More Info
from $156.80
More Info
Reviews (1,696)
Filter reviews
1,696 results
Traveler rating
1,618
66
6
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,618
66
6
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pintxo hunting cooking class pintxos tour cooking school food and wine first night old town pintxos bars guide eli basque cooking cheesecake the kitchen veal cheeks pintxo tasting new friends tapas small group
Filter
Updating list...
1,378 - 1,383 of 1,696 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I just came back from a short trip to San Sebastian with my boyfriend and even though I had been to SS a few times before I decided to give San Sebastian Food a try to make the trip more special.... all I can say is WOW. Eli our guide on the Pintxo's Galore tour was amazing and she made it for us! I can't recommend this highly enough to anyone, even if you have been to San Sebastian before. Congratulations to Jon and his team!

Thank TwinkyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanSebastianFood, Owner at Mimo San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2015

Dear TwinkyLondon,

It is so wonderful to read a review like yours. Thank you for your kind words regarding Ei. We are so happy that you decided to join us on our pintxos tour even if you are already a pintxos pro.

Best regards,
Jon Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I had read about San Sebastián Food in Rick Steve's guide book (I always travel with Rick as he has such excellent and dead on recommendations) and I was not disappointed! My niece and I stopped in to inquire about the tours and classes (which we unfortunately didn't have time for), and their picnics. First off, Susan and the other staff were so incredibly friendly and helpful - even went so far as to give us local shopping recommendations for my niece. Susan asked us what type of food we liked, what we were interested in trying and then made recommendations. She also asked up front about our budget and where we were taking the picnic. Ultimately they put together such an amazing array of food, wine, dessert and all the plates, glasses and utensils needed. Highly recommend and will definitely try for one of their classes/tours if I can make it back to San Sebastián. Thank you Susan and team!

1  Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanSebastianFood, Owner at Mimo San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2015

Dear Leigh P,

Thank you for sharing your review of our picnic basket. It is so fulfilling to hear such high praise for our staff as well. We are so pleased we could help you with food and shopping recommendations in San Sebastian.

Best regards,
Jon Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked the "Pintxos Galore" tour, and it was totally worth it! Our guide, Augustin, took us to the best Pintxos bars in town. The food was AMAZING! We had Foie Gras, brochetas, veal cheek, cheesecake and lots of other delicious treats. Each was paired with a nice drink, too. Our group was very social, so we ended up staying out with our new friends and we went back to some of the places that we enjoyed the most on the tour either for seconds or to try something else. Highly recommend!

Thank ShellyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanSebastianFood, Owner at Mimo San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2015

Dear ShellyFoodie,

Thank you for recommending our pintxos tour. It is so wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your evening eating and drinking in good company.

Best regards,
Jon Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

San Sebastian is a food lover's paradise. Since we were visiting the city for the first time, we decided to take the Pintxos Tasting through San Sebastian Foods. We spent three hours with Augus who generously shared his knowledge of the area and the uniqueness of the San Sebastian food culture. It was an excellent introduction to the city and it its food and helped us with our week of planning. SSF ordered cars for us to travel to restaurant locations outside the city, organized a wine tour to the Rioja wineries and generally became a valuable resource for us. It was very easy to drop in to the store location and ask questions and find suggestions. We highly recommend San Sebastian Foods and the whole team who work very hard to make all visitors love the city.

1  Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanSebastianFood, Owner at Mimo San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2015

Dear Marlene S,

Thank you for sharing your recommendation of San Sebastian Food. It is so rewarding to how impressed you were with our staff and our experiences. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Best regards,
Jon Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A long awaited girl's weekend away was centred around a Pintxos tour followed by the Pintxos cooking class the next day. Between the three of us we have done courses in Thailand, India, Luxembourg, France, Morocco - and love food - so to be in a foodie haven like San Sebastian was a dream come true. Sadly, the experience with SSF did not live up to the press hype or expectations of being able to whip up a few exciting pintxos dishes when we returned to our respective countries. Whilst the quality of the Pintxos on the tour was exceptional - very little colour was added by the guide, and at the end of the day we felt it was really overpriced, and we could have wandered around the old town ourselves for a similar experience at a fraction of the price.

The cooking course was extremely disappointing - we did not come away having prepared even one pintxos item from start to finish, never mind a range of pintxos. As one fellow cook commented: he learnt to chop onions! The setting is spectacular - but San Seb Foods was disappointing, over priced and did not match the high expectations set by a brilliant web site and good marketing.

4  Thank JLM_Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanSebastianFood, Owner at Mimo San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2015

Dear JLK08,

Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the tour nor the class we offered you. However, it is of some comfort to know you thought the location was spectacular and that you thought the quality of the pintxos on the tour was exceptional.

I am pleased to say we now have a brand new cooking school in San Sebastian which is a purpose built space for cooking enthusiasts. This offers us all the requirements we need to make an unforgettable experience for our guests, not only with great ingredients but hands on cooking which you lacked in your previous experience.

We hope we can welcome you back in San Sebastian in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Best wishes,
Jon

Jon Warren Managing Director & Founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews