We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great pension!”
Review of Pension AB Domini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension AB Domini
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a great pension!”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

First of all, the location of the pension is excellent - it´s in the middle of the charming and very lively old town near restaurants, tapas bars, shops etc. Even the beach is just a short walk away. Central location (at least in this case) means noisy nights, but it didn´t bother us and it wasn´t THAT noisy anyway. The pension itself has a trendy decor, the rooms are tidy and well kept. The little balcony had a view to the street and old town; you even saw a bit of ocean when you turned your head right!

There´s no breakfast at the pension but there´s a small fridge in the room as well as tea (and "coffee") making facilities. This was the first time we didn´t have our own bathroom (we prefer hotels although we are young), but we survived. The bathroom was just across the corridor and it was seldom occupied.

There was two women at the reception during our stay: the other was unpleasant and weird and spoke no English at all, the other one was friendly and helpful. Restaurant tips: we recommend A Fuego Negro and Casa Vergara for tapas BUT avoid Restaurant Egosari at all costs. The restaurants recommended by staff are very very touristy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennikup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
39
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here for 8 nights as our base. Literally 30 sec from 31 de Agosto so not far to go for awesome tapas.

We stayed in a double room with bathroom, but most of the other rooms share a bathroom.

This is a small pension with around 5 rooms. The lovely ladies at the desk will help you out with places to go and maps, a nice personal touch.

Free wi-fi, small fridge and a kettle, but this is by no means a hotel. Don't come here expecting room service - but why would you, with so much food close by?

This is our second stay here, and if you have a car there is safe underground parking nearby on Alameda Boulevard for 22E.

We hope to return here again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Beat, France
Level Contributor
372 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

What a fantastic location, right in the middle of the old town - close to the rocky cliffs and the atlantic on one side and all the little shops, tapas bars, restaurants and beaches on the other side.
Hard to locate initally - you go in the building and up some stairs, into a little old lift to the 2nd floor and turn right and hey presto - you are there.
Lovely rooms with balconies overlooking the town, everything you need for a great stay.
No parking - have to use the municiple parking but only 5 minute walk away but a little pricey but worth it to spend such a great time in a great city in a great room.
Owners very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScooterJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed in an en-suite double at Pension AB Domini for a long weekend in early June and had a fabulous time!

A minor problem with the shower when we first arrived led to our price of our first night's stay (80 euros) being refunded. We though this was an incredibly generous gesture seeing as we arrived earlier than the advertised check-in time (on the off chance our room would be ready) and the shower was fixed within 10 minutes of us getting there!

The Pension only has 4 or 5 rooms, only 2 of which are en-suite. Our room was rather small but a number of considerate touches made us feel comfortable... a small empty fridge in which to store all our foodie purchases, a pin-code safe for our valuables, a hairdryer, toothpaste, a pocket guide to the City's pinxto bars... Our room and bathroom was cleaned, and towels and linen changed, daily.

Some of the staff speak no English whatsoever but if you need something whilst they are on duty they can call what we presumed to be the owner who will translate between you via the phone. Everyone we dealt with was very friendly and they looked after our bags on our last day after we had checked out (leaving us to enjoy our last afternoon in San Sebastian before our flight home).

Overall - would highly recommend this place if you're looking for good value, clean and well-equipped accommodation in the heart of the old town. The only downside was that it got quite noisy on Friday and Saturday nights (only until about 1am / 2am), but as we'd only just rolled in ourselves it didn't bother us too much.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CasaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
Pension Edorta
Pension Edorta
#16 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parma Hotel
Parma Hotel
#17 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.1 mi away
Buenavista
Buenavista
#32 of 74 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pension San Juan
Pension San Juan
#55 of 74 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension Joakina
Pension Joakina
#6 of 74 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Goiko
Pension Goiko
#64 of 74 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension AB Domini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension AB Domini

Property: Pension AB Domini
Address: San Juan 8 - 2 Dcha, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension AB Domini 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in San Sebastian's Old Town - A short walk away from beachs (la Concha and Zurriola Beach) and the Kursaal Congress Palace - Next to La Bretxa Market, San Telmo Museum and Urgull Mountain. At Ab Domini you are going to enjoy an environment that is exceptional and places with special emphasis on the details. We are near from the best pintxos (tapas) bars an restaurants of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension AB Domini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing