We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No aircon in summer”
Review of Pension Garate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Garate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“No aircon in summer”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I am sad to rate this place a 3 as the only real issue with it was the lack of aircon - but in summer that is a pretty big issue.
My partner and I had the worst nights sleep both nights we were there. The room was so hot, we left the doors open and were kept awake by drunks chanting in the street all night and all morning.
Aside from that, location is great, very short walk to the beach and to old town. Service was great, the girl who checked us in was very helpful and friendly and spoke great English.
The rooms were small but comfortable, bathroom was modern, shower big with good water pressure.
WIFI wasn't working when we first arrived but after our siesta it was working fine.
I would have enjoyed this place so much more with aircon or at least with a fridge to keep drinks cool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ari1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    68
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
132
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location- right near the beach and close to old town, however the one and only downside (apart from the price) was a complete lack of any cooling mechanisms! When its +35 degrees outside, you want to come back to some AC, instead our room was hotter than it was outside!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I came here with a girl friend and we stayed here 2 nights. I am a simple and easy traveler who usually sleeps in hostels and she is a very picky traveler who sleep in 3 or 4 star hotels. We were both very satified with the place. I don´t know if the pricing is this reasonable all year round, but it was acceptable to me (60€ per night). The place was extremely clean and while the rooms weren´t huge it was spacious enough. Our room was two single beds and the "couch" looked like it could have been a pull out. The weather was neither hot nor cold so we didn´t need a heater or air conditioner (not sure if either are available). The shower had perfect pressure and temperature. There was complimentary tea and coffee in the room, towels, bath gel, and a hair dryer. I don´t know if all beds are the same, but ours was memory foam! The only possible complaint I can think of is during the high season, if there are noisy guests, you might be able to hear them because the walls are thin. I generally sleep through anything and only heard a tiny bit of noise in the night before falling asleep and early in the morning. My friend said she can hear the conversation clearly in the next room.

Location wise it is extremely easy to find from the train station (about a 10 - 15 minutes walk), there´s a bus to and from the bus station (15 - 20 minutes drive, bus #26 & 28), close to the center (5 minutes walk), and close to the beach (5 - 10 minutes walk). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geniusbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great location, great price, clean beds. For someone who just wants a nice place to sleep and doesn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room this place is perfect.

Person at the front desk speaks good English

and of course San Sebastian is beautiful.

only downside is thin walls.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The most important part for me,is a small boutique Pension close to Playa De La Concha .. By the way it was very clean and the service was great. Before booking the room try to choose the room with sea view with balcony..so that you can view the sunset :) It feels like you are at home...At night, you can easily reach old town by walk..My choice and recommend there for you..

Room Tip: Choose the room with balcony and have a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckorayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The pension is spotless, well positioned and the staff are amazingly helpful. They do not all speak English but that's not a problem. They even managed to sort some tickets to a Barcelona football game which was on locally. I will stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CatNoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

San Sebastian is beautiful and the hotels are expensive so we decided to try a pension. The location was perfect, the owner very helpful. The room was adequate but very clean. Bathroom tiny but amazing water pressure in that shower. Most of the TV channels were from France which was interesting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
#15 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#22 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,642 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Garate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Garate

Property: Pension Garate
Address: San Martin 54 - 1er piso, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Garate 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an example of double room superior at Pensión Gárate, Donostia - San Sebastián ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Pension Garate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing