We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid,sound,predictable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Sebastian
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The old adage holds that to get any more you have to pay a lot more.No nonsense,safe and what you would expect.Usual accutriments in the quite small bedroom.Air conditionbing was switched off so the easing of the temperature was a window opening job with traffic noise.You pays your money,you takes your choice !

Breakfast was de rigeur as the other street options only opened after 10 o'clock.Eat in and pig out and for what it costs,it's worth it.Skip lunch.Yes it is a four star but now looking a little jaded.however the opposition,if considered better,costs more.

Room Tip: Only matters if the A/C is swithched off.Traffic noise is intrusive where ever you are in the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mncrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaVO, Director Comercial at Hotel San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in San Sebastian. We are sorry that your experience wasn’t as good as you expected. We take into account your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 286 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

this hotel is a little dated but rooms are spacious and very clean. this hotel is close to the beach - about a 5 min walk and a half hour walk into the old town...
Staff where great and helpful. i asked to change rooms as one side of the hotel is on a busy road and i thought it was a little noisy.
Breakfast i gave a miss - didnt think it was value for money so i just went to the cafe in the hotel - good coffee and nice food.
could not believe how cheap wine was at this hotel. 1.5 euros cheaper than a soft drink.
I would stay here again.. great value for money - i was on my own and i found this hotel so reasonable

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angplantzos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaVO, Director Comercial at Hotel San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for staying at Aránzazu Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was very clean and two blocks from the beach. It's about a half hour walk to the historic area. Some reviews said the hotel looks dated but I found it to be quite nice and quiet. Our room was on the third floor and we had no noise issues. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilviaVO, Director Comercial at Hotel San Sebastian, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for staying at Aránzazu Hoteles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very much enjoyed my stay at the San Sebastian hotel. The room was a very good size - large, desk, minibar, good amenities, fast internet, the windows could all be opened offering a great view to the sea and mountains. I found the position perfect. The hotel garage is next door (you need to leave your key at reception and they move the cars around), I enjoy walking so for me the 20-30 minute walk to the center was enjoyable. Especially as you can walk all the way along the 'esplanade' offering perfect views of the island and the city (town).

I booked via venere.com and got a good deal. Hotels in San Sebastian are more expensive than anywhere else it seems but I thought the price I paid was fine for the hotel.

There are small restaurants and bars not far from the hotel if you don't want to eat where all the tourists are. I would be happy to stay at the hotel again.

The only thing I could point out is that there are only 1 or 2 English channels (BBC) and one German Channel (SAT1). The rest was Spanish TV - makes sense you're in Spain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zullli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was surprised how expensive this hotel was. But it is located a block away from the beach and a fair old walk to the old town. (At least 30-40 mins)

Rooms not big
But ok
Had everything you would expect.
Parking underground a further 17 euros And I night stay in early September was surprisingly expensive.
But it was OK
Staff were OK
Not sure I would return. Expensive for what it was. I was wondering how it got so many stars
But neither can I complain
But there are probably much nicer ones nearer the old town and the port with a lot more buzz

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank frenchabroadFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located a block from the beach. Very nice old school hotel, rooms are not big, but very comfortable with a balcony. The staff is very friendly and know the area well.

The staff can direct you to a bike rental location a block away and get a discount for you. It's the way to go in San Sebstian, very nice bike routes and nothing is too far away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I agree with all positive reviews about this hotel: rooms spacious and clean, beds are confortable, neighbourhood is quiet, the old town is 30 minutes walk, and Ondarreta beach is 10 min away. That's not the main beach, it's La Concha, which is more like 15 min walk. So I would recommend this hotel if you're planning to include a bit of sea and sun in your stay. I did not find the staff rude, just plain unmotivated and not interested in excelling in their job. Breakfast is ok, but not really worth paying the extra money if not already included.

The only thing that I might underline and I am not sure if I read it in a review is about the garage: there is no lift from the garage to the ground floor, so if you have heavy luggage, I'd drop it off at the hotel entrance, and then park the car. There are also no allocated parking lots, you drop off the keys at the entrance and rely on them to move the car in case it's blocking another car. If you're squeamish about strangers driving your car, than do as suggested and park the car outside, it's a safe neighbourhood.

Room Tip: The three junior suites have solariums, but aren't oriented beachwards, which means the views ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,786 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#11 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
970 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#23 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
813 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Sebastian

Address: Av Zumalacarregui 20, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $87 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Sebastian 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Sebastián stands in the privileged district of Ondarreta just a few minutes from the beach. It has recently been renovated and offers its guests a host of modern facilities.The hotel has a total of 90 attractively decorated rooms equipped with every amenity for your comfort.The Ondarreta Café-Restarant offers you a range of gastronomic options, from sandwiches and mixed dishes to a delicious à la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing