We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and near the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel San Sebastian
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and near the beach”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel was very clean and modern and the room was very nicely furnished. The bathroom was large, very clean with loads of towels and toiletries. Although on a main road the room was very quiet. The beautiful beach is a couple of minutes away. Down side-no good restaurants near by. The old town is about 30 minutes walk away, but you can walk along the beach. Parking under the hotel was quite expensive but really handy. Breakfast rather expensive and nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kafrin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    140
    79
    8
    6
See reviews for
67
97
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family visited San Sebastian for a week in early July. This is a nice hotel located in a quiet area. It is only a 5 minute walk to the beach and promenade where you can take a leisurely stroll to the old town. Alternately the bus stops across the street and can take you there. There is a small restaurant in the hotel. I would only recommend for breakfast as the menu is limited and service was very slow. There is a market across from the hotel where you can shop for food and beer/wine. The rooms in the hotel are adequately furnished and have a small fridge which is handy for keeping a few things handy. Overall a pretty decent place and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James2559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel as it was quite close to the beach without being too pricey, on the scale of San Sebastián which is an expensive place to stay at. We weren't sorry. Although it is a good twenty minutes walk to the centre and old quarter it is a very pleasant walk and we were happy to make it. However on our way back we just hopped on the 5 bus and after a five minute bus ride we were back at the hotel.
It is a five minute walk from the funicular and a 10 minute walk from combs of the wind.
No breakfast though and as they charge 16 Euro for it we just went to nearby Vinoteca and breakfasted there.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Miki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Never would i stay here ever again !Simply the rudest staff ive ever encounted !!! Unhelpful, surly, even asking for a taxi was too much ! Quite unbelievable ! I hope managment step up and train their staff to at least smile and acknowledge their guests in a welcoming pleasant way. BUT I BET THEY WONT !

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I really liked staying here for so many reasons. Here are a couple:
1. Hotel is in impeccable condition. Not sure if they just renovated, but the place is stocked with new furniture, clean carpets, marble walls, and white-as-snow bed sheets (literally, the cleanest sheets that I can slept in for a while!).
2. Location, location, location. We were originally going to stay in the Old Town, but I'm really glad that we made the change. The West end of the beach where Hotel San Sebastián is located is much more romantic and quiet. To walk to old town just stroll along the beach - day or night, it's a beautiful thing to do, and it only takes about 25 minutes. The beaches here are totally safe!
(If you're looking to party though, probably not a good idea to stay here. The walls are pretty sound proof if you do decide to get a little wild.)
3. There's a supermarket right next door. We didn't pay for their breakfasts because we just crossed the street, bought everything that we wanted, and ate it in our room or on the beach. It's a budget way to enjoy your morning meal! The supermarket is giant and has pretty much everything you've ever dreamed of, including coffee, to-go!
4. Room service. We ordered a couple of sandwiches and WOW...they were amazing! First of all, you can taste from the ingredients that nothing from the box was used to make them. I got the Habanera sandwich and it was fantastic. I took pictures of it, that's how delicious it looked (and tasted)! I've had sandwiches before, being a Canadian where sandwiches are pretty staple food, but the room service sandwiches at Hotel San Sebastián are different.
5. Staff. Everyone from the receptionist to the cleaning lady to the porter was ultra nice. You can tell that these people are proud to be doing their job and they make sure that they do it well. We used English the whole time and it was no problem at all!

Overall, I really loved my stay here, and my mom and dad did as well. If you're going for a couple of days (we were there for 6 nights), I would strongly recommend that you stay here!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Airene998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalong, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Rooms were old and the breakfast was WAY overpriced and crap. Location was good if you dont like to be near anything touresty. You need to walk at least 35 mins to get to a decent restaurant. (I actually didnt mind this) And in this location you can find a bar to get 3 wines and a pack of chips for 4Euro. Not bad! It honestly had a Businessy feel to it. And no pool and the bar they have there the Green Bar was full of 60 year old nannas LOL.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisJessly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I just recently stayed here for 2 days (July 14 - July 16). It is in a great location; 5 min walk to the beach and 15 min walk to the main town (even though it's a little far from town, the walk was nice along the beach- we didn't mind it after eating dinner). The room was spacious and very clean. The staff was very very helpful and knowledgeable. They helped us book our dinner reservation for the one nights and when all the train times were booked for us to head to Barcelona, they helped us search for plane flights and what airport to was best to go out of.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#20 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
Tryp San Sebastian Orly Hotel
#22 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
778 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#9 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Sebastian

Property: Hotel San Sebastian
Address: Av Zumalacarregui 20, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Sebastian 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Sebastián stands in the privileged district of Ondarreta just a few minutes from the beach. It has recently been renovated and offers its guests a host of modern facilities.The hotel has a total of 90 attractively decorated rooms equipped with every amenity for your comfort.The Ondarreta Café-Restarant offers you a range of gastronomic options, from sandwiches and mixed dishes to a delicious à la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing