We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel in a great city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria 7

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria 7
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice hotel with a kitsch movie-theme. We stayed in a double room with a great king-size bed, very comfortable. The rooms were quite large, modern and stylish. The hotel is a bit from the old town, either a 20 minute walk, or take bus 26 or 28 for a short ride. Parking on the street is not to recommend since you have to top up every 90 minutes. The hotel garage costs 17€ for 24 hours, which is at least cheaper than downtown that will set you back 20-25 instead.

We didn't have the breakfast, but the hotel bar was great with loads of pinxtos for a very reasonable price.

Nice place, we would go back for our next visit in San Sebastian.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blipp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    647
    111
    25
    9
See reviews for
175
758
50
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Didcot
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I don't usually spend the time to rate hotels where I have had at least a decent experience. However, Astoria 7 was so good that I thought it was worth making a notable exception.

I stayed here for a weekend in November 2012 for the San Sebastian Marathon. I primarily picked the hotel because of its location. It is literally a two minute walk from the bus station which connects directly to Bilbao Airport (more about the buses later). Despite this, there is no noise from the bus station, or the main road which runs parallel to the hotel - indeed the entire hotel is suprisingly calming and peaceful. The ticket offices for the two main bus companies are literally across the road, and are open in the small hours of the morning. The hotel is a 15 minute stroll to the town centre, 20 minutes to the old town, and 10 minutes (in the opposite direction) to Anoeta Stadium. In the direction of the stadium, you will find what bars more catering towards the locals (especially football fans) so if you want something more authentic than touristy stuff (and if your Spanish is to a decent standard) head that way instead of into town. The hotel is also five minutes walk to Amara train station, which also has a metro station (often not mentioned in San Sebastian guides) which connects both sides of the town. There are a few convenience stores and cafeterias nearby that are open late and on Sundays (a lot of stores and cafes are closed on Sundays, even in the main tourist drag).

The hotel is themed around cinema and movies, and the hotel is tastefully furnished to a modern and high standard to stick with this theme. There is subtle movie soundtracks playing in the public areas (reception, drawing room, breakfast room) I was struck by entering the hotel and the room how spotlessly clean it was. The rooms themselves are also named after actors (I got the Kevin Costner room on the 9th floor)! The room I had (905) had a balcony overlooking a quiet street and contained a reasonably comfy bed, great bathroom with rain shower and floor heating. Toiletries are supplied and replaced every day. I wasn't bothered about using the gym given I was running a marathon, but I checked it out and it was fairly basic, but adequate for a few nights stay. However, if you enjoy jogging, you may as well run outside in San Sebastian as there are a lot of areas to run in the city, and traffic is minimal. WIFI is complementary in all the hotel, including rooms, and there are also two internet terminals located in the drawing room (which also contains an array of books and DVDs, which I think you may be able to borrow to watch in your room). The breakfast is of a standard I would expect for such a hotel, and the breakfast room never felt too busy or crowded. All that is missing is a pool and spa.

I mentioned the buses. One company, PESA, has a monopoly on the route from Bilbao Airport to San Sebastian. The cost (one-way, no return tickets are available) was €16.50 and is cash only (both at the airport and in San Sebastian), and takes 70 minutes. If you decide to travel to Bilbao for the day to San Sebastian, PESA charge around €11 for a direct service which takes 70 minutes. Another company, ALSA, operate from the neighbouring office in San Sebastian and charge €7. However, the journey stops in towns between the two destinations and takes 100 minutes. It should be noted that you are expected to put your luggage onboard the PESA buses yourself, whereas the ALSA drivers will load and unload your bags for you. What I would recommend doing (as I did) is getting the direct PESA bus to Bilbao and the ALSA bus back to San Sebastian as some of the scenery on the ALSA bus that you will see on the way back is astounding, though you unfortunately don't get the time to stop and take pictures! ALSA buses also have complimentary WIFI whereas PESA buses do not, so I found this pretty useful for catching up on email for some of the journey. It is worth noting that the ALSA company accept credit cards at the Termibus depot in Bilbao. It should be noted that the buses are faster than trains for getting between cities, roads are very quiet and the buses appear to be very punctual.

Room Tip: Higher floors appear to be the quieter ones judging from other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ScottPJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here in April, lovely modern and clean, close to the bus station from Bilbao and a short bus ride/walk in to town and all the pintxos bars. Enjoyed the Hollywood theme. We only found out on the last evening (too much eating out) that the hotel restaurant was also excellent. Reasonable set price menu with a half bottle of wine per person.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

this is a quirky hotel with a movie star theme as apparent upon entrance. It was developed from a 7 screen cinema
called the Astoria. My room was decent size, comfortable & clean with a good wifi connection. Breakfast was pretty good & the
reception service was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I echo what has been said before. It's a great hotel, with a fun movie star theme (we stayed in the Quentin Tarantino room for two nights).
The rooms are quite large & clean, featuring a king-sized very comfortable bed. The bathroom is also large with all the things you would expect, including a rain shower & a selection of very nice toiletries.

Breakfast was included in our rate & included a continental buffet, plus a hot dish ordered from a short menu. We didn't bother with the hot dish so i can't comment on that, but the buffet was good & enough to tide you over until you hit your first tapas bar at lunchtime.

Front desk staff are helpful & have a list of all the best places to eat in the old town (after all, that's why you go to San Sebastian).

The location is ok. It could be closer to the old town (it's a 15 minute walk to the town centre - as others have said & I wouldn't really call it a picturesque walk). Other than walking, the hotel is on 3 bus routes & so it's very easy to take the bus to/from the town for a couple of Euro each. Or, if you are heading home after midnight when the buses have stopped, the hotel is within the distance covered by the taxi flag-fall (i.e. nothing more than flag fall to pay).

If you have a car, the parking in the hotel is quite expensive at €15/day, and you can park outside in the metered zone. These meters are also quite expensive, & inconveniently, you can only buy parking tickets for a short amount of time (90 mins, I think). So you need to keep topping up the meter which is very inconvenient. Meter parking is free after 7pm & all day on Sunday (and during the daily lunch break).

We booked directly through the hotel two days before arriving & paid an average of €167/nt incl tax. We will stay here again on our next visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kram3474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

San Sebastian itself was a revelation, what a nice way to see Spain without the opackage holiday set! The Pinxto bars and scenary is just fantastic!
The Astoria 7 is a very nice hotel too, it is a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of SS but is not an unpleasant walk and is very close to the bus station which has a direct route to the airport.
Room service is good, rooms are well appointed and you havbe everything you need. The cafe attached to the hotel is also very handy to chill out and take in the atmosphere of the place.
All in all would highly recommend the Astoria7 and I hope it is available when I next visit San Sebastian

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a new, clean, and stylish hotel about a 15 minute walk from the old town. The staff were very helpful, and friendly despite the film festival adding to the hotels workload, The rooms were first class (I slept with Susan Sarandon). the movie theme added to the already very professional ambience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metokas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.4 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#8 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria 7

Property: Hotel Astoria 7
Address: Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 7 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbolic Astoria Cinema in San Sebastián has been rebuilt to house the city's first contemporary styled hotel. The Astoria7 offers a unique decor. Each of the 102 rooms is individually dedicated to personalities, actors, actresses or directors, who have attended the San Sebastián International Film Festival ever since it first edition in 1953. The owners of the Astoria7 are renowned film experts that have chosen to pay tribute to this cultural event which has had such an important impact on the city of San Sebastián. Located on the corner of Avenida Sancho el Sabio, the Astoria7 is only a 15 minute walk from the main commercial and tourist sites of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Astoria 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria 7 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing