We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Astoria 7

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Astoria 7
Certificate of Excellence
Turkey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Astoria 7 for 3 nights and everything was perfec for us. Each room is decorated with picture of a star who visited san sebastian film festival. We stayed at 8th floor but it was still noisy because of bus line. I loved everything about this hotel nothing to complain. You can hire DVD movie and watch at your room. And there is a coffee open until late and you can take your tea and coffee and drink in your room.
Location is not in the city center but just 10 minutes to walk to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choufleuris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    715
    119
    29
    10
See reviews for
204
845
53
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting San Sebastian. Hotel is clean and tidy and is film character orientated. Rooms were pretty basic but bed was large and comfy. Pretty much what you expect from a city centre hotel.
It is a 15 minute walk to the old town however the bus runs from opposite the hotel and is vey cheap. Gets you there in about 5 minutes, however the walk down the river is especially nice on an evening.

The hotel does have a gym located on the top floor which is well equipped.

Overall good hotel and at 300 euro for 3 nights was excellent value and a lot cheaper than hotels closer to the Old Town. Parking at the hotel is expensive but there is little other option.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ian Mackelln room on the fourth floor. Good sized bed and comfy, room was a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We came into San Sebastien early and Maria stashed our luggage, arranged for a third person in the room (when we came back as our son had decided to join us on this day trip), made us feel very welcome, gave us directions to the nearest mobile shop where I was able to get my iPad, phone ready for Spain (with Vodaphone... excellent people), gave us directions to the beach area, and suggestions for items to see in San Sebastien.

The room was above expectations, clean, comfortable, great bathroom and shower.

We did not use any of the other facilities, but the evening staff directed us to a good restaurant area within a short walk of the hotel.

The bus stops right at the hotel, and, when I was in a rush, Maria called me a taxi while getting my luggage out of the back so I could retreive my passport...

We were a 15-25 minute walk from the beach (I know, I did it three time, once at a very quick pace) and 10 minutes from old San Sebastien.. or at t=least our end.

Room Tip: Unable to make recommendations here. We were in the Elizabeth Taylor room and that made my lady happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c-programmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Excellent and stylish hotel. Little far from the center but close to the bus central. Helpful staff and nice pintxos in the hotel bar. Would stay there again if I return. Rooms were clean and spacious. All the rooms are assigned a famous movie person. Breakfast was not included in the price but you can either have breakfast buffet in the restaurant or more simple breakfast in the hotel bar which I had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabrahamsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel Astoria 7 has flawless rooms which are all dedicated to one more or less known moviestar. The reception and breakfastroom/restaurant are also inspired by Hollywood stars. The breakfast was excellent and I truly recommend the 3 course meny in the restaurant for dinner (although San Sebastian have dozens of really good restaurants down in the old town). The drawback for this hotel is the price (a little bit pricy given the location and very pricy for car parking), you have to walk 20-25 minutes to get to the old town and lastly the internet in the room was very unstable. We complained, but they did not get it fixed. All in all I would recommend the hotel, but would consider staying closer to the old town if we go back to wonderful San Sebastian.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
375 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a nice triple room...great bathroom and shower. Beds were very comfortable...my niece said even her pull out bed was good! The bus stop is right outside the door so very convenient..all the action seems to be in old town and by the beach so we would stay down in that area next time

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Schus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our favourite hotel on our recent trip to France/Spain probably helped by the fact that we loved San Sebastian. As with many things in life whether you like a hotel or not is entirely subjective and I completely disagree with the previous comment that this is like a multinational chain. Rooms are spacious with really nice big bathrooms - we were in the Melanie Griffith Room (room 810) which overlooked the central courtyard so was nice and quiet. Staff were lovely and the bar, in common with most bars in the town, serves the biggest gin and tonics in the world! Really liked the guest lounge/library which had lots of interesting books on art/fashion/film. It is quite a long walk into the old town (20 mins or so) but there are 2 bus stops just outside the hotel. To be honest, after a day filling up on pintxos in one of the great bars in town, it's nice to have a walk back. The hotel has an underground car park which was perfect as we were touring in our own car. 18 Euros a day seemed a reasonable charge. Only one minor complaint - the coffee machine at breakfast is awful! The coffee out of it is lovely but it is too small and too slow for the number of people trying to use it and kept breaking down on both mornings we were there. Would stay here again as we're likely to revisit San Sebastian at some point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.4 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#8 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria 7

Property: Hotel Astoria 7
Address: Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 7 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbolic Astoria Cinema in San Sebastián has been rebuilt to house the city's first contemporary styled hotel. The Astoria7 offers a unique decor. Each of the 102 rooms is individually dedicated to personalities, actors, actresses or directors, who have attended the San Sebastián International Film Festival ever since it first edition in 1953. The owners of the Astoria7 are renowned film experts that have chosen to pay tribute to this cultural event which has had such an important impact on the city of San Sebastián. Located on the corner of Avenida Sancho el Sabio, the Astoria7 is only a 15 minute walk from the main commercial and tourist sites of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria 7 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing