We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Astoria 7

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Astoria 7
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Beautiful room, very quiet, very clean. Price was very reasonable given the quality of the room and hotel. Breakfast was included and was plentiful but not very exciting (but the oj and coffee were excellent). Staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. Location is a bit far from the center but otherwise pleasant; proximity to buses and taxis was a plus for us. Only drawback for me was the smoke detector directly above the bed that kept blinking all night long (two tiny red lights that indicated it was operative, I guess; didn't bother my wife but bugged me). We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Julie Christie room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    701
    119
    29
    10
See reviews for
198
832
53
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I came into town without a reservation and was accommodated in a lovely room with all the amenities of a 4 star hotel for a quick one night stand. I was able to catch a cab just across the way who took me all around the town so that my sightseeing could be accommodated. I love this town! I will be back - nothing wrong with this place - very comfortable rooms, beds and lovely baths.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank consolegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great ambience!! Neat, comfortable, artsy, and well locate. Few minutes walking to the beach, and place of interest. Good for couples or families too. Staff is friendly and very helpful. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YSF09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Found this place while walking down the street after arriving in San Sebastian by train. Got a decent deal for a 5 night stay. Clean room, decent sized shower, lots of charm actually. Hotel restaurant was pretty decent and the free breakfast was good. Downstairs lobby was very inviting and a good place to start or wrap up the day.

Cons were not many, had an ugly view toward the rear of the hotel. We were in the Melanie Griffith room which had a big picture of her above the bed and well, that was kind of weird.

A good value in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Clean and friendly staff - you expect these at this level of a hotel.
Breakfast is very average and they would not ask you if you would like to have anything from the kitchen such as eggs, bacon etc. So do make a request, if you wish to have some hot breakfast. They forgot to give us a wake-up phone call on one morning, so you should have your alarm clock ready just in case. Parking 16 16euro daily.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

My husband and I visited San Sebastian and stayed in the hotel for 2 nights in late November. We took the bus from France and the hotel was literally across the street from where the bus dropped us off.

The room was a great value. It was the nicest room for the least expensive price of our whole trip. I am not sure if this was due to time of year or not, as I know San Sebastian is a beach town.

The hotel had a nice cafe where we were able to grab a quick, late lunch upon our arrival.

The room was large and very clean. The bathroom was amazing. It was almost as good as my bathroom in the US!

I know some people commented on the location. It is about a 10 minute walk to the center of the city. Personally, it did not bother me, as I live in a large city and am used to walking places. And I find it nice to have a walk after eating a meal.

It was also very conveinent to catch the bus to the airport. The bus to the airport cost less than 3 Euros, whereas a taxi would have been about 35-40 Euros. The hotel location was perfect for arriving and departing town. Personally, I'd rather have the hotel be close and conveinent for arriving and departing town. I am more than fine walking when I am touring around and to and from dinner and don't have my suitcases for me.

The hotel had a very nice gym. I enjoyed a long workout both days I was at the hotel.

Another fun feature was that the hotel had a library of movies with DVD players in the room. I was fighting a cold, so didn't feel up to doing much, so we enjoyed movies one evening.

The hotel staff was very nice and spoke great English and French (the languages I speak). Our last night, they made a great dinner recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed in the Ursula Andress room during our stay here at the Astoria 7.
The clean and crisply designed room had a large black and white photo of Ursula hung above the bed and we felt well cared for under Ursula's comstant gaze :-)
This hotel really was terrific -- it's a former cinema that was converted to a hotel and all the rooms have a movie star name and theme -- sounds kitchy but in fact it's so tastefully done that it actually leaves you amused and charmed.
The staff was superlative and we received several very excellent dining tips from Adorre the head chef of the Astoria 7's cafe and restaurant.
The location is easy walking distance to the beach, the old town and the center and the local public transport buses run right out front. Another big plus was that the inter-city bus station is right across the wide street out front and we easily caught our bus to Bilbao from there -- couldn't have been easier ....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoEndBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.4 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#10 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#8 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria 7

Property: Hotel Astoria 7
Address: Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 7 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbolic Astoria Cinema in San Sebastián has been rebuilt to house the city's first contemporary styled hotel. The Astoria7 offers a unique decor. Each of the 102 rooms is individually dedicated to personalities, actors, actresses or directors, who have attended the San Sebastián International Film Festival ever since it first edition in 1953. The owners of the Astoria7 are renowned film experts that have chosen to pay tribute to this cultural event which has had such an important impact on the city of San Sebastián. Located on the corner of Avenida Sancho el Sabio, the Astoria7 is only a 15 minute walk from the main commercial and tourist sites of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Astoria 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria 7 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing