We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OWNER IS ABUSIVE and Rude and Takes Advantage of Tourists”
Review of Kaixo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaixo Hostel
Reviewed July 9, 2013

OWNER IS ABUSIVE - Me and a friend stayed here for what was supposed to be 3 nights last week and after our 2nd night the owner broke into our room at 10am unannounced and kicked myself and my friend out, another guy and a 19 year old girl who was travelling alone and had nowhere to go, for what he believes is a legitimate reason. So they are supposed to lock the kitchen at 11pm each night and at 11.15pm we went in and took some beers from the fridge which we had bought, a hostel worker was sitting in the kitchen and refused to let us take the beers, so we took the beers as the kitchen was still open. We then left the hostel making no noise and returned to sleep later that night making no noise. There were no complaints, but yet 4 of us were kicked out with nowhere to go. This hostel owner is rude, has no morals and kicks innocent girls out for no reason literally onto the street. I could not recommend avoiding this place any more!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Conor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 64 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is very clean! And modern. It's located in the middel of the city where all the bars and resturants are and between both of the beaches. the lady incharge is very kind and helpfull. The hostel is on second floor on one whole flat with kitchen and big rooms.
You can even rent surf boards at the hostel.
The only problem is to find the place. it's on the main street "san jary". when you come off the bus you go to the first city square you see and from there you keep going streight with the street for 100 m and you will see on your left a little sighn beside a normal door that says the name of the hostel with a phone number.
Very recomended!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yomhirshfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is like a modern, newly renovated apartment. More apartment/ hotel than hostel. Best hostel I've stayed in across the world! I actually went summer of 2011. The gathering area/ kitchen was the best place to meet people; I've made lasting friends here who I still talk to regularly and have visited in other countries and vice versa. A lot of privacy, peaceful atmosphere and good energy. I plan to stay here when I come back! Love this place :) good memories

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biennmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Good value by San Sebastian standards, which means twice what you'd pay in Bilbao or Pamplona. Fantastic location in the thick of the old town, where all the pintxos bars are, and only a few minutes from the beaches. It's a large, clean, slightly cramped flat with a choice of double and dorm rooms sharing a couple of bathrooms and a small kitchen. Owner Jon is useful, if you can find him. Otherwise, you might well find yourself hanging around in the cafe downstairs, trying to find a gap in the waitress' attention. Probably a 3.5/5.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Kaixo. The staff who we met (Martha) was extremely pleasant and helpful. The hostel is in an apartment, about 6 rooms sharing 2 bathrooms and one kitchen. The kitchen was a lovely communal area and had a nice feel to it. Plenty of cooking implements and closed from 2300-0800 to reduce noise. We had a twin room which was small but adequate. It had 2 separate safes and a rickety shelf to place items on - nowhere to hang towels. Well lit and with great photos of the local area on the wall (and throughout the apartment).

The downside was the bathrooms. We generally try to stay in rooms with private bathrooms and don't relish sharing with others, but 2 bathrooms (each one had a toilet, shower and basin) without additionally showers meant some waiting. There were no bathmats and nowhere for surfers to wash out their gear, which mean very wet floors for much of the time.

The hostel has a deal with the cafe downstairs with a discount for lunch and dinner which seemed reasonable. The food at the cafe was very good.

The wifi (included in the price) worked all the time and was fast.

We both slept well, but the rooms at the front overlook the street (pedestrian only but can be noisy till daylight) and the rooms at the back overlook a courtyard where one can hear the restaurant kitchen. The apartment itself is quite noisy (wooden floors and banging doors) so if you're a light sleeper you may consider this a problem.

Overall the stay was pleasant, but the provision of bathmats and hanging space for towels would increase the likelihood that I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in one of the double rooms at the hostel for 3 nights. Our welcome from the owner was pretty mimimal, although he did show us around the hostel and directed us to some useful information points (all whilst having a conversation on his mobile!!). We didn't really require much more than this however. The hostel is really laid back and a perfect size. It felt like home from home. The double rooms are very pleasant and quite airy and spacious for a hostel. The kitchen was excellent and the bathrooms were fine, although when the hostel was full, there was sometimes a wait to use the shower at peak times. The location is fantastic, although if you are planning on going to bed before 4.00am, take your ear plugs as its central location means that it gets very noisy at night, especially on the weekend. It did seem a little overpriced, but I think it's about average for San Sebastian. Anyway, if you go to the right bars you'll spend hardly anything on drinks and pinxos!!! In my opinion San Sebastian is quite possibly the most amazing city in spain and the Kaixo hostel contributed to this. I would definately return to the hostel, although I would take my ear plugs!!

Room Tip: all double rooms have balconies and are at the front of the hostel, so the noise level will be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiojaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The hostel was easy to find and about a 10 minute walk from the bus stop. It lives above the cafe owned by the hostel owner. Our room was lovely and clean with a very comfortable bed and balcony overlooking main street. Only downfall was there was nowhere to hang your clothes.. Its about a 5 minute walk to the beach. The manager was a little rude and not very helpful. The kitchen was great for cook ups and social time. The whole was small and nowhere really to hang out but your at the beach so no need to stay indoors. Internet was tempremental!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unklesnax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Record
Hotel Record
#13 of 52 in San Sebastian - Donostia
352 reviews
0 mi away
Pension San Juan
Pension San Juan
#68 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enjoy Comfort
Enjoy Comfort
#42 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Koba Hostel
Koba Hostel
#12 of 89 in San Sebastian - Donostia
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Goiko
Pension Goiko
#67 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Olarain
Olarain
#11 of 89 in San Sebastian - Donostia
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaixo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaixo Hostel

Address: San Juan 9, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 89 Specialty Lodging in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $40 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kaixo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Kaixo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing