We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE worst accommodation and service”
Review of Lolo Urban House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lolo Urban House
Reviewed September 16, 2013

ARRIVAL: Reception was filthy, they could't "decide" what our rate per night was, room was not ready, had to leave and return in 2 hours, returned and we were ignored for a while before one of the girls in reception walked (she was nearly running whilst we had all our bags) us to a totally different location, virtually threw the key at us and left.

ROOM: Filthy, sand and dirt and shopping labels on the floor, linen smelt as though it had been washed but left in the machine for 2 days before it was hung out, the fan was broken, the pillows were a piece of foam inside a pillow case, the doors were glass with bits of cardboard stuck to them as an attempt to make it 'private', the bed had about 5 springs sticking out and to top it off.. the door wouldn't lock.

LOCATION: Good, but with sooooooo many other options in the area, its not worth while. The accommodation is such poor quality, you would hear a pin drop outside on the street.

BATHROOM: Mold, door also wouldn't lock, no toilet roll, filthy, shower curtain fell off and smacked me right on the nose (scared the #$%! out of me!) and the shower hear was broken so you have to hold it up-right to use it.

SERVICE: Lost bookings, poor attitude, a manager that wouldn't show up, the lady at reception said "what do you want ME to do about it?" when I informed her the door to our room wouldn't close or lock... while the mayhem continued at reception one girl took 2.5 hours to clean the delightful goldfish tank while paying guests were left to arrange for a repair man to fix the lock on the door!

OVERALL: Stayed in plenty of backpacker joints over the years, this is THE WORST!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy.. rooms at the back smell like anchovies.. avoid this place all togethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeeDee111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

How can I put into words just how terrible this place is. Location wise it's great but the condition of the hostel is those of third world countries. The showers are filthy, the entire time we stayed there (5 nights) they weren't cleaned once!!! The floors were on an angle and the ceiling looked as though it was going to cave in on you at anytime, the wifi (like most hostels in Europe) works only when it wants to and the beds are so old you can feel the springs through them (I woke up every morning with spring indents on my side, not very nice to sleep on to say the least). The staff are friendly but useless and in terms of the security throughout the building, there is none so keep any valubles on you at all times!!! San Sebastián would have been a much better place to visit had we not stayed here, I would recommend finding a bridge to sleep under rather than staying here lol...

Also it is way overpriced for what it is, with all the money they charge you'd think they'd be able to tidy the place up!!! This is just my experience, depends what your into I guess...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very expensive for the condition and state of the hostel. At the time I stayed there one of the toilets was out of order, it had a used condom in it...shows the kind of people this place attracts. The bathrooms were also filthy, the cleaners would it seem to refuse to clean the showers. Rooms were fine, not overly secure but did the job.

I stayed here because it was recommended by Busabout, but i dont know why or how they recommend it. The staff were ok, they tried hard to help but most of them were new and knew little about San Seb.

Breakfast was simple but fine, Wifi on the other hand was TERRIBLE. Worst i have ever experienced. Every time you go to use it it drops out, then you cant get back on as everyone is on it...Frustrating!

Location is good, very close to the western Beach and into the old town perhaps a 5 min walk.

If you are looking to stay in San Seb do your research first!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked a "Deluxe" twin private room at this place because it was the Busabout recommended hostel. This place is horrendous. The "Deluxe" room we have is essentially a prison cell; actually I think you get more room in a prison cell. All of the furniture and rooms are old and mouldy and the walls are paper thin so you hear every single sound within the hostel and everyone else can hear what you're saying. The room wasn't even clean when we checked in. The wifi is intermittent at best. I wouldn't have minded if it was cheap, but it was 30 euros per night, definitely not value for money here. Will be writing something to Busabout.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freeballing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend and regret it tremendously. We have travelled for over 2 months and this is the worst hostel we have seen! Not to mention it was the dearest! The reception is so slow and so unorganised. Yet they had at least 4 workers in the office?! They could not find our booking and sent us away 4 times before we could even pay. We stayed in room 4 in Lolos which has the private rooms (3 or so beds in each room) and shared bathrooms. Lolos is terrible. The rooms are filthy with hairs everywhere, and the bathrooms are worse. The beds are uncomfortable and the linen looks like it has been used for decades. But if the bed doesn't keep you awake it will be the toilets that run all day and all night! However you will get peace from the running toilets when the lady who runs/"cleans" this floor stomps around, plays loud music and talks loudly at 3am and even 5am! For the amount we paid each night, and what we got was an absolute joke! We chose to ignore the other terrible reviews because we are travelling with Busabout and it is the recommended accommodation. Take my advice and stay somewhere (anywhere) else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burgs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had already prebooked this accommodation when I had read the reviews and heard from people who had already stayed. Needless to say I was not looking forward to it. Granted the hostel is old and run down. There is mould in the bathrooms, beds are small and the furniture is old and workout, however, it is liveable. You get clean linen. The bathrooms are not filthy and there is hot water, with minimal pressure, but you can manage here. Wifi is dodgy so don't expect to use it. The are plenty of cafe's nearby that supply wifi though. Location is great. In all, it served as a place to sleep and shower, the basic necessities. If anything it makes you get out and explore!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Sharnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Let's start with the only good thing: location, but not really.
Where to begin with the bad things. We arrived our 4 bed room in the end was a 6 bed room and we were charged the same. complained got back 2 euros per person?! The room smelled like vomit for the first half day. Complelty overprized even for the semana grande. Dirty bed sheats. Dirty bathrooms. Etc...just try to find something else San Sebastian is not that big, so even s bit outside should be fine. After all this and only half hour late check out we did not get back our key deposit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbear83de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.4 mi away
A Room In The City
A Room In The City
#1 of 87 in San Sebastian - Donostia
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,913 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension San Juan
Pension San Juan
#65 of 78 in San Sebastian - Donostia
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Record
Hotel Record
#13 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lolo Urban House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lolo Urban House

Address: Plaza Gipuzkoa 2, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 87 Specialty Lodging in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $25 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lolo Urban House 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most famous hostel in San Sebastian we are located in Plaza Gipuzkoa,2 in the very HEART of the city; a stones throw from the beach and old town.We now offer a large chill out area, access to kitchen. FREE: BREAKFAST, TEA&COFFEE, PASTA, INTERNET. We also have a honesty bar and board and bike hire.Great knowledgeable staff and lots of recommendations on places to go and things to do - don´t hesitate to ask us for anything you need! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lolo Urban House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lolo Urban House Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing