We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay - Well Located”
Review of Pension Altair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Altair
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay - Well Located”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This Hotel is actually two star, not what the name suggests. It was a complete surprise. Looks very modern. On the small side, but has everything you need. We located, good internet and comfortable sleep. Staff helpful.
When you arrive, you have to go to the first floor to check in. Bit confusing. Get on the lift and the Hotel reception on the right of the lift.
Well located to the centre of the old town, with plenty of places to eat. No breakfast available but not a problem.
Close to the beach and other attractions. San Sebastian is itself a wonderful place to visit. Loved it very much.
When you arrive, there is a taxi stand across the road you can unload your car. Be careful about parking, very expensive for public parking and the parking is restrictions are enforced.
I spoke to hotel staff about free parking - and with a 1.3 km walk parked free for the entire stay.
Up to you if you want to pay, I would rather walk and get parking free.

Room Tip: Parking can be obtained free. Ask at desk for location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    82
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
151
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
221 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Very nice clean place to stay but the rooms on the front (rooms 2 and 3 I think) can be noisy. We were there on the evening before May Day (a holiday) and so there were people in the street until 4.30am. Not bad but if you can get a room at the back irt would be quieter. The reception is on the first floor (second floor for Americans) but they have a elevator for heavy bags. We paid the high season rate (as advertised on their website) the first night but reverted to a lower rate the second night without us asking. More thoughtful than most! The young guy at the front desk was very helpful. If you plan an early departure you have to check out the night before as the desk does not open until 09.30!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Good place for the price. We usually stay in hotels, and were not sure what a pension might lack. Sure, there is no lobby or breakfast, and the rooms are pretty basic. But really, to sleep when traveling, this is fine. The beds are clean and comfortable, bath is new and clean, internet works great. Based on reviews, I requested a quiet room with an arch. I think this is impossible, since the arches are on the rooms which face the street, and those rooms are near the entrance. A nice man checked us in, and advised about parking (saved us 20e by telling us about free weekend street parking), restaurants, directions. He offered us a different room that might be more quiet, but we opted for the charm of the room with the arch, and the view to the street. There was a little bit of noise from the street, and from the entrance, but for the most part it was quiet, and we slept well. We did not usually buy the hotel breakfast anyway, because it is usually pretty expensive for what we eat, so not having the option did not bother us at all. I walked out in the morning to a lovely little cafe (Cafe Tal, take a left out the door, and a left at the church), and brought coffee and croissants back to the room. Parking is free on the weekend, so we parked on the street for free. We moved to another pension after one night because we wanted to be closer to the old town. The neighborhood of this hotel, Gros, has restaurants, and is interesting in its own way, but we found that the extra walk kept us from going back to the hotel to regroup when we might have liked to. I would recommend this pension.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamFNewOrleans_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We spent here two nights of a weekend escapada to San Sebastian.
VERY nice and polite people, helping with anything!!! The pension has rooms on the first and the second floor. There are only three on the second floor and more of them on the first floor. The point is that if the silence and privacy is very important for you, then you better try to get second floor. Also, on the second floor we got a double bed; on the first floor I think they have only twin beds. On the first floor the rooms have a bit nicer design as the windows have an arch form and they open to the street. This part of city, Gros, is not so touristic as Parte Vieja, so it's not noisy at all, but a street is a street, there are some cars and buses and garbage truck... On the second floor the windows open to a small inner patio, not nice but very quiet.

The rooms are quite small, but we didn't care, because we only spent there the night and had the shower in the morning. If you visit it in wintertime, don't worry if you find the heating cold when you enter: it seems like turned off when you leave the room (the keys are coded cards, so it makes it possible) and getting started when you are back, and heat up quickly. Everything is clean and we found our room tidied up when we returned by night. There is no breakfast, though you have many cafes and bakeries around.

It's a good place to stay when visiting San Sebasitan, totally recomended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergiusMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This pension is in a very good central location. An old building but the pension itself is totally restored with modern conveniences. Our (smallish) room had no view but was very quiet and warm (this was in February). The internet worked in the room. Good bathroom. The part-time (they were not always there) staff was spot-on with their dining suggestions. This pension does not offer breakfast, which is no biggie because there are like a million cafes, bakeries, pastry shops and bars on the street downstairs.

If you have a car, there are several parking lots within few blocks. (Beware that parking in central San Seb is not particularly hard but expensive, about $25 to $30 for a 24-hour period in a parking lot; street parking is expensive, limited, and aggressively regulated by parking police.)

Overall, it fit our needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was one of my favorite places I stayed during my trip to Spain. I arrived late at night, and had a little trouble locating the building. But, once I located it was greeted by a very pleasant gentlemen who spoke fluent English. Room was very clean with a modern decor and comfortable bed. Had a sitting room, bedroom and double balconies, along with plenty of storage space. Great location with food markets nearby and plenty of options for pintxos. Best pintxos I ate were at a location two blocks from the pension. Beach is three blocks away. Friendly and accomodating staff. WIFI works great here. As with any room with balconies on the street side, it can be somewhat noisy at night until the bars close. Only suggestion for this pension is to place a small refrigerator in each room. I loved San Sebastian and will definitely stay here again upon my return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a great place to stay, it was perfect to stay alone and would also be a great place for a couple or a small group if you got adjacent rooms. The owner is extremely nice and accommodating, and speaks English or Spanish or French to you, as needed! The room was very clean, nice balcony, simple but perfect. No breakfast but there are many cafes nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeresaSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
2,701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,636 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,508 reviews
1.8 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Iturriza
Pension Iturriza
#2 of 76 in San Sebastian - Donostia
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Altair

Property: Pension Altair
Address: Padre Larroca n. 3 Entlo. Dr., 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Altair Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing