We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Altair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Altair
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Stayed at the Pension Altair with friends for 5 nights earlier this month. I cannot fault the place on anything, the value for money and level of service was excellent. The rooms are spacious, modern and very comfortable. We were fortunate enough to get one of the rooms with the large Gothic style windows with balcony doors overlooking the street. The room was cleaned daily without fail with fresh sheets and toiletries replenished. The reception staff were nothing but pleasant and helpful. The location is also very good, slightly out of the centre in the Gros district of the city but it's only a 10 minute walk across the river to the city centre and the Old Town. The Old Town is a must for all visitors, a maze of tiny passages with literally hundreds of traditional Tapas and drinking bars. For value, service and cleanliness I would recommend the Pension Altair to anyone looking for accomodation in San Sebastian. An enjoyable stay was had by all!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manc_Ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    80
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
140
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

Location: 15min walk from Plaza de la Constitucion. Service: very good. However, be aware of the thin walls!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smell_the_earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

I traveled through Europe for six weeks during Sept-Oct 2010. Against that backdrop, I give this pension top marks within the category. The hotel is very basic with no frills. Given that, everything was wonderful. Staff was very helpful. Location was good, easy walking to sights. Parking was close by.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ichabod777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

Altair provides exactly what every pension should: value. It's not about luxury or amenities, but a clean and pleasant accommodation in a nice part of town, slightly off the tourist track, which is ideal in terms of noise and getting a feel for what everyday life is like in this magnificent small city. Staff was very friendly and helpful, as is just about everyone you meet on the streets, in shops, cafes and elsewhere. And why not? They live in a sophisticated city, yet it is a gorgeous beach town with ocean and river promenades. There is an obvious love of the outdoors, with runners, bikers, surfers and hikers enjoying the good life amidst the natural beauty of mountains and ocean, small villages and city night life. Altair gives you a decent sized room with the clean sheets and hot shower you need.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thisisdumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

This wasn't an easy place to find but once we did it was just fine. The pension is located in what appears to be a regular apartment building, but at least one floor is just the pension. We had an electronic key that got us in and out. The room was good sized and we had zero complaints about that. The front desk isn't always manned which could have been a problem if we'd arrived off hours. As it was everything worked out fine. No breakfast included, but there's a great cafe around the corner. The only downside is that it's a healthy walk to the old part of town and the beaches. It would have been nice to be a bit closer, but really that's the biggest complaint we had and it wasn't really anything.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed at Pension Altaír with a friend and really liked it. Would definitely stay there again. The rooms are decorated differently and in modern style. The bathroom has got a nice decor as well. We found our room spotless each day.
When we arrived no one was at the reception and we couldn't get into the room. But someone living in the same house called the owner and he/she sent his/her sister to open the room for us right away. Other than that the service was very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFtraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

This place is the best value accommodation I have ever stayed in. The room was spotless, very nicely decorated, a decent size, with a proper ensuite bathroom and in a great location. The staff were all really friendly & genuinely so-one staff member let me print off directions at no charge, another kindly phoned a taxi for us & another advised us on places to eat and things to do. The only downside was that the walls are a little thin-but Ive found this in every place Ive ever stayed-and the weird long pillow-however we figured out that if didn't move it, we both slept OK! Theres free internet, both WiFi & a PC for guests to use. If you're going to San Sebastian, you wont find a better option than here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sorchaspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.8 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Kursaal
Pension Kursaal
#2 of 76 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Altair

Property: Pension Altair
Address: Padre Larroca n. 3 Entlo. Dr., 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pension Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Altair Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing