We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Galerna Jan Edan

Galerna Jan Edan
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 7/21
8:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 7, 2018

The waitress was very good, but she was alone on the floor. We arrived first (a cold weeknight in March) so had wonderful service while we were alone. But she spent a lot of time, diligently, with the few other parties who arrived later so ideally she could have had some help.
Each dish was excellent and beautifully presented. Creative cuisine to the degree that meets my taste perfectly. Ingredients were never transformed so much that their flavor was unrecognizable. The salmorejo, pigeon and deserts were to die for. If I return to San Sebastián I will certainly return to this restaurant.
The price/quality rapport was great.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank TP768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 221 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2018

Wow, what a fantastic, unique eating experience. We thought this was an art gallery at first glance at the sign outside, and in some ways it was! The chef is certainly an artist! The food was sensational. Amazingly creative tastes (things we wouldn't have thought to serve together), artistic presentation, in a crisply decorated yet cozy setting, with super helpful staff. Not cheap by Spanish standards but unbelievably worth it.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank acehadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile

The food in Galerna is amazing, staff friendly and welcoming and all incredible value.

If you are visiting San Sebastián, and enjoy imaginative food you MUST eat here!

As others have said tuna with wasabi ice cream is fab, as is the passion fruit and brownie with apple and goats cheese ice cream.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank 71Mummy_of_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Lovely service and outstanding memorable meal. Creative but not fiddly and the stars of each dish were allowed to shine. My kids still want to know where the next acorn fed pork is coming from but none will compare to Galerna.
Recommended Basque wine a stunner and good value.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RobZeeFlozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic little restaurant! It's not fancy and probably doesn't have a Michelin star but oh my goodness, what amazingly inventive and delicious dishes. We loved them all.
The wine list is short but very good and the staff recommended a lovely wine which I'd never had before but really enjoyed.
Wonderfully enthusiastic and lovely staff who are passionate about everything they do. Can't recommend this place highly enough - I hope the team achieve great things because they deserve to.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galerna Jan Edan also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Galerna Jan Edan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing