We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ganbara

Ganbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was by far the best quality pintxos in San Sebastián. A small and bustling bar overflowing with pintxos, amazing quality fresh produce, multiple varieties of mushroom and peppers. Really good, would recommend to anyone who is looking for 1st class pintxos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    161
    55
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Most memorable Pintxos in San Sebastian”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Came back here twice. Great service, friendly people and the tastiest pintxos I have had in San Sebastian.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JNKetting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
322 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We went for lunch and had a wonderful plate of mixed sautéed mushrooms,fantastic roast peppers,anchovies,lightly battered squid and jamon croissants.Fresh ,seasonal and authentic.Great service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sweetiesPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Lousy service”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I was really looking forward to this place. However, although the food was nothing to write home about, the service was just rude and insulting. The waiter was more than happy to serve any and everybody else, especially the males. I did not mind waiting for the food as it was not very busy. But after asking for the bill twice and being completely ignored (the bar is small and I was standing in front of "my" waiter) as he merrily served others, when I asked for the bill for the third time, his answer was "Calm down, no need to get excited". I complained to the "manager" who did seem taken aback and informed me that he would speak to the waiter. However, with so many really good bars in the area, that is one place I will not return to.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BaghdadSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Pintxos (Tapas)”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

One of the best stops on our pintxos tour in San Sebastian was Ganbara, San Jeronimo #21. We had their specialty, exotic wild mushrooms. A little expensive, but really delicious. Worth a stop just for these and then move on to another place. No other pintxo restaurant makes mushrooms like these.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevesol6718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganbara also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
San Sebastian - Donostia, Province of Guipuzcoa
 

Been to Ganbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing