We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy restaurant with a well deserved reputation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zortziko

Zortziko
Ranked #366 of 1,094 Restaurants in Bilbao
Price range: $45 - $80
Cuisines: Spanish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Abando
Description: Zortziko restaurant, just a few steps from Bilbao's iconic Guggenheim Museum, is iconic in its own way. This ultra-modern kitchen is sited in an elegant, 19th century mansion and is the place for business lunches and relaxed dinners. The formality of the setting the three dining rooms are decorated in royal French, Victorian English and a more modern style is deflated by the helpfulness and cordiality of the DJed waitstaff. Chef/owner Daniel Garcia has earned his Michelin star through refinement of flavours in a truly Basque style at once inventive and conservative. Dishes change with the season, of course, and may include dishes like starter of txangurro salad, containing crabmeat on thin spaghetti with coral dressing, main course of blue duck slow-cooked served with a sweet rioja sauce, and a tasting plate of desserts to satisfy even the most adventurous gourmet. A single table in the wine cellar, the home of more than 600 labels, is reserved weeks in advance. Celebrity-magnet Zortziko (Frank Gehry, Pierce Brosnan) is one of Bilbao's culinary star attractions.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Classy restaurant with a well deserved reputation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We really enjoyed this restaurant, the food was very good, service was good, wine was good. Everything lived up to expectation and its reputation.

My wife said her chocolate dessert was the best she has EVER tasted, and we have been fortunate to eat at lots of Michelin stareed restaurants, so that is praise indeed!

For a special occasion - I would recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    61
    44
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
235 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“High Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is rather elegant restaurant with a very dated decor; somewhat Louis IVth(in a good way) The food is among the best of the Basque tradtionalists. The tasting menu, at 85 euros is a bargain for the high quality of the ingredients and the sometimes startlingly deliciousness of the preparations. We did nine courses, each was interesting and wonderful; there were many oos and ahs among out party of four. Service is effiient; each dish is explained in detail. Broad wine list.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nefelokokigia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
247 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“An excellent Michelin Star worthy tasting menu. Expensive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We took a break from the Guggenheim to have a foodie late lunch here. The service was friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. (Each course was described in detail, and we were given a pocket sized copy of the tasting menu so we could track progress!)
We had 9 courses, and each was beautifully presented, and had excellent textures and flavours. These were not lazy tasting menus courses, but each displayed great skills in terms of ingredients and/or techniques.
Although I had seen references to a "relatively bargain" priced lunch menu, on previous reviews, these were not found on their web site, or offered at table. So the standard taster menu does mean a rather expensive lunch - but we were not unhappy with the bill for such a fine experience. (But note that the Bilbao card gives a discount - which I didn't appreciate at the time!)
So a high class foodie experience in lovely surroundings and friendly staff - at prices that you would expect for this standard of cooking.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Getting to know the Basque experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Not your traditional Spanish experience and it is entirely Basque. Service was excellent and attentive and friendly and the food preparation and presentation was interesting and delicious.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shellys38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Euskadi is not Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

So, I need to establish that this is a Basque restaurant, not 'Spanish'. For my money Daniel Garcia beats the pants off of Arzak (and their three stars). You come to Zortziko for excellent Basque cuisine, no showboating, but great food. If you don't know anything about the Basque country, I suggest you read Mark Kurlansky's excellent book 'The Basque History of the World' - your visit will be greatly enhanced. The tasting menu was excellent value for me, I have tried degustation menus all over the world, and this is probably the best value for money anywhere. If you are looking for 'Wow', well you can probably fooled pretty easily anyway...but if you are into great food, made with the best local ingredients, this is authentic stuff. If you want a curry, or Heston-like theatrics, then go elsewhere. This is a place for people who enjoy food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Askatuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zortziko also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to Zortziko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing