We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Methinks the lady doth protest too much"”
Review of NIDOBILBAO

NIDOBILBAO
Ranked #7 of 1,279 Restaurants in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $68 - $113
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Abando
Description: A la carte restaurant, is traditional basque cuisine and that the average price per person is 60€. Minimum two dishes per person.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Let me be clear: the steak is amazing! Perfectly seared and then you finish slices of it to your desired level of doneness on a hot stone on your table. Just wonderful flavor and seasoning. It comes with fries that were quite disappointing. We mentioned this to the owner (manager?) and she insisted they were freshly prepared and authentic regional cuisine. But however they were cooked, they tasted little better than frozen fries from Tesco. Also a reservation seems essential. We stopped by one night without one and were turned away, but we made a reservation for the next night. We were able to watch the manager turn away at least 4-5 walk-in couples while there were plenty of empty tables and they remained empty when we left. Still, great steak!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WillnPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 194 of 2,471 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

No reservations, but the owner squeezed us in. Book ahead though as, after us, we watched a dozen groups get turned away.

Had a tomato salad starter (it's off the menu, but get it if they have it) and kept it simple ordering the T-Bone steak for two with potatoes and fried peppers. Magnificent! Steak was as tender as any steak I've ever had and it was served with a hot, salted stone so you can finish it to your liking. I am almost always disappointed by ordering steaks out (I think I do them better on the grill at home). This did not disappoint.

Homemade run raisin ice cream drizzled with Pedro Ximenez for dessert.

Wonderful.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank cokerlegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Nido Bilbao's "txuleton" tbone steak the #basque way (apparently from the restaurant owner's home town) was one of the memorable meals we had in bilbao. We were recommended this tbone steak and the red wine from León, and true enough, the wine went very well with the meat. The tbone steak was cooked to perfection, and we were given a hot stone slab with coarse salt to dip as well.

I ordered the bilbao salad because I had to have some greens after all the pintxos from the previous days. The salad was filled with fresh seafood and shaved eggs and the dressing went incredibly well with the seafood and tomatoes. It was truly one of the best salads Ive had.

The staff was very helpful as well. For desserts, we chose the cream cake "typical of bilbao", something new to us. We were amazed at the cream cake, it was so delicious! We wish we could stomach more food especially the homemade icecream but we were too full from the steak and cake.

Will definitely recommend Nido Bilbao to any first timers to Bilbao. It was in the heart of the city so its a close walk to any main stops. There are bars nearby as well to grab a pintxos or beer before lunch because lunch service in spain starts at 2pm.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank limruby0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

This restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel concierge as a place where you can get typical Basque cuisine, with local beef and vegetables.

The front and interior of the restaurant are unassuming and the atmosphere was very relaxed.

The staff were welcoming, friendly and informative; we were lucky enough to have the manager as our waiter and she talked us through each part of the menu / specials and described the dishes. Although she admitted her English wasn't great, we understood everything that she was trying to tell us. We could feel that she took great pride in her restaurant, which made the whole experience that much better.

We chose a few starter dishes to share between us; the dishes are simple, decently sized and extremely tasty. They delivered each dish at an appropriate time, giving us a small amount of time between courses but still managed to make sure that the hot food was still hot. This restaurant was recommended because of it's steak and we weren't disappointed: the main course was served to us, cooked medium rare but it came with a hot plate to cook the meat a little more if we wished. This is a seemingly typical way of serving steak in the area - so i really do recommend trying it. As there were 4 of us, we were served a single piece of an appropriate size.

The was a good selection of wines available and the sommelier took his time to ensure that the red we chose was able to breathe.

I felt that the price we paid was excellent value for what we ate and the experience we had there. If you are in Bilbao, please add this restaurant to your list of places for dinner!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Service was very friendly. Very authentic and nice atmosphere in the restaurant. Had an amazing T-bone steak that came recommended by the waitress, definitely worth it!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Florrr45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NIDOBILBAO also viewed

Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
Bilbao, Province of Vizcaya
 

Been to NIDOBILBAO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.