We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel Bilbi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bilbi
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you are travelling on a budget this is excellent value for money. Its not the Ritz but hey at the price its great value. The dodgy area is right of the hotel but no no need to walk that way where the old town is 10 minutes walk way. I must say the hall ways with the auto lighting with no natural light are not ideal but like I say for the money it a good place to stay. We paid 9 Euro a night for the hotels car park across the road that is worth the money since parking is an issue. There are a number of local cafe where you can have breakfast a competitive place. Bilbao and the surrounding countyside is wonderful.

Room Tip: I had a room at he back that had a great view of Bilbao.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 333 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Choose this hotel because of the budget. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood, and there is not much happening here in nighttime, if you are looking for bard, restaurants and so on. Short distance to the tram, a 5 min walk across the river. The rooms are a bit tacky. Good bathroom and clean bathroom, men the other room is a bit simple. Strange neon colors in the corridor, leading to the room. The staff at check spoke good English and were helpful and genuine.
A plus for the free wifi. As others have mentioned, I would recommend to stay somewhat closer to the city center.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is cheap but not cheerfull. The decor is horrible with fluorescent uplighting in all of the hallways which make it look like a brothel. the floors are stained and dirty and we had a spotlight hanging out of the wall in our room aiming at the bed. Wierd overall hotel. Area is a gypsy area of the city. short walk to the old city. Choose a different location and hotel. The area near the museum is much nicer. I must say the staff here were delightful and the bathroom in the room was nice. Room itself was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Rikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I should have had a proper read of the reviews before booking this hotel. We hopped off he train at Zabalburu station and decided to walk to the hotel. Our thoughts were 'wow - Bilbao is really seedy' - just turns out that this hotel is located in the seedy part of Bilbao.

It's true that it is a very short walk to Old Town - but I would have preferred to pay more and stay in Old Town I think.

The hotel itself I would describe as a bit sad. The staff were nice enough but seemed at times they would prefer not to be speaking English. They also didn't warn us at all about where not to walk (though by now we'd already walked the worst part).

The walk to the rooms with the weird neon lights and pink paint felt like something out of a red light district.

The rooms themselves were quite basic but clean and tidy, if not a bit random. Air conditioning worked well, water pressure in the shower was good - bathroom quite tidy and modern. WIFI was a bit slow but its free.

Overall, if I were to return to Bilbao I'd probably fork out more money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ari1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Really good value for the money you pay. It had everything you need - double bed, ensuite bathroom, air conditioning, free wifi, tv, and printing facilities. The whole place was relatively quiet , the room was clean, and the staff were very friendly and spoke pretty good English.

The only downside was the area. It is on the edge of an area that is a little sketchy at night so it's best not to explore the area around the hotel too much. However, the old town is very near and in the opposite direction so this isn't a big problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights. Comparing with the other budget hotels in the region (we stayed in 2 more), I think Bibli should be cheaper, especially as there is no breakfast. At first we were given a room, that was smelling of cigarettes so bad - our eyes were literally hurting! We asked for another room and got rather ugly room with the garden lamp instead of normal. Really! :) The fan didnt work, and the hotel didnt have working fan to give. The linen wasnt changed (only towels). Window didnt close properly, and noise form outside was heard very well, but it was nothing in comparison with the noises our neighbours were producing!
I dont want to write only downsides, there were also good sides: staff was ok, location too (we never went to the red light street, so I dont know why other complain), the room that our friend had was better and also with a balcony, so if you have a chance ask for room on the 7th or 8th floor. :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hotel Bilbi in Bilbao is a great-value budget hotel. The room was very comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. It was small and simple with a nice bathroom, comfortable bed and pleasant room temperature. The staff were extremely helpful and gave good advice on how to make the most of our short stay in Bilbao. They spoke excellent English, which was great for us as we have very little Spanish and no Basque. The room rate was excellent and provided great value for money. The hotel's location is good because it is very close to the train station and to public transport. It is a 25-minute walk from the main square. The immediate area around the hotel is interesting for it's ethnic mix of people and there were a lot of people on the streets during the day. Guests should exercise caution when walking in the area, especially at night. However, no more caution is necessary than in other city-centre areas in the world. All in all, Hotel Bilbi is a good choice for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelNua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,184 reviews
Pension Don Claudio
#29 of 42 in Bilbao
80 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
#25 of 42 in Bilbao
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castaños
Hotel Bilbao Plaza
Hotel Bilbao Plaza
#16 of 42 in Bilbao
194 reviews
Hotel Sirimiri
#26 of 42 in Bilbao
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bilbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bilbi

Address: C/ Miribilla, 8 | Bizkaia, 48003 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range: $50 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bilbi 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bilbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilbi Hotel Bilbao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing