We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Web pictures are misrepresent the quality of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Web pages misrepresented the quality of the hotel which was marginal. Very creaky and disturbing floors throughout the hotel , unclean bedrooms and bathrooms, poor quality linens (Single oversized pillow for 2 useless)
Staff had a take it or leave attitude. One single non professional individual rotated at the front desk. No other staff available to address needs or issues.
Due to disappointing conditions and sickness of one elderly member, we checked out earlier and the staff was not willing to cooperate with our request or consider circumstances.
Cancellation policy inconsistent where "no show" carries a one night charge but requesting earlier departure for cause carries full charge.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a clean and comfortable hotel with a customer oriented staff this is not the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana-Silvia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Bilbao Jardines Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 337 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very central location in the middle of Old Town, surrounded by narrow streets, bars, cafes, restaurants. Nice, helpful staff in the reception. Rooms basic, simple but comfortable, there are electric heaters in the rooms (which makes sense even in May!). Very close also to he metro, bus stop and taxis. We didn't take the breakfast - there is a lot of very nice bars around.

Room Tip: There is a noise from the street, especially in Friday and Saturday night!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninencja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We will definitely use it again and I recommend this hotel. It is in an excellent location, close to restaurants and right in the middle of the old part. Staff was very helpful. It is in a pedestrianised street but you can use your car up to 1100 hours which is great before check-out.

Room Tip: The room was quiet, clean and included all the requirements. We did not use the A/C since we did not...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpamare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

As everyone has mentioned before, it is downtown and next to some of the best bars and restaurants known to mankind. This is no hidden gem. It is a basic two star hotel, with the facilities of a two star hotel. Beds ok, bathroom acceptable... TV was smaller than tiny! Breakfast good for €5.. And you can rent bikes and they had a lot of toys in the back lobby for those rainy days in Bilbao. Perfect for walking around the old town and only a 30 minute walk to the main museums of the city. One of the drawbacks is, as its a pedestrianized area there is no parking. Nearest car park is "Parking Arenal" about 5/10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madrid_viajero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

is good - and it is. Perfectly situated in the old town with all the bars and restaurants you could wish for seconds away. Also near the river for pleasant walks down there. Didn't try the breakfast as we preferred to walk and find a local bar/cafe.
But it's not just the location that is good - the hotel is modern and clean and the staff are helpful.
For a two star it's great - probably should have more stars.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamLuvaHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Right in the middle of the old town - within walking distance of everything and just around the corner from a tram stop. Great restaurants/bars on the street - next door and slightly to right of opposite. Staff very helpful. Room perfect. Little balcony for people-watching.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SergeantMajorMammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We loved the central location of this nicely appointed hotel...as others have noted, don't discount this hotel for its 2 star rating...it is much nicer than other 2 star hotels I've stayed at before. The is a decent breakfast provided or you can select a nearby cafe for coffee and croissants. The town is full of surprises...of course you will go to the Guggenheim museum but you will enjoy the many plaza's in old town for comparison shopping of tapas, and once again I really enjoyed visiting the old Market located on the River bank near old town. They are renovating this facility, but they are keeping the old character of the building, including the stained glass ceilings. Again, you will be amazed by the variety of the seafood available in the market...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byoung3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,074 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#16 of 42 in Bilbao
1,013 reviews
Abando
Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Estrella Ostatu
#33 of 42 in Bilbao
63 reviews
Hotel Sirimiri
#26 of 42 in Bilbao
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilbao Jardines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilbao Jardines Hotel

Address: Jardines 9 | Casco Viejo, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range: $69 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bilbao Jardines Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bilbao Jardines is situated in the center of Bilbao . It's a quiet place in the old town. We offer to our guests confort, relax and our best service in our modern hotel. Our location is perfect for visit touristic places like Guggenheim Museum , Arriaga Teatre ,Euskalduna Congres centre. Wifi free avaliable and breakfast optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bilbao Jardines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing