We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - please carpet the floors though!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location - please carpet the floors though!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

There are lots of good reasons to have cheap laminate flooring. It's easy to maintain and clean and looks reasonable, even if it doesn't exactly reflect the Casco Vieja that you are staying in. Sound insulation isn't one of it's main benefits and this hotel suffers from the noises of other guests clomping around neighbouring rooms.

Otherwise, great location, in the heart of all the action and within walking distance from the main station, a reasonable-sized room and mostly affable staff (who would have to be to answer than damned buzzer every few minutes!) Please carpet those floors though for a superior night of sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    164
    72
    23
    8
See reviews for
56
105
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel was perfect no faults at all. In arruval we were greeted and looked after. Our room was big with a lovely shower. The rooms were of a high standard and immaculately clean. Excellent location. We will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktakeabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Excellent to be within walking distance of the downtown core. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a unique layout but still spacious. The breakfast wasn't included but for 5 Euro each there was a generous variety available. Bright diningroom with nice decor.

The beds were rock hard. We nearly injured ourselves when we settled on them exhausted. Be prepared to walk a distance from the only parking suggested for an additional 10 Euro. You can't drive to the hotel. Still a pleasant, interesting place to stay. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarefulChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights while attending a family wedding in Bilbao. My first visit to the city, probably my partners 100th!
Staff were all very friendly and happy to chat, whatever time of day (one night we arrived back at 4am).
Although other reviewers seem to have been annoyed by the requirement to press the buzzer to gain access, this didn't bother us, and the staff were always close at hand to open the door.
Our room was clean and pleasant, but a little bit on the basic side. However we didn't worry too much about this as we were out and about the whole time.
The location is amazing, right in the heart of the Casco Viejo. Plenty of bars with excellent pintxos!
Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Criddmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was a recommended hotel in some of the most popular American tourist guides, and the location is wonderful, if you don't mind wheeling your suitcases a couple of blocks into the pedestrian areas of the old city. At some point, it was modernized with the usual fake wood flooring, and contemporary, budget furniture, but it would be less of a concern, if you didn't find that when you got to the hotel, the door was locked, even in the late afternoon, and that you had to be "buzzed in" to gain admission. The hallways have automatic switches that turn on when you approach them, but you have to walk into a dark hallway, and the place becomes scarey when you are going from your room to the elevator, day or night. And then there are the rooms. Sparse, utilitarian, and dirty. Holes in the sheets, weeks of dust and hair in the A/C vents, the smell of urine, and the presence of mold in the corners of the bathrooms. In the dark, closed-in breakfast room, the next morning's breakfast meat and cheese were already laid out on trays the evening before, under layers of plastic film. Safe? Probably. Appetizing? Not a bit. When we reported the condition of our room, the one person at the desk asked why we had not immediately told them when we dropped our suitcases to go out to get lunch. We discovered that that she was the only staff person on duty. Even so, she agreed to clean our room again, but was clearly stressed to do so, and, frankly, should have been, because she had to leave the desk unattended. Had the bathroom been routinely cleaned with some soap, bleach and water, the mold killed, and the walls washed, it would have been a decent place to spend the night if cheap, convenient, economy housing was the only thing one wanted. The person who got the room next, will probably write a positive review, because we moved to another hotel, and left behind a room that was being carefully cleaned. Had that not been true, this would have been a one star review, but two stars are given here for effort on the part of people who were clearly making up for the neglect of others. There are other hotels in the same location that are definitely a step way up, for the same price, and have the same location to brag about.

Room Tip: Know what you are getting and check out your room carefully before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvtnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bilbao hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Not a good value for the money. Needs to be cleaned thoroughly. Mold in bathrooms, vents with dust and mold, towels grungy gray (looked like hadn't been changed from last tenant. Traveling companions bathroom smelled like a frat urinal. You must be "buzzed" in the door from the front desk and if the person is busy- you stand in the alley and wait. Front desk clerk was by herself and legitimately couldn't take care of everything by herself. Tommorrows breakfast meat was already laid out at room temp. All of this is unfortunate as this should be a charming place in the heart of the old town. My suggestion to the management is to invest in bleach and use it liberally on the bathrooms and towels.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RXCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

As a solo traveller, my main criteria are location and cleanliness - so a tick for both those - could not have been a better location, right in the middle of the Casco Viejo and everything Bilbao has to offer is within walking distance - fab Pinxto Bars, Restaurants, Shops, the Mercado (a must for foodies), The Guggenheim, Gran Via, Museo Bellas Artes etc. I loved Bilbao and was lucky with the weather (makes a huge difference I know - 3 sunny days & one day rain - the day I went to San Sebastian & Biarritz!!!). Breakfast is a good basic continental, rooms are clean & basically furnished with efficient heating/AC, staff are friendly & helpful - the downside is the noise within the hotel due to the laminated wood type flooring - you will probabl find you have elephants in the room above you - so, as others have said, bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper - I live on a noisy London street & was woken several times! All in all, a wonderful trip and, I thoroughly recommend Bilbao - may check out other hotels close by if I was to return but, would stay at the Bilbao Jardines again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not on the main street or one on the top floor so as not to be woken by people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#14 of 42 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
La Estrella Ostatu
#33 of 42 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Hotel Artetxe
Hotel Artetxe
#6 of 42 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#17 of 42 in Bilbao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Castaños
Hotel Bilbao Plaza
Hotel Bilbao Plaza
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilbao Jardines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilbao Jardines Hotel

Property: Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Address: Jardines 9 | Casco Viejo, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bilbao Jardines Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bilbao Jardines is situated in the center of Bilbao . It's a quiet place in the old town. We offer to our guests confort, relax and our best service in our modern hotel. Our location is perfect for visit touristic places like Guggenheim Museum , Arriaga Teatre ,Euskalduna Congres centre. Wifi free avaliable and breakfast optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bilbao Jardines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing