We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Set-up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bilbao Jardines Hotel
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Excellent to be within walking distance of the downtown core. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a unique layout but still spacious. The breakfast wasn't included but for 5 Euro each there was a generous variety available. Bright diningroom with nice decor.

The beds were rock hard. We nearly injured ourselves when we settled on them exhausted. Be prepared to walk a distance from the only parking suggested for an additional 10 Euro. You can't drive to the hotel. Still a pleasant, interesting place to stay. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarefulChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Bilbao Jardines Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 337 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights while attending a family wedding in Bilbao. My first visit to the city, probably my partners 100th!
Staff were all very friendly and happy to chat, whatever time of day (one night we arrived back at 4am).
Although other reviewers seem to have been annoyed by the requirement to press the buzzer to gain access, this didn't bother us, and the staff were always close at hand to open the door.
Our room was clean and pleasant, but a little bit on the basic side. However we didn't worry too much about this as we were out and about the whole time.
The location is amazing, right in the heart of the Casco Viejo. Plenty of bars with excellent pintxos!
Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Criddmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was a recommended hotel in some of the most popular American tourist guides, and the location is wonderful, if you don't mind wheeling your suitcases a couple of blocks into the pedestrian areas of the old city. At some point, it was modernized with the usual fake wood flooring, and contemporary, budget furniture, but it would be less of a concern, if you didn't find that when you got to the hotel, the door was locked, even in the late afternoon, and that you had to be "buzzed in" to gain admission. The hallways have automatic switches that turn on when you approach them, but you have to walk into a dark hallway, and the place becomes scarey when you are going from your room to the elevator, day or night. And then there are the rooms. Sparse, utilitarian, and dirty. Holes in the sheets, weeks of dust and hair in the A/C vents, the smell of urine, and the presence of mold in the corners of the bathrooms. In the dark, closed-in breakfast room, the next morning's breakfast meat and cheese were already laid out on trays the evening before, under layers of plastic film. Safe? Probably. Appetizing? Not a bit. When we reported the condition of our room, the one person at the desk asked why we had not immediately told them when we dropped our suitcases to go out to get lunch. We discovered that that she was the only staff person on duty. Even so, she agreed to clean our room again, but was clearly stressed to do so, and, frankly, should have been, because she had to leave the desk unattended. Had the bathroom been routinely cleaned with some soap, bleach and water, the mold killed, and the walls washed, it would have been a decent place to spend the night if cheap, convenient, economy housing was the only thing one wanted. The person who got the room next, will probably write a positive review, because we moved to another hotel, and left behind a room that was being carefully cleaned. Had that not been true, this would have been a one star review, but two stars are given here for effort on the part of people who were clearly making up for the neglect of others. There are other hotels in the same location that are definitely a step way up, for the same price, and have the same location to brag about.

Room Tip: Know what you are getting and check out your room carefully before you check in.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluvtnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Not a good value for the money. Needs to be cleaned thoroughly. Mold in bathrooms, vents with dust and mold, towels grungy gray (looked like hadn't been changed from last tenant. Traveling companions bathroom smelled like a frat urinal. You must be "buzzed" in the door from the front desk and if the person is busy- you stand in the alley and wait. Front desk clerk was by herself and legitimately couldn't take care of everything by herself. Tommorrows breakfast meat was already laid out at room temp. All of this is unfortunate as this should be a charming place in the heart of the old town. My suggestion to the management is to invest in bleach and use it liberally on the bathrooms and towels.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank RXCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

As a solo traveller, my main criteria are location and cleanliness - so a tick for both those - could not have been a better location, right in the middle of the Casco Viejo and everything Bilbao has to offer is within walking distance - fab Pinxto Bars, Restaurants, Shops, the Mercado (a must for foodies), The Guggenheim, Gran Via, Museo Bellas Artes etc. I loved Bilbao and was lucky with the weather (makes a huge difference I know - 3 sunny days & one day rain - the day I went to San Sebastian & Biarritz!!!). Breakfast is a good basic continental, rooms are clean & basically furnished with efficient heating/AC, staff are friendly & helpful - the downside is the noise within the hotel due to the laminated wood type flooring - you will probabl find you have elephants in the room above you - so, as others have said, bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper - I live on a noisy London street & was woken several times! All in all, a wonderful trip and, I thoroughly recommend Bilbao - may check out other hotels close by if I was to return but, would stay at the Bilbao Jardines again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not on the main street or one on the top floor so as not to be woken by people...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

You can't fault the location of this hotel - right in the old town. It is pretty cheap too. The room was fine and comfortable but I would agree with another reviewer here that the bathroom could have been cleaner. Perfectly fine if you have a night in the city and intend just to use it as a bed for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjcheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was my first visit to Bilbao. Arrived on the bus from Vitoria (50 min journey) at the main bus station - took the tram from there to the hotel. From the tram stop this place is a 3 min walk, all on a level, no steps. I left from the main railway station, 5 min walk, a few steps.

Location: Excellent. Pedestrianised street in old town (Casco Viejo). Bars, restaurants, shops nearby.

A friendly welcome. I checked in early - no fuss. Double bed as requested. Lift to all floors.

I noticed all the floors had wooden floors - oh dear - lots of noise - actually - didnt hear a thing! A good nights sleep.

The room was an excellent size (room 303) - facing the inner stair well - not a view at all, but I didnt want one. The hotel had a large bed, good wardrobe, phone, TV, good Wifi, bathroom with bath (overhead shower). Plenty of hot water. Soap/Towels as you would expect from a small hotel. BAthroom had a couple of tiles that needed replacing but the place was very clean.

I didnt do breakfast - my train left early - but the menu looked good and for only 5 euros would have been a bargain am sure.

There is a drinks/snack machine in reception. Cash machine around the corner. Plenty of tourist information and maps available from the staff.

Great find, def will return.

Room Tip: 303 - great, no view, quiet, plenty of space
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rugbysw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#15 of 42 in Bilbao
2,068 reviews
Bilbo Zaharra
Petit Palace Arana
Petit Palace Arana
#16 of 42 in Bilbao
1,011 reviews
Abando
Mercure Bilbao Jardines de Albia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Estrella Ostatu
#33 of 42 in Bilbao
62 reviews
Castaños
Hotel Bilbao Plaza
Hotel Bilbao Plaza
#13 of 42 in Bilbao
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilbao Jardines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilbao Jardines Hotel

Address: Jardines 9 | Casco Viejo, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Price Range: $69 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bilbao Jardines Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bilbao Jardines is situated in the center of Bilbao . It's a quiet place in the old town. We offer to our guests confort, relax and our best service in our modern hotel. Our location is perfect for visit touristic places like Guggenheim Museum , Arriaga Teatre ,Euskalduna Congres centre. Wifi free avaliable and breakfast optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bilbao Jardines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing