We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice for a stay to see the Guggenheim”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is strategically placed for a great view and easy access to the fabulous Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao. Personal attention from the staff is a plus. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the TV is nice and big.
Breakfast choices are varied and many nutritional items included--like carrot juice! kiwi! etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank saladays62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 1,874 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a very contemporary Hotel, just like the Guggenheim is a very contemporary museum.
Very convenient to get to the museum, town as well as the old town. Room was a little on the small size but not an issue. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We had dinner one night in the hotel, which we don't usually do, but we were tired and didn't feel like walking into town.
It was on of the best dinners I had in a long time, anywhere. They had a "menu del dia", menu of the day for about $25. Three courses and everything was just delicious. I would recommend staying at this hotel without any reservations.

Room Tip: we had a room facing the back courtyard. nothing to look at but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diandira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed it.
Our room was not riverside but good enough.
Hotel is next to the river and a large bridge and there was good access to tram station .
The breakfast was great.
Staff are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TehranMoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Bilbao is really a small city centre and from this hotel you can walk everywhere. Other reviewers have covered this hotel in infinite detail, suffice to say that it is excellent value as long as you are willing to walk 5 minutes across a (beautiful) bridge into central Bilbao. Chances are that almost all tourists will walk extensively throughout Bilbao (as it is such a small centre and amenable to walking) so I can't see anyone having an issue.

We paid extra to have the coloured glass window rooms facing the river, and to be honest, the extra cost was worth it. If you on a tight budget, go with a better room and forego the hotel breakfast (as all nearby restaurants are extremely inexpensive, by British standards).

We paid extra to have a late check-out on the Sunday afternoon which was helpful as our flight was later in the day and we wanted to keep the hotel room as a base for the afternoon; I think it was approximately EUR 10/hour for this which seemed reasonable.

One additional tip: the funicular is literally a 60 second walk from the hotel, definitely worth a ride (EUR 0.90 per person each direction), and from the top of the hill you get an amazing view of the entire city of Bilbao. There is not much else to do at the top of this hill, but it is beautiful at dusk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakobLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very nice modern hotel just across the street from the river - a couple of minutes to the Guggenheim. I had a room at the front of the hotel (maybe a little bit more money for that) and it was wonderful to sit on the balcony and watch the activity on the pathway by the river. The pedestrian bridge is just a couple of minutes away and from there, it's just a few more blocks to Moyua Square. So convenient to everything. The room was very comfortable and clean and had everything I needed. Bathroom was quite beautiful - lots of glass and tile and very big. Two glass vessel sinks. all that. I didn't hear any noise from the hotel - maybe a siren on the street once. I found the room a little warm especially at night. Because the glassed-in balcony faced west-ish things heated up quite a bit by the end of the day even with the drapes drawn and the ac didn't quite keep up. Perhaps they could have given me a fan or something but since I was only there for a couple of days, I didn't ask so my own fault. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel but it was nice to have a drink at the outdoor patio at the end of the day. There is a grocery store in the little square by the pedestrian bridge and another on the street that leads from the bridge to Moyua (stores are called Eroski)-handy for getting some drinks or snacks. The area felt very safe and I found the front desk people all willing to help me with directions. And they kept my suitcase for a few hours after I checked out, simplifying things greatly for me. It was a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathieak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel well located, short walk to Guggenheim and old town. Our superior room at the front was spacious and well appointed. The public areas and bar were very convivial. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold buffet items.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank zimmerframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked a standard room but decided to upgrade it to have a river view and it was great idea! you will have a little balcony overlooking the river and nice chair to relax. You will have lots of sun in the afternoon too :)
Bed was comfy, the room was clean, had a fridge and coffee maker. Bathroom was separated for a bath/shower/toilet and 2 x sinks area. There was a lovely toiletries and everything you need (little orange soap was amazing!!!).
No robes or slippers it was so hot we didn't need it! air conditioning was very helpful.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel until the last day and it was good but expensive (hence we preferred a coffee and croissant behind the corner). Is very close to the G. Museum and furnicular.
Old Bilbao is within a walking distance 15-20 if you're slow like us :) Overall great hotel :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuernseyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,337 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#10 of 42 in Bilbao
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Ria de Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Ria de Bilbao

Address: Campo Volantin, 28, 48007 Bilbao, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Bilbao)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Castaños
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range: $85 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Ria de Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining avant-garde design with a superb location across from the Guggenheim, the newly-built Hesperia Bilbao is a luxury hotel just 200 meters from the main shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Collection Ria de Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Hesperia Hotel Bilbao
Bilbao Hesperia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing