We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Tehran
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed it.
Our room was not riverside but good enough.
Hotel is next to the river and a large bridge and there was good access to tram station .
The breakfast was great.
Staff are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TehranMoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    728
    193
    49
    18
See reviews for
251
747
95
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Bilbao is really a small city centre and from this hotel you can walk everywhere. Other reviewers have covered this hotel in infinite detail, suffice to say that it is excellent value as long as you are willing to walk 5 minutes across a (beautiful) bridge into central Bilbao. Chances are that almost all tourists will walk extensively throughout Bilbao (as it is such a small centre and amenable to walking) so I can't see anyone having an issue.

We paid extra to have the coloured glass window rooms facing the river, and to be honest, the extra cost was worth it. If you on a tight budget, go with a better room and forego the hotel breakfast (as all nearby restaurants are extremely inexpensive, by British standards).

We paid extra to have a late check-out on the Sunday afternoon which was helpful as our flight was later in the day and we wanted to keep the hotel room as a base for the afternoon; I think it was approximately EUR 10/hour for this which seemed reasonable.

One additional tip: the funicular is literally a 60 second walk from the hotel, definitely worth a ride (EUR 0.90 per person each direction), and from the top of the hill you get an amazing view of the entire city of Bilbao. There is not much else to do at the top of this hill, but it is beautiful at dusk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakobLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very nice modern hotel just across the street from the river - a couple of minutes to the Guggenheim. I had a room at the front of the hotel (maybe a little bit more money for that) and it was wonderful to sit on the balcony and watch the activity on the pathway by the river. The pedestrian bridge is just a couple of minutes away and from there, it's just a few more blocks to Moyua Square. So convenient to everything. The room was very comfortable and clean and had everything I needed. Bathroom was quite beautiful - lots of glass and tile and very big. Two glass vessel sinks. all that. I didn't hear any noise from the hotel - maybe a siren on the street once. I found the room a little warm especially at night. Because the glassed-in balcony faced west-ish things heated up quite a bit by the end of the day even with the drapes drawn and the ac didn't quite keep up. Perhaps they could have given me a fan or something but since I was only there for a couple of days, I didn't ask so my own fault. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel but it was nice to have a drink at the outdoor patio at the end of the day. There is a grocery store in the little square by the pedestrian bridge and another on the street that leads from the bridge to Moyua (stores are called Eroski)-handy for getting some drinks or snacks. The area felt very safe and I found the front desk people all willing to help me with directions. And they kept my suitcase for a few hours after I checked out, simplifying things greatly for me. It was a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathieak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel well located, short walk to Guggenheim and old town. Our superior room at the front was spacious and well appointed. The public areas and bar were very convivial. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold buffet items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank zimmerframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked a standard room but decided to upgrade it to have a river view and it was great idea! you will have a little balcony overlooking the river and nice chair to relax. You will have lots of sun in the afternoon too :)
Bed was comfy, the room was clean, had a fridge and coffee maker. Bathroom was separated for a bath/shower/toilet and 2 x sinks area. There was a lovely toiletries and everything you need (little orange soap was amazing!!!).
No robes or slippers it was so hot we didn't need it! air conditioning was very helpful.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel until the last day and it was good but expensive (hence we preferred a coffee and croissant behind the corner). Is very close to the G. Museum and furnicular.
Old Bilbao is within a walking distance 15-20 if you're slow like us :) Overall great hotel :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Loved out 6 night stay. Upgraded our standard room to a studio for only 10 euros more and that made a huge difference in space and comfort. Contemporary appointed rooms made us feel at home. Great views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is an excellent hotel located on the banks of the river and only 10 mins walk to the Guggenheim in one direction and the old town in the other. The hotel is well appointed with underground parking available and the staff at reception are very helpful. One of the waiters in the front bar completely ignored us for some reason, even when other Spanish patrons tried to catch his attention on our behalf and that slightly marred our view of the place, but all other staff were very helpful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,261 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#8 of 42 in Bilbao
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Ria de Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Ria de Bilbao

Property: NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Address: Campo Volantin, 28, 48007 Bilbao, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Bilbao)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Castaños
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#11 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Ria de Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining avant-garde design with a superb location across from the Guggenheim, the newly-built Hesperia Bilbao is a luxury hotel just 200 meters from the main shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Collection Ria de Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Hesperia Hotel Bilbao
Bilbao Hesperia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing