We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, smallish modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“great location, smallish modern hotel”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Locations was fabulous - easy to get too, parking in site, next to foot bridge across river, Guggenheim 10 mins stroll. Old town 10 mins walk too.

Everything was great - including the price (booked direct with a 'deal' on price). However, I booked a no smoking room. We were upgraded to a junior suite but weren't told it was a smoking room - only discovered when went to bed - the pillows smelt. Next morning on check out were told that the non smoking was a request and couldn't be guaranteed - the clerk did give us free parking though which was a nice gesture. I have complained to the hotel about this and down marked the 'room' score on here.

Found a great local bar/cafe just behind the hotel where we had sunday breakfast - absolutely wonderful.

Would stay again - and loved Bilbao lots.

Room Tip: Check it's a no smoking room - if thats what you want/ booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broaden-the-mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    742
    194
    50
    19
See reviews for
254
760
97
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with good location. Hotel hesperia is close to old town, shopping area and guggenheim. You have 10-15 min walk to all these places. Hotel is clean and the lobby bar is cosy. Our room was quite small but big enough for short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annentrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on Buisness.
Good location for walking to the Gugenheim and also to the old town. Direct on the river.
Clean. Helpful, friendly staff. In the restaurant had to prod the service to get waited on. They just seemed to be overwhelmed some how. Even though there were few people in the restaurant. If you run the airconditioning, seems the air in the room gets really stail and unhealthy. Also, in standard room, Air blows directly onto the bed at night. If you turn the air off, its way to hot in the room. If you open the window for fresh air, you get to enjoy the street noise. So you have to take the best compromise to suit yourself. I opted to keep the window open at night. other wise could'nt sleep. But in general good hotel for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloozaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night as part of a motorcycle tour of Northern Spain. Nicely positioned next to river, and close to the Guggenheim. Room was large and quiet and well maintained. Staff fine. Safe underground parking, but there is a charge of about 16 Euros. This hotel was quite a bit more expensive than, for example, a similar one we stayed at in Pamplona. Hotel decor very dark.
Enjoyed our trip to the Guggenheim, and were also lucky to benefit from a large fireworks display which happened to coincide with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoriniumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Although the room was no more than average (very compact but with all mod cons, ideal for one night but not more) finding the hotel was not easy. Its name is emblazoned on the top of the building, which is not visible from road level, and in fact it would be easier if the position of the reception on the side street was its real address. Everything worked very well, but the entrance to the car park was very narrow and although we were fine it was easy to see that cars might get scraped. The position of the hotel was wonderful though. We had no objection to the fact that we didn't get a river view since we had a special deal. We didn't have the breakfast - quite pricey and we didn't really have time as we had to negotiate the difficult streets of Bilbao and make our way to the ferry terminal first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying a bit more to get a room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpujarra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hotel is in a beautiful spot on the river ,yards from the Guggenheim.We chose a room on the 5th floor at the back and it was total silence,slept like a baby.Room was very clean and bathroom large with shower bath and 2 washbasins,bedroom could have been wider but no problem.
Breakfast was a dream and I got the weekend extender deal bed,breakfast,free minibar and late check out staying sunday /monday night all for £140 for the 2 of us.
Transfer from airport by the green Bizkaibus bus (every 15 mins) was 3 euros and it stopped (press the bell) just over the bridge past the hotel or you can go to the terminus and get a taxi to t he hotel for 6 euros.
The old town is a 5 minute walk along the river where there are too many restaurants and tapas bars to mention.
Overall a great hotel at a great price in a great city.Don't miss the Guggenheim (closed on a monday)

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

well this a four star hotel but they certainly do not look after the guests, unless you want to pay for extra for everything,
lets start with the parking,on their website they state parking is on site what they don't tell you is that its 16 euros a day and that being a resident doesn't give you a discount so for us staying three nights thats and extra €48 on top of your bill
they also bang on about fee wifi at the hotel here comes the kicker its actually slower than 3g so virtually useless in this day and age thats poor
the rooms are nice-ish but are tired we had a superior room but was very tired looking
great location though but if they had they're way there would be a surcharge for every time you looked out of the window
so if i was you i would look around for a better hotel as we were walking around there were so many more

Room Tip: ask for room on front view is better but make sure its top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,278 reviews
Melia Bilbao
#9 of 42 in Bilbao
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Ria de Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Ria de Bilbao

Property: NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Address: Campo Volantin, 28, 48007 Bilbao, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Bilbao)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Castaños
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#11 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Ria de Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining avant-garde design with a superb location across from the Guggenheim, the newly-built Hesperia Bilbao is a luxury hotel just 200 meters from the main shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your NH Collection Ria de Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Hesperia Hotel Bilbao
Bilbao Hesperia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing