We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience La Ribera Market
from $67.48
More Info
from $28.59
More Info
from $28.59
More Info
Reviews (2,763)
Filter reviews
2,763 results
Traveler rating
1,133
1,129
400
73
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,133
1,129
400
73
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh produce tapas meat and fish food stalls food hall self catering paella overlooking the river for sale ham old town beautiful stained glass jamon worth a visit first floor beautiful building great pintxos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,763 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

I usually go to the local markets to find a fishmonger or oyster bar but could not find the latter. There was a shop in the food court that had wines and oysters but the guy wasn't very welcoming so didn't bother.

Good selection of meats, fish, crustaceans as well as jamon, olive, salted foods deli.

Upstairs in food court, had a variety of different Pintxos and drink establishments. There was also a shop doing two types of Paella, but I reserve that for Valencia...

Not a bad place, yet not as lively or big as other Mercats I'd been to in Spain.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Paint1tRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

The market is definitely worth a visit to not only browse the huge selection of fresh food stalls but also try some local, authentic pintxos.
Although we felt the actual market lacked the atmosphere of some of the other markets we’ve seen in Europe (eg Florence, Porto, Venice, Barcelona & Valencia) the food on offer is spectacularly fresh & cheap. We purchased a large bag of oranges, strawberries, bananas & pears for just over €3 & then bought delicious Spanish cheese at a fraction of the cost we pay in the UK!
The eating area is open late at night, even on a Sunday & offers very informal, casual dining with a huge array foods on offer including pintxos, pizza, paella. It’s popular with both tourists & locals, the staff are friendly & helpful.
For the keen photographers the architecture of the market is very photogenic & the stained glass windows look fabulous with the sun shining through.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank JTJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

This food court on the upper level of the market is open even on Sunday when the market is closed. This is a good option for solo travelers who don't want to wait until 8 pm for restaurants to open. Plus, there are a lot of choices, so you can sample the Basque cuisine with a plate from several vendors. Easy to find (and numbered on the map provided by the local tourist office) and worth the walk along the river.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile

Every food item available fresh and cooked.We came here from SAN Sebastian which is described as having the best pintxos,yes it was great but I feel Bilbao has more variety.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Apopisso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

It's a nice place but for me is a little bit overated.
But definitely is worth a visit. You can find great food.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank fabiolombardi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews