We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star; too high and noisy!”
Review of Melia Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Bilbao
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Bilbao
Certificate of Excellence
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“5 star; too high and noisy!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Good hotel, but not in the 5 star category as a 5 star category normally is.
The entrance outside is "cheap" and doesnot look like class hotel. There was no waiter at the front door. Nobody for taking care of luguage
I had the disavantage, there was a party just till late night, so it was noisy on the room by music.
The environment was proper and from small distance of the city center

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Leonard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    818
    260
    54
    40
See reviews for
457
1,130
73
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Frist off, there is air conditioning at this hotel which is really, really wonderful! The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, the food was great. Close to restaurants and the Guggenheim. Very much enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristifow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The best thing about this hotel was the service. We arrived early so there weren't many rooms ready but the receptionist sorted it out and offered us one. Unfortunately it was a smoking room and smelled quite badly, but without problem she changed it and we ended up with a room with a view of the big gardens in front of the hotel. The hotel is well located, although it's a 20 minute walk to the old town. The rooms are well equipped and very clean and importantly, the beds are comfortable. We didn't make use of the hotel amenities but they appeared in good condition. For a 5 star hotel, the price was ok although I can understand why some might question whether this should actually be an excellent 4 star hotel instead. Would consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t13790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

great trip here in bilbao
big rooms goods beds wonderful swimming pool ....

good location next to guggenheim museum

best breakfast ever !!!!!! good trip for all of you !!!

have a great time in spain !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights here to celebrate our second anniversary. We had a great and relaxing stay and really enjoyed the city and its museums. The hotel is modern and the room was comfortable and very clean. The service was good as well and the reception staff very helpful and friendly. We also spent some time in the pool and apprecieted the spa facilities of this property. We would recommend this hotel to our friends visiting Bilbao.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joakim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

great service and location to walk the city, restaurant suggestions and concierge service was amazing, the view from the room, this is a fantastic hotel for business or pleasure, bilbao is a great experience, an incredibly valuable experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carli2sway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This truly is a five star hotel and we had an absolutely wonderful time here. The staff were absolutely brilliant and so friendly and helpful. The bathrooms are fabulous... I want a shower like that at home, all that lovely marble. The facilities were great and we enjoyed a sauna and a swim in the heated pool after a long day looking at all the sights even in February!

My only negative comment would be that if they want to retain the five stars they need to pay a little attention to the finer details, but don't let this put you off... I'm talking about a lick of paint here and there, it certainly didn't spoil our experience. I loved this hotel and would definitely go back. Bilbao is a great city and one not to be missed. The people are so friendly and polite.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor overlooking the river and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helenwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miro
#5 of 42 in Bilbao
1,261 reviews
Castaños
NH Collection Ria de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Bilbao

Property: Melia Bilbao
Address: Lehendakari Leizaola 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bilbao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#5 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Bilbao 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of business and cultural area, on banks of Nervion River - Contemporary, sophisticated guestrooms - 4 blocks to Guggenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Sheraton Bilbao
Bilbao Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing